We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marginal...ok for a night”
Review of Brookings Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brookings Inn
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Brookings
Reviewed 20 June 2013

First of all, there doesn't seem to be a lot of options in Brookings. Most of the lodges and motels look pretty worn out and the Brookings Inn is definitely among them. The positives are that the staff is very accommodating, friendly and helpful. Our room was large, but sparsely furnished with uncomfortable chairs. The motel, although right on Hwy 101, was surprisingly quiet. The best feature was the full complimentary breakfast offered at the diner next door. Actual real food! Mini omelets, fresh eggs, breakfast meats, hash browns, biscuits, toast, pancakes, coffee and juice.

Unfortunately all is not good at the Brookings Inn. The bed was absolute torture - like sleeping on a concrete slab. I was literally awake all night tossing and turning. We woke up after a restless night with sore necks and backs. The wireless Internet was soo slow that we gave up even trying to get online. There is no air conditioning, not even a fan. Luckily it was cool when we visited, but if you are there during the hotter part of the summer it might be pretty miserable. There is an indoor pool and spa which we didn't use, but it looked fine.

Overall, the Brookings Inn was just OK. Given the choice and having been there, I don't think we would return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandybeach818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2013

The good: Bed was clean, comfy. Room was clean. Service was friendly. Fridge in room. Complimentary breakfast was above par. They give you a free breakfast at the restaurant next door which was far better than lame buffet st most places. It was pretty good in fact.

The "not as good":
There was no a/c in the room. Not sure if that is the case with all the rooms, but if it is hot outside or if the sun is shining through your window and you like cool air, you may be wishing for that. The water pressure was a tad low for the shower.

Otherwise, for an Inn with minimal amenities under $100 it was not too bad. I stayed for business so I didn't need much more than a clean bed for a night. The big plus for me was the free breakfast... That was pretty good. ...And the bed was clean and comfy.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Carpet had stains(probably from pets), I wouldn't let my kids walk on the carpet w/o shoes. Hard beds. Room took hours to warm up, fridge was unplugged. The free breakfast was great at the restaurant next door. Paid $93 for the room, only worth $50.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

The first room we had smelled so bad we asked for airfreshner and the front desk told us to find housekeeping...really. couldn't find housekeeping on my own so I asked to be moved. Second room smelled better but beddind was dirty. Carpets look like they haven't been cleaned in years. Very run down.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank randileah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

This hotel is awesome the staff is always nice and helpful we hav stayed here many times and loved it there hot tub room is very spacious the tub is perfect the only thing os that they need is a micro.

Room Tip: The bottom floor in front of the pool its really private u can be loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Initally booked a room for 3 nights, arrived back at the hotel for our 2nd night at around 9pm and the hotel had transformed into "Animal House" Upon getting out of our car we could smell beer. It was difficult getting to our room for all the people who were partying outside their rooms. Several room windows were piled high with empty beer cans, people were yelling, and hanging off the 2nd story walk way. We called the front desk and were told they could come out after 11pm and "ask" everyone to be quite, but they could not "make" them because they do not have quite time rules at the hotel. We saw a vacancy across the street and quickly checked out and packed up as more cases of beer were arriving at 10pm. We had a very peaceful stay with them. The restaurant breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: Choose a room at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Initially...hotel staffed placed me into a room...which smelled heavily of "smoke"...i requested another room...and again "smoke"...they finally told me there had been a "fire"...the the smoke smell was not 100% cleared...well...forget that...they finally put me on the "back side"...which was fine...but that is when the problems arose...the hotel staff could not "figure out"...how to manage putting my "reservation" into their computer system...therefore the "room key"....would not work properly...and required i "walk down"..."in the rain" to the office numerous times....over the course of two days...until they were finally able to figure out the problem....no real resolution...but a bunch of excuses....totally irritating...not worth the trouble.....

Room Tip: make sure you request to "look at the room" prior to commitment...to make sure you do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookings
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Inn
0.1 mi away
Westward Inn
Westward Inn
#4 of 8 in Brookings
79 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ocean Suites Motel
Ocean Suites Motel
#2 of 8 in Brookings
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 19 in Crescent City
488 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wild Rivers Motor Lodge
Wild Rivers Motor Lodge
#3 of 8 in Brookings
191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Coast Inn & Suites
Blue Coast Inn & Suites
#7 of 8 in Brookings
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookings Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookings Inn

Address: 1143 Chetco Ave, PO Box 1139, Brookings, OR 97415-2515
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Brookings
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Brookings
Price Range: £45 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Brookings Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello, Welcome to our Family and pet friendly motel. We are a 2 mile drive to Harris beach were you will find outdoor activities such as deep sea fishing, whale watching or just a nice walk on the beach. We here at Brookings Inn look forward to seeing you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Brookings Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookings Hotel Brookings
Brookings Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing