We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“You can't beat this! What a wonderful experience!”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Captain's Quarters

Hot tub just for you outside Mermaid's Suite  bedroom door.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hot tub just for you outside Mermaid's Suite  bedroom door.
Captain's Quarters lower deck withexclusive use hot tub at the very end closest to the ocean Deer wander through the yard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
51 reviews
Hot tub just for you outside Mermaid's Suite  bedroom door.
Captain's Quarters lower deck withexclusive use hot tub at the very end closest to the ocean
Deer wander through the yard
The Deck often is sunny and warm even in winter.
Oregon's  dramatic rock formations are perfect for   watching the tide changes twice a day.
Evening does not equal boring.
This area is known for its dramatic coastline
moonrise
John and Nancy-your hosts, who enjoy sharing the experience of happy guests!
Another Beautiful Day at the Muse
Breakfast is whenever you want it and we keep it as organic as possible or tell you what is not.
We won this award 2 years go and Certificates of Excellence after that.
Kitchen corner. We prepare breakfast for you.
Storm watching
You are welcome to play the piano
Join us for happy hour if you'd like. Wine or mixed drinks on the house.
Mermaid bedroom
Front entry
Mermaid bedroom
Watch sunrise from the hot tub with a cup of hot coffee
Naughty mermaid bar. Help yourself.
Captain's Quarters bathroom
Walk in shower forCaptain's Quarters
Upstairs common tv viewing area
Common dining area
Mermaid's hot tub
Common area reading nook
Sitting room for the Mermaid suite
Entry hall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Brookings, Oregon

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chushy1
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You can't beat this! What a wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first B&B experience and we were a little nervous about spending the night in someone else's house. First off, John and Nancy are incredibly nice, fun and interesting people. They provide hospitality up to YOUR comfort level. Happy hour, breakfast, hot tub that looks out to the ocean, which is BEAUTIFUL, Can you ask for much more? The bed is the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on, with the exception of my actual bed, this tops them all. I highly recommend this B&B to everyone I know and to you as well. You will not be disappointed! We plan on going back soon! The price can't be beat either for all that is available to you. We appreciated our hosts, thier home and we had the greatest time celebrating our 15th anniversary/Shyla's Birthday. We will definitely be back!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The hosts, hot tub and bed!
Liked least: the cloud cover...lol
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2013
Nancy and I are enthralled by getting reviews such as yours. We feel a special responsibility to make everything as perfect as possible, when we become aware it is a couple's first venture into the B&B experience. At the same time, we are quick to point out that we typically entertain only one or two couples at a time, so be sure and try out some of the larger ones for another rewarding type of social interaction. Thanks for the positive feedback and making our day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodyb0424
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Complete hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived and were immediately welcomed like we were old friends. After visiting over wine and cheese we were giving an excellent dinner reccomendation. We returned to the hot tub while watching the moon shimmer over the ocean.....hard to believe this place was real!!
Great hosts! Great location! Just GREAT!!

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
Liked best: Our host, the hot tub, the view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2013
We are pleased to provide the hospitality because people like you arrive at the door!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRANTS PASS
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
3
people found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Aug 2013
We are honored that you and Susan come frequently and that so far we have withstood the test of time. For your part, you are certainly a "Wizard" with words!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Donna43Je...
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Why would a couple want to stay anyplace else?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013 for a stay in April 2013

First, I apologize for not writing this sooner! I was a little hesitant because sometimes, rarely, a place really is too good to be true and once the word gets out it becomes impossible to go again without making a reservation many months in advance! Besides the natural beauty of the setting and the great food there was something else that was very important to me. I felt like I was visiting family...family I like a lot. Casual, not fussy, amazing art collection, completely relaxing. David and I had a truly wonderful time, right down to watching the first episode of "Mr Selfridge" with you both! Judging from the reviews I think you have done a great job making your magical home into one of the best vacation experiences anyone could have! Best wishes for continued success! David and Donna

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: John and Nancy
Liked least: We had to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2013
Donna: I apologize to you that it took me so long to put into any words why I appreciate evaluations such as yours so much. As a psychologist one has to be ready to deal with a lot of ambiguity as to how things turned out in a clients life, or even frequent failure to see them reach their stated goals. As an Inn Keeper, your feedback is unambiguous and your indicated pleasure and fond memories, are the reason I enjoy doing this!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbush33
Glendale, Arizona
1 review
“Absolutely wonderful!!! Perfect spot for a romantic getaway along the coast of Oregon.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Warm, Inviting, entertaining, & beautiful.

This was one of our nights for our Honeymoon, and we could not be more happy with it. We arrived in Brookings a little late, around 8:30pm, and had no troubles getting to the property. As soon as we got to the house, Nancy welcomed us and asked us if she could fix us up a plate. Which I thought was very kind. She showed us to our room and invited us to come join them for some drink out in the living room if we wanted. We didn't feel pressured at all, it was just an open invite for us. So as soon as we were settled in, we took them up on their offer and drank some wine and chatted with them. John stayed up with us and entertained till around midnight. We had a great time talking. After that we hit the hot tub for a little bit, which was fantastic. The bed was super comfortable and the sheets were amazing! In the morning, John had breakfast ready to go. The food was great, we had mixed fruit and some quiche. Toast and cereal if we wanted. Last night when we were talking, I asked John for some recommendations on where we should go next. He told us about a few places that sounded very nice and Nancy even printed us out a bunch of info on the places for us. John had called some places in the morning for us to check to see if they had any availability and to get us a great deal. Overall, we had a great time! I would recommend this place to any couple or couples looking to getaway for a couple days. We only stayed one day, but we wished we had stayed two.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Our hosts
Liked least: There wasn't anything I disliked.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2013
Thank you for such a welcome and appreciated endorsement! I do not usually stay up until midnight talking over wine, especially after Nancy has packed off to bed , but the time flew by that night. The next morning I enjoyed helping you revise your Honeymoon trip schedule, because who would not be enchanted with The Benbow?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeAz
Phoenix
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The reviews were definitely right....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We just stayed at this B&B based on TripAdvisor reviews and it was wonderful. It is a unique property in that you have a private bedroom and bath in a great family home with a view that is amazing. While we did not use the hot tub, it was a mere six steps from our bedroom patio door. We can't say enough about the owners, we have never felt so at home in someone else's home; from the wine and snacks in their living room to breakfast in their kitchen (our choice, as the breakfast bar was very homey,) it was fabulous. As the reviews stated, the bed was unbelievably comfortable. Their recommendations for local restaurants were terrific. We are still talking about what a fun time we had.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2013
Joe&Sherry: Thank you very much for such a generous review! The two of you have been to some of the best vacation resorts in the world, so neither Nancy nor I expected this. It felt like winning at the Academy awards, but luckily nobody else had to be a loser. Please come again. John and Nancy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel S
Alta Loma, California
1 review
“Awesome Views, Great Breakfast, Very Accommodating Host, Most Comfortable Bed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We stayed here 2 nights on a road trip up the coast of Southern California to Oregon. We enjoyed the awesome views and the super comfortable bed. The host, John, was very nice and accommodating. The breakfasts were wonderful. Unfortunately it poured rain the entire day we were there and were not able to enjoy the hot tub. But nonetheless, we totally enjoyed our stay in Brookings.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$165
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing