We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waves Hotel in Cannon Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Waves

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waves
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Waves Hotel in Cannon Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed at the Waves on a recommendation from friends who were also there. It was very nice, calm & quiet. Ideally located within walking distance to everything one could need - I would definitely recommend it to my friends & we will definitely be coming back.
The only thing I would have wanted was some "blackout" drapes as we woke with the light early in the day.... but apart from this minor thing, we enjoyed our stay immensely

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuziMac60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    859
    298
    42
    21
    15
See reviews for
373
640
66
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed at The Waves during spring break for 4 days, though the weather wasn't the best we enjoyed being at the coast. It's so nice to be away from McDonalds-Starbucks type of food establishments. The motel wasn't busy at all, the tiny parking lot was not a problem to park an SUV. Otherwise the space is pretty tight. We loved our unit overall, the location can't be beat. We stayed at many rental houses/condos and majority of them have some board games to play. We were tired of rain and TV, didn't find anything in the drawers, got couple games from a cute toy store, that saved our rainy afternoon. One of the things we were not particularly crazy about- we had smaller windows above slider door and living room windows which provided too much light in the morning. We would probably stay again at this place.

Room Tip: If you plan to cook, stock some food at Costco or any other chain grocery store, the produce at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RU2WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Took a quick trip to Cannon Beach this last weekend. Stayed at The Waves. It was fantastic. The room was beautiful and so clean. And I am rather picky about cleanliness. Couldn't find a speck of dirt or dust. The view was fabulous. I stayed in Flagship, in a corner room. The room had skylights so it had tons of natural lighing and pale yellow walls which made me feel like I was outside even when I was inside! There was a gas fireplace with a robust flame, not one of those little whimpy ones. I will definately stay here again, many times! This is my new Oregon Beach desination!

Room Tip: Stay in Flagship!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I took a quick weekend getaway to do some work in peace and quiet. I stayed in the end unit on the second floor of the La Colina building, which gave me a great view. I am not sure if the other units have the same view, I think the Flagship building may be blocking the view for the other units. I sat in the lovely little craftsman nook and worked away, looking out at the ocean. I do like a kitchenette, and this one was fully appointed. The bathroom is nothing to get excited about. The cobble stone fireplace adds appeal. It is not a "resort" so the property itself does not offer a lot of attractions and amenities. The location is great. I have stayed at a few other properties in Cannon Beach, this is my favorite, and it has actually been the most affordable too!

Room Tip: Second floor north end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Whether rain or shine, I always enjoy my ocean visit to the Waves. The room makeover is beautiful and the walk to the beach is less than 3 minutes. The Waves is right in the middle of Cannon Beach and it's a perfect place to stay whether you're shopping, dining or beachcombing.

Linda
Hillsboro, OR

Room Tip: I like the Garden Court Rooms because they are quiet and a good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yakima
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Right on beach, right in town! Don't have to drive anywhere unless you want to venture out on a hike!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweetsommertime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed at the flagship and LOVED it! The first 4 days we were on the second floor with a great balcony looking out onto the beach. Unfortunately we had to move to the main floor which was very nice but a bit noisier. All in all great spot. Nice kitchenette. We have already booked our summer vacation there again

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor. Much quieter and stunning panoramic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diesel1632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
1.7 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.0 mi away
Land's End at Cannon Beach
Land's End at Cannon Beach
#11 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waves

Property: The Waves
Address: 188 W 2nd Street, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-2005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Waves 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waves is a unique Ocean Front property in the village center of Cannon Beach. Eight different buildings and five classic cottages offer lodging options from romantic studios to large family suites. Most rooms have kitchens, fireplaces, private decks and are either Ocean Front or Ocean View with a few non-view options. Locally owned and family operated for 30 years, The Waves, has accommodations to meet every budget with an unbeatable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Odigeo, HRS and Agoda so you can book your The Waves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waves Hotel Cannon Beach
Waves Hotel Cannon Beach
Waves Motel Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing