We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cousins Reunion 2013”
Review of The Waves

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waves
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
SEATTLE
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cousins Reunion 2013”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We arrived early on 7/24/13. We had called for an early check in and we got in two hours early. They made the effort for us and the room ready and perfect. "The Waves" is close to everything, Park on site when you arrive then no driving, no parking & what a view! The staff was wonderful and they set us up with tables and chairs for our gathering of 25 people. There is easy access to the beach. This is THE first class place to stay on the Oregon Coast so reserve early!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAHJUICE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbtravelor, Owner at The Waves, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
I am happy that we were able to accommodate the family outing. My staff works hard at getting the details taken care of so you can enjoy you vacation time at The Waves in Cannon Beach. That's a lot of cousins and family outings are great. We are glad that we were able to share a little of this time with you. You are always welcome to return without all the cousins if you want a little to yourself. Thanks for choosing the Waves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    941
    310
    45
    23
    17
See reviews for
409
685
71
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Spent a lovely night at Waves recently. We were given a choice of rooms and all 3 we looked at were a good size, spotlessly clean and nicely decorated. The owner was great, friendly and welcoming. The whole property is immaculate - so well maintained inside and out and the attention to detail in the rooms is a lovely bonus - TV, wifi, coffee maker etc. It's also very close to the beach and some nice local pubs and restaurants. Would definitely recommend. Thanks for having us!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicekatie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We'd never stayed at the Waves, we'll stay there again.

Our family came to town, we needed a place to stay on the coast, and we didn't want to be broken up in two rooms in a hotel, so we aimed big. We hit the Waves and we won't look back.

The apartment was beautiful. Airy but not cold. Sunny and cozy. The kitchen was well appointed, the fireplace was instantly warm, and the views (all of them) were great. The deck included a grill that was great for entertaining. The complex even had a Jaccuzzi. Great location, nice staff, charming facility. Please don't stay here. We want to have the availability.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else and leave the availability for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skegger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We've stayed in flagship twice & our last trip the chart room. Love both but chartroom was perfect for our growing family, cozy & roomy enough with fireplace that actually heats up the room. Loved the little porch area, and you can't get a better location. Awesome coffee shop across the street. Everything is within walking distance. And my kids loved the twin bed in the bedroom, called it their fort. After this stay, I really wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. We'll be back again next year!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fitefamilyfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temple, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We only spent one night at the Waves, but it was everything we could have hoped for. The room had a great view of the beach and was close to everything we wanted to do while at Cannon Beach. Room was clean and full equipped to cook a meal. Bed was AMAZING!!! Everything was clean and updated. Thanks for making our vacation complete! Will be planning a longer vacation next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judieflutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed at the Waves - La Colina rm 308 - over the July 4th weekend. Our room wasn't huge but it was clean, comfortable and just right for the two of us, and with the fridge and microwave we were able to enjoy most of our meals inside at the table or out on the deck. The view from the room and deck was great and the beach was just steps away!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goingouttatown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Townsend, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This place has it all, in the heart of Cannon Beach. We were in ground floor unit 331which has a small full kitchen, fireplace and nice shower-bath. There is a small nook looking out over the beach to the water in this unit, most other units have this view blocked by structures. This motel uses keys (how quaint) but that allows you to leave by the beach side door and still lock up behind. Only drawback was a non-working wi-fi for most of our stay and NO CELL access at this location.

Room Tip: Ask for a true ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryS58687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,937 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,541 reviews
1.7 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,737 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 14 in Cannon Beach
229 reviews
0.0 mi away
Land's End at Cannon Beach
Land's End at Cannon Beach
#11 of 14 in Cannon Beach
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waves

Property: The Waves
Address: 188 W 2nd Ave, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-2005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Waves 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waves is a unique Ocean Front property in the village center of Cannon Beach. Eight different buildings and five classic cottages offer lodging options from romantic studios to large family suites. Most rooms have kitchens, fireplaces, private decks and are either Ocean Front or Ocean View with a few non-view options. Locally owned and family operated for 30 years, The Waves, has accommodations to meet every budget with an unbeatable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Waves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waves Hotel Cannon Beach
Waves Hotel Cannon Beach
Waves Motel Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing