We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We enjoyed it.....for the most part.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hearthstone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hearthstone Inn
Ranked #8 of 18 Cannon Beach B&B and Inns
Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We enjoyed it.....for the most part.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We loved the cabin feel of the room and the real wood burning fireplace.

We also liked the location. It was just a few short blocks to the beach and a short drive to cute shops and restaurants.

It is one if four properties that all look like they offer something worth staying for.

I wish that my review could end there....however there was one glaring issue with my stay that I will mention in the spirit of constructive criticizm.

The first night that we got there after driving several hours and being exhausted because I also worked all day we got to our room and found dog hair on and throughout the entire bed.

I was not one tiny bit impressed with the way the issue was handled. The girl at the front desk was nice and apologetic. But since there is only one front desk for all for properties I had to drag my weary body to the other hotel to get new bedding. My son then found a bug on the new blanket they gave us so our first night was rather cold sleeping with only a sheet.

The girl at the desk made several comments along the line of how they would "make it right in the morning." Then when I came in the next day to buy extra wood for my fireplace she greeted me with "what is it today?" as though she felt I was just trying to complain which is actually the opposite of true because at the time I never even mentioned the bug that we found.

The day we checked out I did see a housekeeper who was very nice and apologetic about the situation which I did appreciate.

I was honestly more disappointed in how the issue was handled than the fact that it happened. I Mean, don't get me wrong, the dog hair and the bug were not at all satisfactory but if the situation were handled differently it could have made all the difference.

Aside from that we did enjoy our stay and might consider one of their properties again in the future in hopes this was an isolated incident and not the status quo.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at Hearthstone Inn, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you so much for your feedback following your recent visit to the Hearthstone Inn. I was quite sorry to read about what happened during your stay with us. I've spoken to our Front Desk and housekeeping staff regarding your experience. This is not the normal level of hospitality that our staff aspires to and it is certainly one that is embarrassing. We do hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with the experience you deserve and expect in the near future.
Sincerest regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner/ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    28
    9
    11
    6
See reviews for
26
41
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We had a budget but wanted something cozier than a hotel. Hearthstone was a great price compromise and exceeded my expectations. We stayed in 27, and the room was really quaint but comfortable. We loved being able to build fires and the best was definitely comfortable. Not a good choice if you're looking for a view or lots of natural light, but definitely a great pick for cozy evenings.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at Hearthstone Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,
I was delighted to read your review following your recent stay in room No. 27 at the Hearthstone Inn. I was glad that we met your expectations and found the service and hotel facilities to your liking, not to mention our great price! Please do come and visit us again soon.
Sincerest regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner/ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

If you read all of the reviews most of the negative and poor reviews are from people that only have posted one or two reviews ever, I usually heavily discount these. When I read reviews prior to my stay I was a bit skeptical. Someone else had arranged this location for our reunion.

I was pleasantly surprised, I had #24, spacious and very clean. The room was well appointed and for how they market and describe the room it was spot on. There was no odor and no evidence of any pet being there :-). The room I stayed in had a rather small bathroom, but as a solo traveler no worries.

I was able to also look at the rear unit, not sure the # but same, same, only smaller.

Pros:
Clean
Great Location, one block to the beach, three blocks to a small store, 3 blocks to a restaurant
Full kitchen, stove, oven, microwave, small refrigerator and cookware
Keurig coffee maker

Cons:
Parking, small lot and only a few spaces, no street parking so you may have to park across the street at another one of their properties.
The flooring is showings its age, but was serviceable

I thought it was a good value and really met our needs. We did stay mid week and in the off season. Not a place my wife and I would find romantic and cozy, but all in all good.

Room Tip: It is on a main street, maybe ask for the rear or the side street rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHotelGuestSvcs, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear David L,
Thank you for your kind review of Hearthstone Inn! We are grateful to have you as our guest and so glad to read that you enjoyed your experience. As a one-of-a-kind Inn in Cannon Beach, the Hearthstone has some unique features and we appreciate your detailed description of the room and property. We love to hear that guests are satisfied with the value they receive and we find your feedback about parking very helpful. Please let us know if we may welcome you back when you are next in Cannon Beach, perhaps you would like to try our one of our other inns as well?
Warmest Regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner / General Manager
Hearthstone Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Where to start.....due to snow and bad weather the previous weekend, we were unable to stay as planned. So because the staff is AWESOME (and a cancellation) we were able to stay at the Hearthstone Inn on Valentin's Day weekend. We were blown away!!! The room has a very warm comfy lodge feel and they even personalized their doggie bucket with a note to my wife's retired greyhound. Kitchen area, coffee, fireplace, log to burn, comfy bed, plenty of hot water, free dvds to watch during the blustery weather Saturday night, on and on and on the list is!!! This is undoubtable the best bang for our buck we have ever experienced in all of our years of staying at the coast!! We had all of our expectations exceeded one hundred fold!!! Thanks you!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scot W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHotelGuestSvcs, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Scot W,
We are so glad you were able to make the trip out to stay with us after all, and that you could spend Valentine's weekend in Cannon Beach! Thank you for your thoughtful and descriptive review. We love reading that you enjoyed the "comfy lodge feel" as we designed the building with this hope in mind. It's also wonderful to know that we exceeded your expectations, we will do our best so that you always remain "blown away" when you stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Warmest Regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner / General Manager
Hearthstone Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aloha, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Just stayed 2 nights in #24 at Hearthstone. Very nice....comfy bed (but only queen, not king), awesome fireplace, but we could only burn the wrapped logs. We had a small kitchen but perfect as we cooked one breakfast and one dinner. All dishes were provided. Ocean was only a couple blocks away and we were able to bring our pet. The only thing we wished was different was that we could burn real wood in that beautiful rock fireplace. It took us approximately 40 minutes to really get that wrapped log that was provided to really burn and still really didn't warm the room. But we would love to stay there again....thank you for the wonderful hospitality and the "Welcome" bucket for our pet!

Room Tip: #24 was on the side street so not as much traffic noise...very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin31013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHotelGuestSvcs, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Robin31013,
Thank you for the lovely review of your experience at the Hearthstone and for coming to stay for the holiday weekend. Your feedback means so much to us! We appreciate your mention of our close proximity to the beach and room amenities. Of course we wish that guests could enjoy their authentic smell of wood smoke from their beach rock fireplace, but for the safety of our guests and building, I'm afraid the logs will have to substitute. I'm so sorry yours did not burn easily! This is not typically the case and we will be glad to make it up to you if we may have the pleasure of hosting your next trip to the beach. It truly is a pleasure to hear from you and we hope to see you again soon.
Warmest Regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner / General Manager
Hearthstone Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

If you're looking for pet-friendly, somewhat rustic accommodations (cabin-like) with a comfy four poster bed, kitchenette (oven, stove top, microwave, small refrigerator/freezer), fireplace, etc. that's within walking distance of everything in a picturesque Pacific Coast beach town... then you've found it! We've stayed at several Cannon Beach Hotel Lodgings properties and have always been extremely happy. Be sure to communicate expectations first – from upscale romantic to casual beach chic they will be exceeded. The Hearthstone Inn itself is perfect for a pet-friendly, casual getaway. It’s 2 blocks to the beach, 4 blocks south to Sleepy Monk Coffee (awesome!) and/or Haystack Rock, and only 8 blocks north to the heart of downtown. Already looking forward to returning =) PS eat at least once at Castaway's Tiki Hut (separate review).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn_and_Lana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHotelGuestSvcs, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear livelaughlovemore,
First, thank you for being such a loyal guest to our little family of inns! Nothing makes us happier than when our guests leave with a desire to return. It sounds like you understand the true spirit of the Hearthstone! We appreciate the lovely description of our amenities and convenient location. As you mention, we have do many types of rooms available and we will always work hard to exceed your expectations! We appreciate the time taken to post a such a kind review of your experience and we very much look forward to your next trip out. Take care, we'll see you soon!
Warmest Regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner / General Manager
Hearthstone Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

We just spent 2 nights there. Rained much of the time we were there, so that did not help.

Room was big which was nice. They did have a kitchen. Coffee maker was not that great, one cup at a time and really not that good. We had brought coffee and used their pan to make coffee. if we go again will bring a small coffee pot.

Frig was mini, with small freezer area. We had to go across street to get ice cubes.

Their description of kitchen was accurate

Our door was on street, someone walked by 11 or so and knocked on door. wife did not sleep well after that

Frigesuotn

Room Tip: Try not to get rm 24
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHotelGuestSvcs, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear phirl,
Thank you for being our guest and for posting a review of your experience, your feedback is so important. We're glad you enjoyed the spaciousness of the room, the vaulted ceilings are a guest favorite. I'm so sorry to hear that you were disturbed at night, the Hearthstone only has four rooms and a guest may have been confused. I do regret that you did not enjoy the new Keurig machines we placed in the Hearthstone, please let us know next time and we will bring a drip machine right over. We hope to see you again in the future and would appreciate the opportunity to show you the service you deserve.
Warmest Regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner / General Manager
Hearthstone Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,718 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
#7 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surfsand Resort
Surfsand Resort
#4 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hearthstone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearthstone Inn

Property: Hearthstone Inn
Address: 135 E Jackson St # 139, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3090
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hearthstone Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hearthstone Inn is a rustic, distinctive cabin-style inn offering four unique rooms just 1 block from the beach. All guest cabins include large wall-mounted flat screen TV, DVD players, traditional beach rock fireplaces handcrafted by local artisans supplied with burn logs (refreshed daily), and kitchenettes with most of the items you may need for a small meal including a stove, under counter fridge and microwave. The thoughtfully designed interiors feature knotty cedar, cut at a local sawmill. With vaulted ceilings and skylights, the rooms maintain an airy and rural feel just a few minutes' walk from downtown. Log beds with our custom made SeaCloud mattresses, original art, cozy furnishings, and easy parking complete the authentic Northwest experience each room provides. This inn is completely family and pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hearthstone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing