We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't sleep in room 107”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Brookings
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Couldn't sleep in room 107”
Reviewed 7 February 2007

Don't stay in room 107 of the Best Western Brookings Beachfront. We were kept awake by the frequent creaking of the ceiling. (Floor of room 207 above conducts most movement sounds, even walking) .--And as our neighbor upstairs moved around we could easily hear every footstep--and the floor of 207 seems unreinforced, loudly creaking.
We could also hear most bathroom sounds from our neighbors.
Otherwise, we had a nice stay, with an enjoyable time in the outdoor pool and spa.

Helpful?
4 Thank GradualAwareness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    892
    379
    103
    28
    13
See reviews for
419
694
60
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Laredo, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2007

We've stayed here before, but never splurged on the beachfront room. We decided to stay here over New Years, and it could not have been more perfect. Our room was the closest you can be to the sand and ocean. We kept the balcony open most of the time, we love the smells and sound of the ocean. We could let the kids play on the beach while we were in our room, as we could look out and see them (they're a bit older too) and we liked to sit with our coffee on the balcony just enjoying everything. If we felt like going to the beach, it was right there, no hauling ourselves down a long flight of stairs or long trails to get there. We were able to make a large bon fire and made smores and toasted in the New Year .

The staff was very pleasant. There is also a heated pool and hot tub that is outside but open all year long, they were both very nice and comfortable and we spent a lot of our time there.

I personally wouldn't recommend eating across the street at Smuggler's Cove. The food isn't that great and the prices are way too pricey. There are many other choices in town that are better.

This is the nicest hotel in Brookings, and if you decide you must stay here, make sure to call the hotel in addition to checking online. They often have rooms available that don't show up online, even on their own website and sometimes at a better rate, which is what happened with us over the New Year's weekend.

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank luvabargain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2006

We were pleasantly surprised by how nice the accomodations were. The room and furniture all looked brand new. We had the beachfront view with jacuzzi tub and it was worth every penny. The only downside was that we could only stay for one night. We would have loved to stay for the entire weekend if we had the time. We'll be back!

  • Liked — How new everything was.
  • Disliked — That we didn't have time to stay longer!
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ElizaSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2006

My family stayed here three nights in July and thought it was better than what we expected. Our hotel room faced the beach and we could hear the waves every night. The room was large, with a frig, microwave, a two seater couch and coffee table besides the two queen beds. In all our travels, it's the only hotel room that at night, it was pitch black when the drapes were closed and the lights were out. How nice to fall asleep with no distractions but the ocean waves. Our balcony was long and a good place to feed the seagulls or just watch the ocean waves and people. It also was a place to see the sunset, but we usually did that on the beach. We got up early and walked the beach at low tide and enjoyed the tidepools. There was always free (good) coffee and cookies in the lobby, too. As for the homeless, we did see some and their "camps" but they were not bothersome. I would advise always keeping the balcony door locked at night or when out, something our maid advised, too. One of the best experiences about this stay was gathering driftwood during the day and then having a campfire on the beach at night. It was so cool looking down the beach and seeing the line of fires after dark. No permit necessary. Also, watching the pelicans and the boats going in and out to sea for fishing was special for us. I thought this was going to be a normal hotel when I booked it online, but it turned out to be more classy and clean than expected. We have been taking summer vacations for several years together from Grand Canyon, Mount Rushmore, to Niagara Falls and Florida. Staying here made the stay on the Oregon coast one of our best trips. If you are in the area, don't stay anywhere but here and only with a room facing the ocean for the best experience. It's a little more money, but it's worth the extras.

  • Liked — location, the beach, the sunset, the ocean, the view and everything in the room
  • Disliked — Keeping the patio door closed and locked at night. Missed hearing the ocean waves more
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure to get the best view of the ocean. It's extra but worth the cost.
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JLMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2006

This was our second stay at the Brookings Beachfront. As usual, the low tide, surf, smells and sounds were magnificent with the normal exception of the fires on the beach. All beaches in Oregon are public and folks gather on the beach at night and light fires with the driftwood, which inconveniently spew smoke upward toward the rooms overlooking the ocean. The whole point of being there, in my mind, is the sound, view, and SMELL of the ocean, especially at night. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and accomodating, the rooms were nice, clean bathrooms, etc., and there was actually one night where the smoke was not an issue (a beautiful night!). Unfortunately, I will likely not return here because I want to hear and smell the ocean and sleep by the sound of the waves. At $170.00 a night for a room, I can find better. If you removed the smoke, this would be the place to stay in Brookings. If you don't mind the smoke, then by all means, stay at the Best Western Beachfront. The low tide is incredible, lots of sea life to see within the rocks near the hotel. The Smuggler's Cove restaurant, which I don't believe is affiliated with the hotel but across the street, is adequate but too expensive for what you get. Georgies in Newport was far and above that place, both for food quality and ambience.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the public beach fires
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank CarsonCityMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, CA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2006

Our extended driving vacation began by traveling up the Oregon coast and one night spent in Brookings. As an earlier reviewer noted, Brookings doesn't have much to offer but the Beachfront Inn was a notch above the typical Best Western property. The property was well maintained and our room was very clean. We had a wonderful view of the ocean from our balcony. The bathroom was standard but the comfortble sofa and easy chair with ottoman were extra amenities. Staff were pleasant and helpful. One note about meals...we ate at the Smuggler's Cove located across the street, based on the desk clerk's recommendation, and regretted that we didn't try to find a place on our own. Matti's for breakfast the next morning was very good and the people there were wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Abuela63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, WA
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2006

The Best Western Beachfront in Brookings, Oregon is a totally awesome place to stay. It is practically on the beach and gives you the sights and sounds of the great Pacific Ocean from all the rooms. The rooms are all well-appointed, spacious, good amenities.

It is worth the deviation from I-5 to take the time to see this beautiful part of the Oregon Coast.

Helpful?
8 Thank DJDouglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookings
0.2 mi away
Ocean Suites
Ocean Suites
#2 of 8 in Brookings
358 reviews
20.4 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 19 in Crescent City
429 reviews
1.8 mi away
Brookings Inn
Brookings Inn
#8 of 8 in Brookings
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
6.7 mi away
Lucky 7 Casino & Hotel – Howonquet Lodge
20.6 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#14 of 19 in Crescent City
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Beachfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Beachfront Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Beachfront Inn
Address: 16008 Boat Basin Rd, Brookings, OR 97415 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Beachfront Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Brookings
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Brookings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Beachfront Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Best Western Beachfront Inn, Brooking, Oregon's only hotel located on the sands of the Pacific Ocean. The friendly staff and clean comfortable rooms will transport you to immediate relaxation. Hotel guests will enjoy being within walking distance of many local restaurants, shops, businesses and boat docks. The Best Western Beachfront Inn offers a variety of room styles ranging from standard rooms to whirlpool suites and rooms with full kitchenettes. Each well-appointed guest room features a spectacular ocean view, microwave, refrigerator, cable satellite television with HBO® and high-speed Internet access. Hotel amenities include an outdoor heated swimming pool, hot tub, guest laundry, complimentary breakfast, and on-site meeting/banquet space. We are also pet friendly and would love to meet your furry friend! Check into the Best Western Beachfront Inn for a relaxing escape! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your BEST WESTERN Beachfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Beachfront Hotel Brookings
Best Western Beachfront Hotel
Best Western Brookings
Brookings Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing