We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cold Springs Resort
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Ponderosa Lodge(Sisters)(Great Value!)
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sisters Motor Lodge(Sisters)(Great Value!)
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
SleepInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hub Motel(Redmond)
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Redmond Inn(Redmond)
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
55
16
5
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
16
5
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmetolius rivercamp sherman storelog cabinriver frontcovered deckwizard fallsfire pitback porchthese cabinsfish hatcherycentral oregona great place to staywayneloftdogwifisisters
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We recently spent two nights at Cold Springs Resort in the Alder Cabin. It was a heavenly experience - the snow was beautiful and the cabin heated up so well with the gas fireplace that we could have the window open at night and listen to the river! Camp Sherman is a very special place, and Cold Springs Resort offers great accommodations right on the river and a short walk from the general store.

After reading the review below, I'd like to add that the management was incredibly friendly and accommodating, and the cabin was completely spotless and well maintained. We cleaned up after ourselves (like we always do anywhere we go) and were not confronted with extra cleaning fees. We did not take the sheets off the bed, because we couldn't find anything that said we had to, but we did do our dishes, which is standard practice in these types of situations anyway.

All in all, we had a wonderful stay, and really enjoyed the extra privacy the Alder cabin offered. I hope we can make it back soon!

Room Tip: The Alder cabin is apparently the only cabin that currently has the DISH network, if you're into that sort of thing. :)
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hacs42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We recently stayed here, and while the cabin was charming, it was NOT worth the extra $50 we were charged after the fact, with NO NOTIFICATION, for not doing the dishes, making the beds, leaving the cabin spotless. This is on top of a $10 pet charge (we have dogs) PER PET, PER DAY (for a total of $40 extra dollars). We had NO IDEA that we had to leave the cabin spotless upon leaving, because none of this info was related to us by the manager. We assumed it was like staying in a hotel, where they clean the room etc for you upon leaving (and we certainly paid above and beyond hotel prices!). And what was the extra $40 pet fee for, if not cleaning the extra dirt/hair that naturally comes from having pets? Apparently the cleaning rules were printed out and left out of the way somewhere in the cabin. This is a shoddy, negligent way to run your business. If there are rules that will result in fines, you need to take the time to go over them with your customers, not just charge them shadily after the fact. Needless to say, we will NOT be returning here, and we don't recommend you do, either.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
5  Thank jennifer s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColdSpr, General Manager at Cold Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

As a property manager from time to time issues arise and you have to think long and hard how to react to difficult situations. From a customer service stand point we overlook alot of things and extend ourselves in favor of our clientel. That having been said sometimes you just have to do what you have to do. First let me clarify we do not require nor did we indicate the cabin needed to be cleaned before leaving although we do have cabin rules posted in all our units. They ask that you kindly take care of the dishes and take out the trash. Pretty simple and posted in this case right above our pet basket filled with sheets to put on the furniture or bed so your pet can enjoy themselves also. We know there is going to be some cleaning to do, so the next guest enjoys the same clean and comfortable accommodations as everyone else. However when you are asked at check in about any pets and you say yes you have one, your 2 for 1 night stay voucher clearly states there is a per pet fee per night. As responsible pet owners we identify all our pets when we bring them. We are a very pet friendly property. We have to sanitize our dishware either way but rinse and stack dirty is not doing the dishes. Leaving your crusted baked on dish is not doing the dishes. Leaving a dirty oven, dog hair filled bed blankets (not the pet sheets) the sleeper sofa sheets filled with dog hair and paw prints, peed on sleeper sofa blanket folded and put back away and poop stains at both door area carpets is not showing respect for where you are staying. Look folks we hate negitive feedback but there is always two sides to every story and we are not asking you to clean the unit for the next guests but we would hope you would treat our property as you do your own, thats all. In closing I offer this....had she stopped by the office at check out, I would have asked about the second dog she did not identify and collected for it. There's $20 of the $50. Our website states additional charges for cleaning beyond normal expectations may apply. I was nice in only charging for 2 of the 4 hours it took to put this room back together, there is the other $30. We overlook alot most of the time. But sometimes you have to say enough is enough. I'm truly sorry this guest had this experience, but we don't want this kind business either. I think I speak for most lodging establishments, show the same respect to our property as you would your own and we all have a great time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

My family has made an annual trip in October to “Cold Springs Resort” for the past 7 or 8 years. We have many memories and connections to the mountain resort. It is breathtaking, from the mountain air to the water you drink. I must say that perhaps it is some of the best water in the world. Something else, that comes to mind--it is so peaceful. We’ve enjoyed many walks; many wonderful times around the fire, all memories for our children and grandchildren to enjoy and think back on in years to come.

Room Tip: The cabins by the river have the best view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tessOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We have been to far away places, but the Metolius is one of the most scenic in the world. Combined with the friendly welcome at Cold Springs, this is the ideal get away for us. We have stayed in the cabins in the snowy season, and camped by the creek in the summer. The whole experience of Camp Sherman is unique. Fly Fishing and hiking is the best. We always explore when we stay. Bonuses are: McKenzie River for Lava Beds; High Desert Museum near Bend; Rockhounding near Prineville; Obsidian Mountain; Gorgeous scenery at Lake Billy Chinook; Sisters for lovely shops and galleries, too many other treasures to list them all.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We have an annual planning meeting for our business each year in October. We are a small outdoor company who thrives on blurring the lines between work and play and the ability to hold our annual meeting at Cold Springs Resort let us do just that - plus we got to bring our dog!
On top of the great accommodations with a place for everything and everything in its place, the beautiful views, the walking trails, the ability to take a break from work and go fishing and hiking, the campfire in the evening, and the friendly staff - well, it all added up to more than we could have ever expected. We will be back!

Room Tip: The only reason I said "average" to the sleep quality is that we had one adult sleeping up in the loft which has a very low ceiling and the adult was a very tall adult.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Meg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews