We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Cannon Beach at Christmas Time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cannon Beach

Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Camas, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cannon Beach at Christmas Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Christmas at Cannon Beach is not to be missed! All of the shops and restaurants are open and beautifully decorated. Every one in town is full of the Christmas spirit and made us feel so welcome.Strolling the streets was like being in a Christmas Village. This was the middle of this December so not a lot of visiters but enough so that you did not feel you were visiting the moon. We stayed at the Surfsand Resort and when we walked into our room and walked onto the deck there was a view of Haystack directly out of our window. We could not have been any closer without walking outside. It was spectacular. The bed was extremely comfortable and we were able to keep the room cozy with just the fireplace, no need to turn on any other heat! The weather was like early Spring. We were amazed at how calm the winds were and how mild the temps were (high 40's). There was no rain and many sun breaks. We took pictures that looked like they were taken in the summer. Of course, I think we lucked out with the weather. One can never really be sure what it is going to be like on the Oregon beaches so come prepared for anything. In your future plans I would highly recommend a Christmas vacation at Cannon Beach, Oregon.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,236
    285
    43
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Love this town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

I have come here for years, with and without family. The beach is great for walking. The town is great for exploring. The restaurants offer great food. The views and the sounds of the ocean help you to relax and recharge.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank cinnam0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
150 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Clean, beautiful beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

This is our favorite beach on Oregon and we go 3-4 times a year.Check the tide times and if you have young children, try to time it so you get there at low tide for some great rockpooling around the 'stack. Also try to go when the wind is from the East (10-15% of the time), as these are the warmest days and the offshore wind blows the fog out to sea. Finally just because it is 90F in Portland, don't assume it will be the same on the beach. It can be cold, foggy and windy even in the middle of summer. I'd recommend taking a windbreaker tent and lots of warm clothes. Also forget about swimming, the water is freezing, even in summer! Free parking near the beach and relatively clean toilets are a big plus.Take some old bread for seagull feeding, it is a lot of fun having them swoop down and take the food from your hand.

The town is great, lots of small boutique shops, antique shops and great restaurants. Be aware that most of the restaurants are dog friendly (at least if you dine al fresco), and we had a rather poor outdoor experience at one of them when we were surrounded by dogs, their slobber, barking and smell of dog pee as careless owners permitted their dogs to relieve themselves in the bushes!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Charming town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We were here in early December and pleased to find shops and restaurants all open. There are some high-end art galleries with beautiful things as well as interesting boutiques, pet stores and toy shops. We enjoyed exploring the town. We also liked strolling the older residential area (the "Presidential' Streets) looking at the lovely houses and gardens. The beach area is spectacular!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank PMK51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon Coast, Oregon
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“If you don't have a dog, or like dogs..don't go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Only kidding, but this really is one of the friendliest dog beach communities I have ever been to. It was awesome ! Lots of great shopping and for Thanksgiving weekend, almost every shop had "Mimosa Madness" ! Yep, shop walk and enjoy some bubbly. If I was to ever live in a beach town in the Northwest, this would be it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank winedude1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cannon Beach also viewed

Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Cannon Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing