We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable McBee Cottages”
Review of McBee Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
McBee Cottages
Ranked #6 of 17 Cannon Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

What a great stay. McBee is clean and cozy and a short half block to the beautiful beach. We stayed in #31 and it was perfect for the 3 of us. The bed is in a nook in back of the fireplace so it feels like two distinct rooms. Great use of space, and didn't feel tight until the couch was folded out, but that was fine. Don't miss Ecola State Park!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Westernwanderer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at McBee Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Westernwanderer2013,
Thank you for your fantastic review of the McBee Cottages and taking the time to write about your experience.
I am so pleased that you enjoyed the room and its close proximity to the ocean.
Also, thank you for mentioning our cute little nooks, it was our intention to provide a little privacy, even without a separate bedroom. Your comment makes us happy! And you’re so right, Ecola State Park is a national treasure!
I sincerely hope we will be seeing you again soon.
Warmest regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner / General Manager
McBee Cottages

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

The room was the size of a closet, I had to step out so my husband could use the room the get dressed, bathroom had no venting at all, room smelled like toilet all night and toilet was several toilet parts that did not fit into each other. No fans, no screens on windows, hot and uncomfortable all night. no outlet to charge phones, no outlet to use hair drier or anything in the closet they called a bathroom.NO CLOCK NO RADIO, MANAGER SOO, SORRY BROUGHT CLOCK RADIO THAT DID NOT WORK SHE DID NOT KNOW HOW IT WORKED. We do not think the room was up to code however DON'T BOOK WITH THEM NO MATTER WHAT THE PRICE NOT WORTH IT TO BE SO UNHAPPY.

Room Tip: The worst stray EVER
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moniesma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at McBee Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear Moniesma,
We are always open to constructive feedback and are constantly looking for ways to improve our guest experience – our guests mean everything to us. Unfortunately, this will be the rarest of occasions where we are unable to acknowledge the honesty or fairness of your review. This is the first time for us. Customer service is our priority, and it pains us greatly to read a review like yours, however, it is even more painful when it is so blatantly inaccurate and unjust. Our beloved McBee Cottages offers adorable, historic and charming rooms as advertised and our staff is always willing to do everything possible to make a stay memorable and pleasant. You chose our most budget-friendly room, which is accurately described and depicted in our photos.
Rather than be discourteous in our response and review the broken policies and unpleasant behavior exercised by your party while here, we will simply attempt to end this wholly regrettable affair with a little grace, and ask that all future readers of this note please keep an open mind, especially after reviewing our other earnest reviews.
I wish you the best of luck in searching for alternative accommodations when you return to Cannon Beach.
Sincerest regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner / General Manager
McBee Cottages

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

What a cute place! Small but charming! Love the fire pit area and all the flowers! Access to the beach so close was wonderful too. I liked the kitchen area even if we didn't really utilize it...maybe next time!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smyers253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at McBee Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear Smyers253,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the McBee Cottages. We’re so glad you enjoyed the outdoor space, it was designed for your comfort !
We always appreciate the feedback and are continuing to strive for improvement.
Once again, we do thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again.
Warmest regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
General Manager
McBee Cottages

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Located on Hemlock, a main artery street, our McBee cottage #33 was comfortable and met all our needs. Very clean and with updated decor. Surprisingly quiet. A short, easy walk to the beach. The property overall is very charming and beyond the cottages, it provides an inviting yard area with a BBQ available to use. Wish we could have stayed longer but definitely would like to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at McBee Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear Emily B,
I was delighted that we met your expectations during your recent stay at the McBee Cottages. I was also especially pleased that you enjoyed your room and the garden with the BBQ! I passed on your feedback and kind words to my great team here at the McBee Cottages (Cannon Beach Hotel Lodgings) and I do hope we get the chance to see you once again in the very near future.
Warmest Regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
General Manager
McBee Cottages

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This was our first trip back to the Oregon coast in nearly 20 years. McBee was the perfect spot for us. We stayed in room #33 - very comfortable and cozy. The room itself was very clean and nicely decorated. We brought our two Boston Terriers with us and McBee is very pet friendly, including a special welcome treat for the dogs. The only things that could have made it better would have been a cooktop and a handheld shower head for rinsing down the pups after a walk on the beach. The location was perfect - within walking distance of the beach, coffee shops, restaurants, galleries and boutiques. Staff was friendly and attentive. En-route, when we realized we wouldn't arrive during check-in hours, we called ahead and the staff was very accommodating for our late arrival. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gretchen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at McBee Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear Gretchen G,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at McBee Cottages. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with your two Boston Terriers! We will certainly entertain the idea of adding handheld shower heads and thank you for the suggestion. The McBee has been welcoming travelers since 1941, if only the walls could talk! Your feedback was shared with our team, especially the Front Desk who take pride in helping all of our guests. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.
Sincere Regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
General Manager and Innkeeper
McBee Cottages

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Had a really good, peaceful and restful time. I stayed at #32. I will come again next year and stay at a different cottage. Bed was great and the cottage was adorable. nice walk to the beach, a very pleasant vacation for me.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhonda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at McBee Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear Rhonda B,
Thank you for sending in your kind feedback about your recent stay. We’re so please that you liked the bed and the location. The mattress is new, custom designed by me personally and locally made specifically for Cannon Beach Hotel Lodgings. We constantly strive to upgrade the McBee, a challenge because it was built in 1941! We have had many happy return guests staying with us over the years and are delighted to count you as one of them. Please do keep us in mind for your next stay in Cannon Beach, and thank you for being our valued guest.
Sincerest Regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner / General Manager
McBee Cottages

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed the last few days of July with my family of 4 ( kids aged 4&8) and had a wonderful time. Unit #28 was spacious for a 1940's motel. Separate bedroom was great to separate us from the kids on the pull out and previous reviews for bad beds are now unfounded as all mattresses have been replaced and are plush.
Perfect location half a block from the beach with no roads to cross so it was easy to get to with the kids.
Room was clean and beach cottage decorated. Staff very friendly and helpful. We had a fire in the pit in the courtyard every night ( firewood available at the general store a couple blocks down) We did not get in our car the whole time as everything was walkable.
Great kite flying on beach and beautiful town with not a single chain store in sight. Felt like we went back in time. (In a good way;)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennPea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at McBee Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear JenPea,
Wow, thanks for your great feedback, it sounds like you had the perfect get-a-way at the beach with the kids. We are pleased to know you enjoyed our location, the room and garden area, as well as our friendly staff. Cannon Beach does not allow chain stores within the city limits, or neon signs, as well as many other ordinances that make it a special place, and it’s so gratifying when our visitors notice! Regarding our staff, everyone is very dedicated, some of our folks have been with us for over 20 years and care deeply about your comfort. Susana, our Housekeeping Manager, has been with us for 18 years, and our handyman, Abe, almost ten amazing years. Everyone works very hard each day to make sure that your stay is as it should be. We do hope we have the opportunity to see you and your family again in the near future.
Warm Regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner / General Manager
McBee Cottages

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,691 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 15 in Cannon Beach
248 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,644 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,960 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Waves
The Waves
#7 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McBee Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McBee Cottages

Address: 888 S Hemlock St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3050
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Cannon Beach
Price Range: £108 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — McBee Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than 1 block to the beach, McBee Cottages celebrate the best of an old-fashioned family trip to the Oregon coast. Built in the 1940's, this motor inn has been renovated to reflect the charm and character of the period with sparkling white bead board walls, schoolhouse light fixtures and box beam ceilings. The ten attached cottages offer a combination of separate sleeping rooms or nooks with queen beds, living areas with sofas and kitchenettes, gas fireplaces, and comfortable furnishings. Guests can take advantage of a manicured lawn complete with stone fire pit, propane barbecue grill, Adirondack chairs, picnic tables and informal flower gardens. This appealing property is completely pet-friendly and a short stroll to downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your McBee Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcbee Cottages Hotel Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing