We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brookings trip”
other travellers have booked this property
Hot tub just for you outside Mermaid's Suite  bedroom door.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hot tub just for you outside Mermaid's Suite  bedroom door.
Captain's Quarters lower deck withexclusive use hot tub at the very end closest to the ocean Deer wander through the yard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
Hot tub just for you outside Mermaid's Suite  bedroom door.
Captain's Quarters lower deck withexclusive use hot tub at the very end closest to the ocean
Deer wander through the yard
The Deck often is sunny and warm even in winter.
Oregon's  dramatic rock formations are perfect for   watching the tide changes twice a day.
Evening does not equal boring.
This area is known for its dramatic coastline
moonrise
John and Nancy-your hosts, who enjoy sharing the experience of happy guests!
Another Beautiful Day at the Muse
Breakfast is whenever you want it and we keep it as organic as possible or tell you what is not.
We won this award 2 years go and Certificates of Excellence after that.
Kitchen corner. We prepare breakfast for you.
Storm watching
You are welcome to play the piano
Join us for happy hour if you'd like. Wine or mixed drinks on the house.
Mermaid bedroom
Front entry
Mermaid bedroom
Watch sunrise from the hot tub with a cup of hot coffee
Naughty mermaid bar. Help yourself.
Captain's Quarters bathroom
Walk in shower forCaptain's Quarters
Upstairs common tv viewing area
Common dining area
Mermaid's hot tub
Common area reading nook
Sitting room for the Mermaid suite
Entry hall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Brookings, Oregon

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Mike D
Medford, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Brookings trip”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Great host and hostess! Did a great job making us feel welcome in a great house overlooking the ocean!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PumaSebas...
Sebastopol, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“I highly recommend Mermaid's Muse B&B”
Reviewed 3 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My friend and I felt completely comfortable in our wing of the house at Mermaid's Muse.
We had delightful conversations with John and Nancy. John was very accomodating to our schedules for breakfast. Really, everything was great!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Conversations with John and Nancy
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggoedde
Talent, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Warm hospitality in Brookings, OR”
Reviewed 22 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
5
people found this review helpful

The gregarious host greeted us like we were family, inviting us to make ourselves at home. The guest suite reflected an eclectic taste in art, collected during the host's travels in Cuba and elsewhere. The raised bed was super comfortable, and the view from the deck was outstanding. There was also a gas fireplace, which we didn't need to use. The location is close to downtown Brookings, and the host provided us with recommendations for restaurants and activities. We had an excellent dinner at the Black Trumpet,

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainerson...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great views, cozy and friendly feel.”
Reviewed 26 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
3
people found this review helpful

In contrast to a big hotel, at the Mermaid's Muse, you are a guest in someone's home. We enjoyed our stay very much. The service was incredible. The view is spectacular and you can easily hear the sound of the ocean waves both inside and out.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vicki158
Greenville, SC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Muse - Definitely the best B & B ever!”
Reviewed 30 December 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This rental was the best decision made for our 6 1/2 week trip out west. Normally my husband does not like to stay in B & B's, but even he wished we could have stayed longer than 1 night. I had found Mermaid's Muse on the web when I decided I didn't like AAA's motel choice, which was in California (not far from Brookings). When we drove into the parking space at Mermaid's Muse, we really weren't sure what to expect, but once inside the house we realized our choice was the right one. The house is beautiful inside! The large living/dining area is exquisitely decorated, and more importantly, looks out over the gorgeous bay. And our room also had the view, as well as a hot tub on the deck, gas logs & a lovely comfortable king bed in the room. We also had the room beside it, which had a sauna. Unfortunately, we didn't have time to take advantage of these wonderful amenities. However, we did get some time to thoroughly enjoy our hosts, John & Nancy. They served us wine and snacks and a terrific breakfast, and recommended a great place to eat, "Art Alley Grille". We loved "Mermaid's Muse" and the hospitality was more than we could ever have expected. Hopefully, we will get back some day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: the fact that we could only stay 1 night
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mapacha87
Medford, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful discovery!”
Reviewed 30 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Our family travels frequently to the Oregon coast and we love the area. We normally stay in a friend's condo, but needed to try something new. Just by accident we found this wonderful hidden treasure in Bookings. From the moment we began making our reservations until we said our goodbyes, we felt like we were dealing with an old friend. I am in the hospitality industry and recognize outstanding hospitality when surrounded by its warm embrace. Everything about Mermaid's Muse is unique, from the exquisite furnishings to the fabulous view. We loved the amazing works of art from all parts of the world that make a stroll through the house akin to visiting a well appointed art gallery.
The Owner John makes one feel that it is OK to let your hair down , relax and be yourself.
He is a well traveled man, loves discovering other adventurous kindred spirits and does not put on any fronts. What you see is what you get and what you get is wonderful. Bring friends, good wine, unusual food and your best stories. You will walk away rested and refreshed and full of joy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: John the Innkeeper
Liked least: Not being able to visit more often
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna43Je...
Talent, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I'll be back!”
Reviewed 9 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

It was perfect! A full moon sparkling on the water as we sipped wine in the hot tube. A beautiful sunrise in a pink and blue sky with a soft mist in the distance. I didn't want to get up...wished I could capture those moments forever! This place will forever be magical to me.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;