We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Portside Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brookings
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Portside Suites
Brookings
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Portside suites is one of the most beautiful places iv seen . the rooms are clean huge and u even get ur own balcony with a door. I highly recommend it. walking to the beach is great. there are several good restaurants nearby and one right next door make sure u have a cocktail in there bar and say hi to debbie!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    21
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
14
37
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
311 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

These are really like apartments with a micro/fridge sink eating area, and separate bedroom with a door. The accommodations are clean, and well priced but the port they overlook is not a picturesque one. There is machinery and cold storage units with rusted discards dotting the weedy fields. The two TV's, that get a good variety of stations, are the old fashioned ones, rather than flat screen. The sofa is comfy to sit on but tilts downward so you roll off if you try to stretch out on it. Only two small windows in the front had screens in them so we had to sleep with the air conditioning on which was a unit right next to the bed, thus keeping the person on that side of the bed huddled up freezing. No breakfast is served, but a very reasonably priced restaurant is right next door and serves the most delicious thick cut bacon I have ever tasted.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMaven2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Decided to change scenery on our last trip to Brookings, Oregon...and what a gr8t decision that was. PortSide Suites is a beautiful property with very nice suites. Although not ocean side, the views are fantastic and the beach is merely a stones throw away. Easy access to the ocean within minutes if you decide to jog or walk. The owners and staff were very friendly and cared about our stay. Comfortable beds, very nice bath, kitchen, living and dining area. Ultra modern deco which give the suite a feel of the comforts of home. We are truly converted....no more BestWestern and their over priced rates. Portside Suites is the perfect getaway place to stay for grown-up play!! Frequent flyers for life!!

Room Tip: All suites are titled....no matter which you choose, you will not be disappointed! As always, secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Linda, at front desk was so helpful and nice. Rooms are spectacular and much less expensive than nearbye... So clean, new, beautifully decorated, nice king size beds, couch and space. Fridge, microwave, big windows. Lovely, so clean. Great location on lower harbor rd, next to best place to eat - Blue Water Cafe & Lounge. Near docks, boat doc bookstore, within easy walk to beach, everything you need is right there.

Room Tip: save money if you don't want hot tub jazzuzzi (sp?) book room without one. Eat next door at Blu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coastfanfrommedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

It was our 3rd travel day and we wanted a quiet place to rest. Portside Suites was ideal. It was nicely located, quiet, and spacious. There was a balcony at the back of the unit and we enjoyed sitting there to unwind. The staff was pleasant and helpful. We had checked the local Best Western and found the price outrageous. The Portside was a suite with a separate bedroom and pull out couch with a far more reasonable rate. That would be my choice whenever I return to Brookings, OR

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank funtravels4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grants Pass, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

The lady at the front desk was not nice at all my wife had a flee jump on her and when we told the lady at the front desk she called us a lyer and then said i was trying to intimidate her by asking for our money back just trying to go to another hotel late at night she called the sheriff he belived us. She was no other word for it a witch!!!!!! and that was the good part about her. She refused to refund our money even though we did not stay in the room for the night only about an hour in to our stay the flees attacked my wife. We had a terrable night trying to fing another hotel. The owner ashured me that we would not be charged and he did refund our money howeve he said how sorry he was and thast the next night was on him. I took his appology and called back for my free night he did not keep his word and all he said is that we were not charged for the night we stayed witch we did not stay so he is a lyar and she is a witch. so take your chances if you will but they will never get my buisness or anybody that i know witch is a lot. it is their loss for lying and having the worst customer service ever and i have been all over the u.s. signed very dissopointed!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: do not stay here if you have any self dignity
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank david f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We found this small hotel on TripAdvisor and gave it a call based on other reviews. We were able to get a room at the last minute and were very pleasantly surprised at the quality of the rooms. The room is huge. You enter into a homey living area with comfortable couch and stuffed chair. A large armoire holds the tv and the dining table seats 4. There are 2 bar stools at the granite top bar and the small kitchen has a microwave, toaster, small coffee pot and dorm size feridge. The hotel style coffee packets and teas bges are there as well as 2 wine glases but no other utensils. The bathroom is across from the kitchen and roomy. The bedroom is in the back with a large one sink vanity. They also have a laundry room, that looked very clean. We paid $109 with the AAA discount. It is very near Hwy 101 so convenient to everything. The Blue Water restaurant is across the parking lot and serves excellent breakfasts, all we had time to taste. It had steady local customers.

Room Tip: The Captains Suite (room 104) was in front with a porch with chairs at the rear although there is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookings
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beachfront Inn
0.3 mi away
Ocean Suites
Ocean Suites
#2 of 8 in Brookings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
1.5 mi away
Westward Inn
Westward Inn
#5 of 8 in Brookings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Brookings Inn
Brookings Inn
#7 of 8 in Brookings
3.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
7.1 mi away
Lucky 7 Casino & Hotel – Howonquet Lodge
21.0 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#13 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portside Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portside Suites

Property: Portside Suites
Address: 16219 Lower Harbor Rd, P.O. Box 2187, Brookings, OR 97415-8301
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Brookings
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Brookings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing