We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous setting, lovely accommodations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of House on Metolius

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camp Sherman
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
House on Metolius
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Camp Sherman
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous setting, lovely accommodations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We recently held our annual board meeting at the House on Metolius...and, what an experience! We loved the view, the river, and the rooms. The food was terrific, the staff cordial and helpful. This is definitely a repeat destination.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hattie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
17
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

My 8 person golf group has been spending 4 days in Central Oregon for 15 years. House on Metolius is by far the best place we have stayed yet. Wonderful views, great lodge and individual rooms. Best of all the staff was exceptional! I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: All are excellent, #8 the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spencer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a place that is is so special it's hard to even describe? My sister and I were looking for a place to bring our dad who is 91 years old for Father's Day. The "House on the Metolius" is a place that has that wonderful combination of beautiful, elegant, and "spotless" but wonderfully understated accommodations, impeccable service and unbelievable surroundings that make you "pinch yourself" everyday because it is so beautiful!
We stayed in the main lodge in rooms 5 and 6 and for us it was perfect. It may not be for everyone but for us; the sound of the river, waking up to a fire and a wonderful breakfast,
the view of the meadow, river, mountains. . .It just doesn't get any better! Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieMay24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Silver, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed in Eleanor's Lodge at House on Metolius for 3 nights in early September. It's hard to imagine a more tranquil setting. Eleanor's lodge was a rustic log cabin with a large great room with stone fireplace, large kitchen and very large wrap around deck looking over the Metolius River Gorge on one side and the meadow with views to Three Fingered Jack and Mount Jefferson in the distance on the other. So the big question was where to set the breakfast table; which view would it be today? The peaceful setting was perfect for a vacation getaway. The sound of the river filtered up to the lodge and lulled us to sleep...until we were awakened at 3 am by the sounds of animals on the roof. Well, this IS a setting in the wild outdoors. The location is remote but close to outstanding hiking trails with incredible vistas. A high point of our visit was a private dinner for four in the main lodge featuring expertly prepared fish and duck, fresh herbs and vegetables from the chef's garden, and Oregon wine. We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houseonmetolius, Manager at House on Metolius, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Dawn,

Thank you for your kind remarks. We love Eleanor's cabin ourselves, and are very pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay. As you note, we do have plenty of wildlife about, whether it is the elk grazing across the meadow, the coyotes yipping in the evening or (occasionally) a squirrel jumping on the roof in the night.

We look forward to having you again soon, and can promise that the views will be just as spectacular!

You are welcome at House on Metolius anytime,

Carlos—your host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Metolius House is a beautiful lodge nestled atop a gorge overlooking the Metolius River and scenic pasture land, with Mount Jefferson and Three Fingered Jack as a viewing bonus. Wow! The service is great, the food is too. The beds are comfortable, and the bathrooms are new. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: They all face the great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dnb254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks
Level Contributor
246 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Do I tell everyone how wonderful this place is or do I keep it a wonderful secret? I guess I tell everyone in the hopes that it won't fill up and become more expensive by the time my husband and I want to come back. The truth is we didn't want to leave. Who knew that so beautiful a mid century house and grounds would be set down so far off the beaten path? We stayed in room #1. I saw three of the 7 rooms and they appeared to be roughly the same though some have fire places and some do not. They are fairly roomy with queen beds and bathrooms that sport the original 50s plumbing fixtures. Quality soaps and shampoos are provided. The room is NOT made up every day of your stay but towels are refreshed. We like that arrangement. We did not see any of the cabins, except from the outside, while walking the meadow trails. The house is low slung and designed with lots of glass and open beams. There is a beautiful terrace with lots of places to sit and gaze at the beautiful Metolius river below in a meadow complete with cows and Mt. Jefferson in the distance. We took full advantage of this area, spending one whole day of our three days there doing nothing more than reading and looking. We had a minor problem with plumbing in our room and it was checked immediately and fixed that morning. The staff, especially Melissa and Carlos, were always open and caring. We had dinner one night, prepared by Chef Robert and it was memorable. We ate out on the beautiful veranda with three other dinner guests (two of which had spent their honeymoon in one of the cabins 59 years ago). The lodge was actually once a family home (the owners of Jantsen Mills) and feels very much like visiting a friend's home even today. If I had one suggestion to make it would be to vary the breakfasts. They make their own fabulous pastries for the continental breakfast, but it was the same every morning. A little variety, even if it was to bake scones or muffins some mornings, would have been a welcome break. This was our favorite stop on a three week road trip. We will make every effort to visit again.

Room Tip: The rooms seemed to be quite similar - some have wood burning fire places. We were in room #1 which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank parkwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

House of the Metolius is among the top 3 inns where we have ever stayed. The ambiance of the lodge is just wonderful; despite a recent renovation it has maintained a vintage feel. The beauty and tranquility of the setting is unsurpassed; we were even treated to a chorus of coyotes howling one night (a personal favorite)! Our group of 6 stayed for 3 nights last week and could not have been more pleased. A special request for coffee in the lodge room was handled with the utmost graciousness. Every employee with whom we came in contact was willing to go above and beyond to make us comfortable. Carlos, in particular, was kind and helpful in every instance. The most notable thing for all of us was that the staff's attitude in wanting to help ALWAYS seemed genuine, as though we were members of their family. No sense of fawning over paying guests but rather a sincere wish to assure we were completely comfortable. A truly lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Empehi65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camp Sherman
15.0 mi away
Five Pine Lodge & Spa
Five Pine Lodge & Spa
#1 of 4 in Sisters
5.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
13.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ponderosa Lodge
24.5 mi away
The Lodge at Eagle Crest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Blue Spruce Bed and Breakfast
13.9 mi away
Sisters Inn and Suites
Sisters Inn and Suites
#4 of 4 in Sisters
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
14.4 mi away
Sisters Motor Lodge
Sisters Motor Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sisters
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House on Metolius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House on Metolius

Property: House on Metolius
Address: Road 980, Camp Sherman, OR 97730
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Camp Sherman
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Camp Sherman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House on Metolius, located in the heart of Central Oregon, has served as a private estate and retreat for over a hundred years. This beautiful two-hundred acre estate sits astride the Metolius River, with its magnificent view of Mt. Jefferson and Three Finger Jack.At House on Metolius, we focus on a small number of guests, and your family gathering, wedding reception or company planning session will have our full attention.Experience this private stretch of river with your family or share the experience with a group as a corporate retreat. Take in the crisp mountain air, relax and experience Central Oregon with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
House On The Metolius Hotel Camp Sherman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing