We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Introduction to the Oregon Coast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grey Whale Inn

Grey Whale Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grey Whale Inn
Ranked #11 of 18 Cannon Beach B&B and Inns
midwest
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Introduction to the Oregon Coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We recently returned from a drive of the Oregon coast. Our first stop, the Grey Whale Inn, was a typically reviewed TA place. Spot On correct!!! A wonderful Inn , charming very very clean and wonderful host who went well out of her way to make sure our special requests, allergy issues, would be addressed. It's not fancy but completely comfortable. We enjoyed the Inn and Cannon Beach so much that we changed plans and went back for our last night. Thank you for a wonderful introduction to Oregon and to " sneaker waves" which got us not once but twice!! (Just made to trip more memorable)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank whoa3050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed here overnight while driving up the coast. Walked on the beach before sunrise and took the most awesome photos. One of my favorite memories of the trip - watching The Goonies with my adult children while staying at Cannon Beach. Owner was friendly, warm, helpful and our room was perfect.

Room Tip: We choose to stay here on our trips from N. CA to Oregon. Just a short walk to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We have stayed here with family for over 5 years. We usually take two rooms; one with kitchenette and one without. It works great for our group of 4. The inn makes a great "cheap and cheerful" place to stay. They have spent the money on what counts feather beds and quality sheets. The owners are cheerful, helpful and cat lovers. Looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank joyful1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

We have been staying here for several years and we love the seclusion and peace and quite of this quaint and charming little motel. The staff are super friendly and the rooms are nice and clean. The kitchenettes are great. The beach is a short stroll down the street and is usually less crowded then towards town. The free wifi is good for signal strength and speed. They have a vast selection of free VCR tapes for you to borrow and a VCR player in every room. We have recommended the Grey Whale to several of our friends and they have become repeat guests. It is a little far out from the main tourist attractions but a shuttle bus does service the motel at a nearby stop.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Diarmaid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Wonderful people, clean rooms, 200 yards from the beach. Great value! We love to wake up in the morning, go for a walk on the beach to get coffee downtown, and take our time walking back after shopping for a bottle of wine. Perfect if you are "low maintenance" and do not need hi-tech (or high price) to stay.

Room Tip: Perfect if you want a quiet location just off the beach without frills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank berniegehret2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2003

The Grey Whale Inn was wonderful and quaint. You can see the ocean and hear it from the rooms. If you like cozy little nooks that are not touristy this is for you. The even left a basket of breakfast for us - German Pancakes, Orange Juice, and fruit. It was wonderful. Highly recommend, price varies but it's worth. Also if you visist Cannon Beach don't forget to stop in at the Wayfarer and have a bowl of the famous CLAM CHOWDER W/ WARM SOURDOUGH BREAD, it is the best I have ever eaten and very reasonably priced.

Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
#7 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Whale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Whale Inn

Property: Grey Whale Inn
Address: 164 W Kenai St, PO Box 964, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3100
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Grey Whale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing