We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot and fresh”

Sporthaven Marina Bar And Grill
Ranked #9 of 63 Restaurants in Brookings
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Crescent City, CA
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Hot and fresh”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Three large fresh slabs of cod really hit the spot. Very hot and fresh out of the fryer, Generous portions, very good fries. Wife had Zucchini for $4 more. Panko Batter was not too thick but crispy. Iced tea was fresh too. Not a fancy dining area but clean and comfortable. Service was attentive and promptly took care of the one issue we had. They have covered outdoor dining and are right next to the boat ramp at the boat basin. I would definitely eat here again, for the sit down service and good iced tea. I really like the Hungry Clam a few doors down as well so not quite ready to switch all together.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RickCrescentCity_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    83
    39
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Our group of 4 sat outside on a cool day because they were busy. It was nice that they provided blankets, because we waited a long time for the food. Even after 3 of us had our meal, they told us the 4th (a hamburger) had to be recooked due to some kind of problem. What kind of problem would a cook have making a hamburger? The pulled pork sandwich was hardly warm, and included some mayo or white glop that the menu did not mention in the item description, and about half a bottle of BBQ sauce. The 2 who had Baja Fish Tacos said they were tasty, but the overall feeling was that we wished we had gone somewhere else.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lb783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
398 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Good Seafood, Outdoor dining”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We were in Brookings two days. We had lunch here the first day and had excellent fish and chips and clam strips. We noticed that they had won awards for their clam chowder so we went back the next day to have it. We asked if they had sourdough bread to go with the clam chowder and were told only if you had it in a bread bowl. This is a total waste of bread, and I will not do that. We thought it was ridiculous that they have sourdough bread but would not cut a slice for us to have with our clam chowder, so we left to find it elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LindaMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookings, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“this place sucks”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

don't eat here the waitress talk about you and none of it good the food takes forever and it sucks the owners are rude and could care less they just like to get high from what one of the help said and the eyes don't lie. if you want good food and great serves don't eat here

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 325robin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
433 reviews
414 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“good chowder and service”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

wanted chowder for lunch and read reviews in trip advisor and decided to try this place. Chowder is mid-atlantic style (thicker than New England and thinner than southern Atlantic). Like all good chowders they start with either bacon or salt pork. It had lots of clams and I feel, too many potatoes but a very good chowder. I also had fish tacos and was less impressed with them. For the price, they needed about 50% more fish, 75% less lettuce ( I prefer shredded cabbage) and 100% more sauce. Never had a fish taco in Mexico that didn't have cilantro with it but there was none that I could discern here. The chowder is worth whatever they charge but the fish tacos are tourist priced and tourist quality. Service was very good and place clean and organized. I would go back for chowder and another fish dish but not tacos.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eremitic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sporthaven Marina Bar And Grill also viewed

 

Been to Sporthaven Marina Bar And Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing