We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We couldn't have asked for more!”
other travellers have booked this property
Hot tub just for you outside Mermaid's Suite  bedroom door.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hot tub just for you outside Mermaid's Suite  bedroom door.
Captain's Quarters lower deck withexclusive use hot tub at the very end closest to the ocean Deer wander through the yard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Hot tub just for you outside Mermaid's Suite  bedroom door.
Captain's Quarters lower deck withexclusive use hot tub at the very end closest to the ocean
Deer wander through the yard
The Deck often is sunny and warm even in winter.
Oregon's  dramatic rock formations are perfect for   watching the tide changes twice a day.
Evening does not equal boring.
This area is known for its dramatic coastline
moonrise
John and Nancy-your hosts, who enjoy sharing the experience of happy guests!
Another Beautiful Day at the Muse
Breakfast is whenever you want it and we keep it as organic as possible or tell you what is not.
We won this award 2 years go and Certificates of Excellence after that.
Kitchen corner. We prepare breakfast for you.
Storm watching
You are welcome to play the piano
Join us for happy hour if you'd like. Wine or mixed drinks on the house.
Mermaid bedroom
Front entry
Mermaid bedroom
Watch sunrise from the hot tub with a cup of hot coffee
Naughty mermaid bar. Help yourself.
Captain's Quarters bathroom
Walk in shower forCaptain's Quarters
Upstairs common tv viewing area
Common dining area
Mermaid's hot tub
Common area reading nook
Sitting room for the Mermaid suite
Entry hall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Brookings, Oregon

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Jeanne R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We couldn't have asked for more!”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Mermaid's Muse B&B is an amazing place! We were overwhelmed with the breathtaking views and our personal hot tub overlooking the ocean was the cherry on top! The house is decorated beautifully and our room was so pretty and comfortable. One of the highlights was their dog Dr. Doggie Howser! Such a sweet and friendly Aussiedoodle! We are from the big city so we were thrilled to see deer grazing in the front yard! We very highly recommend this wonderful place!
My husband and I will definitely return for another beautiful relaxing get away!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jazzilayd...
Huntington Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The Mermaid Muse was booked for the days we were going to be in town. I asked the owner, John, if he would call me in the unlikely event of a cancelation. Surprisingly he called and we were at least able to stay one night. We loved everything about the Mermaid Muse. The location is fabulous, with a view overlooking the harbor. The home is stunning; I could have spent much more time looking at all the beautiful art and eclectic décor. We stayed upstairs in the Captain’s Quarters. The room is beautiful and the bathroom is huge with a sitting area, long double-sink vanity, large, step-down walk-in shower and it even has a bidet! The bed was very comfortable with soft, luxurious linens. The balcony is a great spot to take in the lovely ocean and harbor views and we had our own private hot tub at the front of the property overlooking the harbor. The owners, John and Nancy are delightful. When we arrived, we first met their dog, Houser, who ran out to the car to greet us warmly. Then John welcomed us into the home and showed us around. We gathered at the bar upstairs and enjoyed the company of John, Nancy, and the other guests. John made a fabulous breakfast with a ton of choices, eggs, yogurt, oats and groats, toast/jam, fresh fruit and more. I could go on but I highly recommend the Mermaid Muse and we hope to get back again for a longer stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EbonynIvo...
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great time, place and hosts....”
Reviewed 7 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Wrote a review on AIRBNB as well. We stayed in the Captains Quarters and equally as nice as the Mermaids Muse Quarters. Beautiful hosts, beautiful accomodations, great conversation and perfect price range... nothing else to state other then best suited for couples as the opportunity for romance is always present, but kids are welcome..
Thank you again for the perfect time to enjoy our marriage and the city of Brookings.... oh.. binoculars are great to view seals, birds and fisherman piloting in and out of harbor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charawitz
Brookings, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exeptional!!!”
Reviewed 24 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Right from the get-co, a warm welcome that carried on through the whole visit. John and Nancy are truly amazing generous people who clearly love sharing their beautiful home and meeting people. Our stay with them is now a treasured memory. It is worth a trip back just to stay again and experience their warm and gracious hospitality. breakfast is a culinary feast AND they provide a happy hour to kix and mingle if you like. The location is magical as is their home which sits on the edge of spectacular views,. No photos do it justice. Many many thanks John and Nancy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Amazing Art, views and hospitality
Liked least: there is no least.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neenee1
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My husband and I stayed two nights at Mermaids Muse and we wish it could have been a lot longer. John and Nancy met us when we arrived and showed us around, our room was perfect for the two of us. Nice bedroom area, comfortable sitting room and a nice size bathroom. Not to mention our private deck and hot tub over looking the water. After settling in we met our hosts, their dog Houser and fellow roommate Arnie for drinks on the deck. What a pleasant way to spend a couple of hours. The house is very close to town so we walked to dinner. They also gave us some great pointers on where to go and what to see in Brookings. We barely used our car the entire time we were there. The breakfasts were great, made to order eggs and wonderful scones. It was hard to say goodbye when we had to leave. We hope to return soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: hosts and hot tub
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jefster20...
Montague, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“unexpected pleasure, room, view and taste of home”
Reviewed 9 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I first heard of Mermaid Muse by a customer of mine who showed me pictures online of the property, the view from the deck and hot tub sold me. I made my reservation that night, it was to be our 21st anniversary destination. John (our host) made us feel welcome with our first correspondence, and upon arrival we walked right in as if we had arrived home(he called from the window "come on in"). The front room is open with vaulted ceiling, couches fireplace, and grand piano. We toured the house with upstairs sitting room, full bar, & outdoor balcony overlooking the bay. Our room (captains quarters) has huge bed, sofa, flat screen television, table and chairs surrounded with intriguing artwork. The large bathroom with his and her vanity, carpet, and walk-in tiled shower was quickly our favorite, but the view from our private hot tub made this our new (and yet to come) vacation destination. Thank you John and Nancy we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort of the decor, view from th balcony
Liked least: beach access
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M
2 reviews
“Delightful hosts, lovely property, and we would love to stay again.”
Reviewed 10 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The views are gorgeous at this property. The hosts John and Nancy were welcoming and shared a wealth of information about local restaurants. The bedroom suite is lovely and inviting. The hot tub is a plus. We enjoyed ourselves immensely.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing