We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a great place to spend some time”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of A Seaside Retreat

Kitchen area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen area
Queen size bed Queen sofa sleeper
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Kitchen area
Queen size bed
Queen sofa sleeper
3/4 Bathroom
Oversize shower (no tub in Guest Cottage)
Washer & Dryer
Electric Fireplace
From the front door view
From the sliding glass door
Dining area
Small semi-private yard
Patio
Small yard
Big Redwood Tree in Stout Grove
Winchuck River as it runs into the Pacific Ocean
Nearby ocean with deeded beach access
Driveway
Welcome!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brookings, Oregon

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bnlslc
Salt Lake City
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a great place to spend some time”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Prior to our booking we had never even heard of Brookings Oregon, but we wanted a place near the ocean and the redwood forest for a family vacation. At the recommendation of a friend we made a Seaside Retreat our place to stay. So glad we did. This cute cottage is only a stones throw from a very private beach. It is amazingly clean and spacious. The owner is sweet and very accommodating. She has a green thumb and her gardens are beautiful to walk through and admire.

Brookings is just down the road and has some great things to see and do. There is so much to see and do within a few miles and this cottage is in the perfect location to see it all, but be away from other travelers and people.

We loved our stay here and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for the perfect piece of paradise for a getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to limit it to just one thing, the whole place is great.
Liked least: Having to pack up and come home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2016
I'm very happy you found my cottage & enjoyed your stay. Sounds like you had some good experiences while you were here. Please visit again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdekker20...
Rancho Murieta, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay at the Seaside Cottage”
Reviewed 30 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The Seaside cottage was ideal for the three of us (including our Westie). The area was nice and quiet, and the backyard was beautiful. Lana was a terrific hostess who brought us fresh eggs from her hens, fresh flowers from her garden, and even Starbucks coffee. She is a very nice lady, and we enjoyed chatting with her one evening over a glass of wine.

We loved it there, and will be back soon, hopefully later this year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: cotage itself, location and setting.
Liked least: Internet was a little slow.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2016
Awesome visiting with you guys & getting to meet the very inquisitive Cammie. I look forward to you returning whenever you can!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyssa H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed 25 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay at Lana's beach house. Great access to the beautiful beach and a very comfortable homey place to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2016
Glad you enjoyed your time here. Sounds like you two were on a great trip down the west coast.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shafter, United States
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: That we had to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Jun 2016
Glad you guys came back! The beach access was changed by the winter storms this year. I keep waiting for the sand to build back up. I hope the rest of your summer goes well. See you next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lisa B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very peaceful, welcome and clean”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We were in town for my mother's funeral and stayed at Lana's place the past 4 nights. It was around the corner from my father's home so, very convenient for us. The cottage is darling, clean and well supplied. Even fresh eggs in the fridge. Hope to stay again in the near future. It was perfect for our family. Thanks for making our stay so comfortable at this difficult time Lana, we appreciated your hospitality. I'm picky and would highly recommend this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable bed, quiet location near the beach.
Liked least: Living room chairs not real comfortable.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
I'm pleased the Guest House met your needs. The passing of a parent is never easy. The memories you all have of her will be priceless forever.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
0U813
Brookings, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“More than Expected”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were very satisfied with the accommodations at the Seaside Retreat. Comfy beds, more than enough kitchen supplies, very clean & lovely grounds. The "Girls" were an added plus feeding them our compostables. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Privacy, location & price.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2016
The 'Girls' do enjoy all the extra treats they get from guests. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Please consider my place when you come to the coast again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra...
Everett, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magnificent!”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My Sister and I had the privilege of staying at A Seaside Retreat in April as our sisters only vacation before vacation with extended family. A Seaside Retreat is warm, welcoming, and very relaxing! Lana truly has thought of every possible detail – coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and fresh eggs from her chickens in the refrigerator! Lana also has a washer and dryer available for use if it is needed. Given how quickly the weather changes on the Oregon Coast – the availability of a washer and dryer is pure gold (No one wants to take time away from his or her vacation to run to the laundromat)! My sister and I are already planning our sister’s only vacation for 2017 and yep, you guessed it, we are planning to return to A Seaside Retreat! Thank you Lana for making our stay so lovely!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location! A Seaside Retreat is off the beaten path, yet close to everything!
Liked least: Truely, there was nothing that my sister and I did not like.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2016
I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay. It was nice meeting the two of you. Family get togethers are priceless these days. I look forward to having you return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing