We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE place to stay in Brookings”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Portside Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brookings
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Portside Suites
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“THE place to stay in Brookings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2008

My family and I stayed at this hotel while my in-laws stayed at the Ocean Suites down the road. After seeing both rooms, there is NO QUESTION that Portside Suites is the place to stay. The rooms at Ocean Suites are nice and clean and have a full kitchen, but they are pretty low level when it comes to finer details. In contrast, the Portside Suites are newly renovated and with real attention to detail. The kitchenette does not have a stove, but is well laid out with bar stools, sink, microwave, coffee maker and nice sized fridge. The bed was really comfortable and the bathroom was nicely finished. Balcony opens out on the the harbor and the ocean. While you can't hear the waves (hence the harbor), you still look out over the ocean. We stayed in the Harbor Lights Suite which was great. I would DEFINITELY stay here again!

Don't let the Suites and RV park name scare you off. The RV park is located across the street and is nicely kept. It in NO WAY impacts your day to day living in the Suites Hotel.

  • Liked — Quality of room and location on Harbor
  • Disliked — not right on ocean
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Triple_C_in_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    21
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
14
37
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Klamath Falls, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2008

The Portside Suites was a wonderful place to stay in Brookings - right in the harbor area, near the ocean and very sensibly priced. All 12 units are suites. Ours suite was downstairs, one bedroom with a patio, mini kitchen, dining area, front room and a fabulously clean bathroom. I would think from the upstairs units you may be able to see the ocean. There is a restaurant right next door that serves an excellent breakfast and just a short drive, or bit of a walk, to a very good seafood restaurant on the water. From the moment I called, until we checked out two nights later, the experience was one of the best. I am a manufacturer's rep so I'm on the road alot. Whenever on the Southern Oregon coast, I will always stay at The Portside Suites.

  • Liked — Cleanliness & decor
  • Disliked — I can't think of a thing....except that we couldn't stay longer!
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Roadrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2008

The rooms are very nice, though the view is disappointing and doesn't live up to the website's description. Even in the upstairs room there wasn't a view of much of the ocean, and I never could spot the river that there was supposedly a view of. At $130 a night off-season this was neither the best nor worst deal, but the room was so nice and the spa so enjoyable it felt worth it.

UNTIL. The next morning we went out for breakfast. After being gone for about an hour we returned to our room to find that a $65.00 bottle of perfume we'd had on the bedside table was now missing. We searched the room high and low even though there was nowhere for it to have gone, then went down to the desk to talk to the person working, who turned out to be the manager, who did not seem at all concerned that this item had gone missing while we were at breakfast and they'd been through housekeeping. She said she'd talk to the housekeeper and get back to us. She never did so we went back down, told her we'd be leaving for a few hours and that if it turned up could they please just put it back in the room. Of course, when we returned it was not back in the room. The manager had left early, leaving the high school housekeeper who'd been working there 2 months in charge of the front desk. The manager had also left a full page nasty letter for the next person on shift saying our room had been trashed and they hadn't even gone into the bedroom and "she didn't know what we wanted." We took the other person up to our room to show her that it was not in fact trashed, and since the spa towels had been changed and the blind NEXT TO THE TABLE WHERE THE PERFUME WAS had been opened when we left it closed that obviously they'd been in the bedroom and within a foot of the bottle of perfume. We were told that opening the blinds was something the manager tended to do when she cleans rooms.

Eventually I was able to speak to the owner, who was very nice, but promised to get to the bottom of it and never did. I received one more call where he said he'd like to look through the room again but it was in use and that he'd call me back after that to come to some resolution. He never called back.

While this was not an extremely high priced item, it was not cheap either, and all in all, having to deal with the experience of having personal items disappear from your room while you're on vacation is not pleasant. You feel somewhat violated and it puts a damper on relaxing and enjoying yourself.

So the stay at Portside Suites cost an extra $65 over the $265 we already paid for 2 nights, and while some of the staff and the owner were pleasant, the manager was unprofessional and uncaring and all in all the stay was highly disappointing. We obviously won't be going back, and will be strongly warning anyone against staying here.

  • Liked — The Spa In The Room
  • Disliked — Having personal items disappear from the room, lack of a good ocean view
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ortraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacksonville, oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2008

My wife and I discovered this gem of a place a couple of years back, when I took her to the coast for a romantic getaway. It is down in the harbor, albeit not on the water, and every room has an ocean view. We have stayed in five different rooms so far, each having similar decor, but all offer something different. In mid March we stayed in the Harbor Lights room, which is on the upper floor, but has a gas fireplace in the master bedroom. Very cool and romantic. We stayed at the Best Western before this place, but after we found this, we only stay here. The rooms are huge, everything is clean and well appointed. Could not recommend highly enough

  • Liked — What you get for your money.
  • Disliked — Not as much ocean sound as Best Western
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tacticaldreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redding,ca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2007

we weren't willing to pay best western in brookings over
169.00 for their basic room (our best western card didn't
do anything to drop the price), so we drove down the road
and stopped at portside suites. their summer price for a
suite was 130.00, but with aaa discount it dropped the price
to 117.00. this place is very nice!! seperate bedroom with
huge comfy bed and seperate television from the living room.
the living room has a bar island set up where guests can
sit and be served with microwave, coffe maker,small
refrigerator and some dishes.
and on top of all of that, the employees were very nice!

  • Liked — price and quality
  • Disliked — not right on the ocean, has a filtered view
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tkingredding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookings
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beachfront Inn
0.3 mi away
Ocean Suites
Ocean Suites
#2 of 8 in Brookings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
1.5 mi away
Westward Inn
Westward Inn
#5 of 8 in Brookings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Brookings Inn
Brookings Inn
#7 of 8 in Brookings
3.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
7.1 mi away
Lucky 7 Casino & Hotel – Howonquet Lodge
21.0 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#15 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portside Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portside Suites

Property: Portside Suites
Address: 16219 Lower Harbor Rd, P.O. Box 2187, Brookings, OR 97415-8301
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Brookings
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Brookings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing