We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Piece of Paradise”
Review of McBee Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
McBee Cottages
Ranked #6 of 18 Cannon Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Little Piece of Paradise”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights and loved the little cottage. I was wondering when I booked if we'd be close to the beach and no worries, basically about 1/2 a block. Rooms are very comfortable with everything you will need and beds and pillows extremely comfortable. Everything you will need is within an easy walk.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YEGmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHLOwner, Owner at McBee Cottages, responded to this review, 7 May 2017
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing the McBee Cottages for your recent stay in Cannon Beach and providing your feedback.
Your notes were shared with our team. We value you as a guest and your constructive feedback, which assists us in our ongoing efforts to maintain high standards of service. We truly hope to host you again.
Sincerest regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner/ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    61
    14
    8
    5
See reviews for
52
74
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This cottage was perfect for Cannon Beach experience! 1/2 block from beach and a few blocks to town. It was comfortable, cute, and quiet with a friendly outside area where you could visit, sit around a fire pit or have a picnic. We will come back to McBee cottages.

Room Tip: It's all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHLOwner, Owner at McBee Cottages, responded to this review, 7 May 2017
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing the McBee Cottages for your recent stay in Cannon Beach and providing your feedback.
Your notes were shared with our team. We value you as a guest and your constructive feedback, which assists us in our ongoing efforts to maintain high standards of service. We truly hope to host you again.
Sincerest regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner/ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights and have no complaints. The buildings are old but we'll kept, have all the modern conveniences, ours had a full kitchen! You're a block away from the beach, restaurants, and bars. It is busy all the time so peace and quiet is not a priority, but we managed to sleep well. All the attendants showed courtesy and nicety at all times.

Room Tip: Ask for cottages in the back portion of the lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taino55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHLOwner, Owner at McBee Cottages, responded to this review, 7 May 2017
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing the McBee Cottages for your recent stay in Cannon Beach and providing your feedback.
Your notes were shared with our team. We value you as a guest and your constructive feedback, which assists us in our ongoing efforts to maintain high standards of service. We truly hope to host you again.
Sincerest regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner/ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boring, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My husband and I recently attended the wedding of a close friend in Cannon Beach. Booked 2 nites in the smallest McBee Cottage, #36 (part of Cannon Beach Lodgings). Chose this lodging because we had so much to do in small amount of time, were not going to be in the room except to rest, sleep, and change clothes. Financially and otherwise, it was perfect. Tiny room, ample bathroom/shower, comfy q-size bed, good sized TV for part of a soccer game. Did not need more. Conveniently located, center of Cannon Beach near Haystack rock; walking distance to beach, restaurants, shopping, wedding venue on beach at Sandsurf (Surfsand?) Resort. Very reminiscent of travel motels with courtyards in the center of the drive-through from the 50's, updated but not too much, well maintained.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHLOwner, Owner at McBee Cottages, responded to this review, 7 May 2017
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing the McBee Cottages for your recent stay in Cannon Beach and providing your feedback.
Your notes were shared with our team. We value you as a guest and your constructive feedback, which assists us in our ongoing efforts to maintain high standards of service. We truly hope to host you again.
Sincerest regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner/ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were staying with a pet and this is the best place to stay for that. Inexpensive pet fee, and really close to the beach. The kitchen is great and so was the gas grill in the courtyard that was available on nights we didn't want to go out.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHLOwner, Owner at McBee Cottages, responded to this review, 7 May 2017
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing the McBee Cottages for your recent stay in Cannon Beach and providing your feedback.
Your notes were shared with our team. We value you as a guest and your constructive feedback, which assists us in our ongoing efforts to maintain high standards of service. We truly hope to host you again.
Sincerest regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner/ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Mixed feelings about this place. The location is great and it takes dogs, which was part of the reason we chose this place. On the other hand, on their website there was a promise of $20 off for first time reservations. They did not give us this discount. Then they charged us more that was stated on the initial reservation agreement. Just the kind of things a reputable business should not be doing. As far as the accommodations, a little meh. The worst thing was that the stench of mustiness and mold was a bit overwhelming. I realize what part of the country we are in, but there are ways to deal with this. And for some reason, the bed was jacked up on a homemade platform that made it difficult for anyone under 6' to get in and out of.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW Washington Coast
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We are budget travelers, seeking places with reasonable rates and kitchens or kitchenettes. This place does not ever disappoint! We have stayed in both the more quaint 'motel' rooms and the more expensive Inns that this owner provides. The McBee cottages are a stellar example of what a good owner can do to revive and restore an old-style motel. The rooms are beautifully painted, with lighting, furnishings and appliances all updated. Nice furnishings, linens and towels too. A cozy fireplace when you return from the beach, which is within a 1 block walk. Pretty gardens out front. The managers are very helpful with anything you need, and when you go to the office, there are fresh chocolate chip cookies on the table (ok, I love cookies). We spend most of our time outdoors on the beach, hiking, or shopping downtown, so we are not looking for a big fancy hotel room. But the cozy fireplace, nice linens and cozy kitchen are nice to come back to after our walks!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlMarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at McBee Cottages, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review, I am delighted you not only enjoyed the service provided by my team but that "the McBee Cottages are a stellar example of what a good owner can do to revive and restore an old-style motel." Thank you so much for the wonderful compliment. We appreciate this wonderful review and look forward to having you back in the future.
Sincerest regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner/ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,511 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,850 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 14 in Cannon Beach
224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
#8 of 14 in Cannon Beach
2,101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Surfsand Resort
Surfsand Resort
#4 of 14 in Cannon Beach
2,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McBee Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McBee Cottages

Property: McBee Cottages
Address: 888 S Hemlock St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3050
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — McBee Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than 1 block to the beach, McBee Cottages celebrate the best of an old-fashioned family trip to the Oregon coast. Built in the 1940's, this motor inn has been renovated to reflect the charm and character of the period with sparkling white bead board walls, schoolhouse light fixtures and box beam ceilings. The ten attached cottages offer a combination of separate sleeping rooms or nooks with queen beds, living areas with sofas and kitchenettes, gas fireplaces, and comfortable furnishings. Guests can take advantage of a manicured lawn complete with stone fire pit, propane barbecue grill, Adirondack chairs, picnic tables and informal flower gardens. This appealing property is completely pet-friendly and a short stroll to downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your McBee Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcbee Cottages Hotel Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing