We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast with excellent service!”

Beachcomber Deli and Seafood
Ranked #39 of 64 Restaurants in Brookings
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Marshall, Minnesota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast with excellent service!”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My wife and I greatly enjoyed our breakfast and time at Beachcomber on the morning of September 9th! On the previous day, we had drove from Crater Lake National Park to Gold Beach. Our handicap accessible van's breaks and steering appeared to have problems several miles away from Gold Beach, so we were referred to Les Schwab in Brookings when we arrived in Gold Beach. As a traveler, it is always a huge concern having car problems away from home and trying to find a respectable and fair shop on the road. Les Schwab took very good care of us! When we took our van to Les Schwab, we asked them for a good place for breakfast, and they strongly recommended Beachcomber. We were not disappointed! My wife had a delicious bacon and cheese omelette, toast and hash browns, and I had an amazing crab omelette with an english muffin and breakfast potatoes. It was the best breakfast that we've had in a long time! It was so good that we didn't even have lunch that day! Besides the amazing breakfast, we were delighted by the quick service, the friendly smiles, the affordable prices and much more! Since we had additional time to spend while our van was being looked over at Les Schwab, we asked the waitress if there was a handicap accessible beach nearby that we could enjoy for a while. She recommended one that was a few miles away, but then asked another friendly employee who referred another beach, and then another friendly employee recommended another beach which was the closest. One of the very friendly employees showed us a map of Brookings and gave us street by street directions to the beach. These very friendly employees took time out of their busy Monday to help us enjoy our time in Brookings while we had our van looked at by Les Schwab by giving us directions to an amazing beach! We greatly enjoyed our meal and time at Beachcomber and look forward to returning the next time we're in town!! Brookings is very lucky to have this great restaurant!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    16
    14
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandpoint, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Definitely no a deli or seafood place”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stopped by for lunch while going to see the Redwoods. We really like to visit small local restaurants or burger stands as food is usually the best there. This was not true with this place. There were no deli sandwiches on the menu and no seafood that could be fresh! We ordered a tuna melt and cup of soup that was the special that afternoon. The cook was grumbling in the kitchen about "they'll just have to wait" and continued working. There were three people working when we arrived. Another joined them after we were there for 30 minutes and said she had to have a break. There were a few locals in the establishment and they were served promptly. We waited over an hour to receive our food. A grilled tuna sandwich does not take that long! Others who entered and ordered after we did received their meals quite promptly. The sandwich and soup were ok--not very full of tuna and soup probably from day before! Would not recommend this restaurant to any one!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Terri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice folks. Good food”
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Little wait on a Sunday morning but good food and great prices. Fun foody Gift shop. The coffee and water flow along with the smiles from the staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JANET H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, Wisconsin, Usa
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very local, good value and good food”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Very local restaurant. Small and quaint. We stopped for lunch while having a flat tire fixed. Staff was fun and friendly, food was good and the price was right.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 56LisaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good, Inexpensive Breakfast”
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

This is definitely the local hangout spot for breakfast. We walked in and definitely stuck out from the local patrons. However, everyone was very polite and talkative, asking about our stay and where we were from and going. The service was excellent and the food was good. If your looking for a quick place to grab breakfast, and in a chatty mood, I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Orion007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beachcomber Deli and Seafood also viewed

 
Brookings, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Beachcomber Deli and Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing