We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
McBee Cottages
Nearby Hotels
The Wayside Inn(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tolovana Inn(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Haystack Rock(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Cannon Beach(Cannon Beach)
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Waves(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ecola Creek Lodge(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
US$122
US$117
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Breeze Court(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
US$99
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Land's End at Cannon Beach(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
US$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Schooner's Cove Inn(Cannon Beach)
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Webb's Scenic Surf Motel(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
US$175
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
80
63
15
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
80
63
15
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscannon beach hotelnostalgic feelspecial giftpoop bagsgas fireplacedog blanketcute placepet feeshort walk to the beachthe perfect spotdouble bedwi fispent nightsour night staylove stayingmemorial day weekendsmall fridge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 173 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My husband and I recently attended the wedding of a close friend in Cannon Beach. Booked 2 nites in the smallest McBee Cottage, #36 (part of Cannon Beach Lodgings). Chose this lodging because we had so much to do in small amount of time, were not going to be in the room except to rest, sleep, and change clothes. Financially and otherwise, it was perfect. Tiny room, ample bathroom/shower, comfy q-size bed, good sized TV for part of a soccer game. Did not need more. Conveniently located, center of Cannon Beach near Haystack rock; walking distance to beach, restaurants, shopping, wedding venue on beach at Sandsurf (Surfsand?) Resort. Very reminiscent of travel motels with courtyards in the center of the drive-through from the 50's, updated but not too much, well maintained.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHLOwner, Owner at McBee Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing the McBee Cottages for your recent stay in Cannon Beach and providing your feedback.
Your notes were shared with our team. We value you as a guest and your constructive feedback, which assists us in our ongoing efforts to maintain high standards of service. We truly hope to host you again.
Sincerest regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner/ General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were staying with a pet and this is the best place to stay for that. Inexpensive pet fee, and really close to the beach. The kitchen is great and so was the gas grill in the courtyard that was available on nights we didn't want to go out.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHLOwner, Owner at McBee Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing the McBee Cottages for your recent stay in Cannon Beach and providing your feedback.
Your notes were shared with our team. We value you as a guest and your constructive feedback, which assists us in our ongoing efforts to maintain high standards of service. We truly hope to host you again.
Sincerest regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner/ General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Mixed feelings about this place. The location is great and it takes dogs, which was part of the reason we chose this place. On the other hand, on their website there was a promise of $20 off for first time reservations. They did not give us this discount. Then they charged us more that was stated on the initial reservation agreement. Just the kind of things a reputable business should not be doing. As far as the accommodations, a little meh. The worst thing was that the stench of mustiness and mold was a bit overwhelming. I realize what part of the country we are in, but there are ways to deal with this. And for some reason, the bed was jacked up on a homemade platform that made it difficult for anyone under 6' to get in and out of.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We are budget travelers, seeking places with reasonable rates and kitchens or kitchenettes. This place does not ever disappoint! We have stayed in both the more quaint 'motel' rooms and the more expensive Inns that this owner provides. The McBee cottages are a stellar example of what a good owner can do to revive and restore an old-style motel. The rooms are beautifully painted, with lighting, furnishings and appliances all updated. Nice furnishings, linens and towels too. A cozy fireplace when you return from the beach, which is within a 1 block walk. Pretty gardens out front. The managers are very helpful with anything you need, and when you go to the office, there are fresh chocolate chip cookies on the table (ok, I love cookies). We spend most of our time outdoors on the beach, hiking, or shopping downtown, so we are not looking for a big fancy hotel room. But the cozy fireplace, nice linens and cozy kitchen are nice to come back to after our walks!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlMarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at McBee Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review, I am delighted you not only enjoyed the service provided by my team but that "the McBee Cottages are a stellar example of what a good owner can do to revive and restore an old-style motel." Thank you so much for the wonderful compliment. We appreciate this wonderful review and look forward to having you back in the future.
Sincerest regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner/ General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I am not a fan of big cookie cutter hotels, so I love the McBee and also their other 3 propertries. I like the McBee because it reminds me of the places that my parents took me to as a youngster. The rooms are well appointed, maintained, & comfortable. It's great to able to drive right up the front door, and unload. It is a block away from the beach, very convenient.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at McBee Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Guest,
I am so thrilled that you think the rooms at the McBee Cottages are "well appointed, maintained, & comfortable." I thank you for sharing your feedback with us, and I will pass your comments on to my team. I hope to see you back again soon.
Sincerest regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner/ General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews