We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Beach House at The Waves in Cannon Beach”
Review of The Waves

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Waves
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Spent a couple of blustery days in Cannon Beach last weekend. Autumn storms lashed the beach, and made for great wave watching and beach combing.

We returned to our favorite accommodation, the Beach House at the Waves Resort. It is right in town, a block off the center where restaurants and shopping are close enough to walk. The Beach House unit offers three bedrooms and two baths, a huge living room with rock fireplace and two seating areas, which open onto the large dining room and spacious kitchen with butler pantry. We take the downstairs queen bedroom and full bath, and our adult son, daughter-in-law and two grand daughters (6 and 3) take the spacious upstairs bedrooms, one with a queen & twin bed, the second with a queen bed. Works very well for families as there is plenty of open space, seating and a kitchen that three of us can prepare meals in at the same time.

The location could not be better, as the living room, dining room & kitchen all have full on ocean front views, even when we were indoors because of so much rain and wind. This is our go to spot for Cannon Beach, which we have been enjoying for three decades.

Pluses: excellent wi-fi service, ocean front with unobstructed view, clean and tidy housekeeping, beach access right out the front door, ocean front lawn area (for those sunny months).

Minuses: wish the kitchen had a double set of dishes & silverware, as we had to do dishes by hand unless we wanted to run the dishwasher half full, after each meal.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjarens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,172 - 1,178 of 1,412 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

We have stayed here many times over the last 35 years. The buildings and rooms are starting to show their age. We really enjoy that we can spend a couple of days walking the beach and eating at restaurants without needing to drive.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OregonSarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The Waves Flagship building is an excellent property right on the beach. It seemed really new in side with lovely finishes. We were only there two nights, but I could easily spend several days looking at the ocean from our room. I only had two minor issues: for the price point, the bed should have been better. It was obviously an older mattress and really needs replacing. the other thing is that while we loved being on the ground floor, sitting on the covered deck and walking right down to the beach, the loud creaking of the people walking overhead was really annoying. not much that can be done about that since it is a structural issue, but next time I would stay on the higher floor to avoid that.

Room Tip: go for a higher floor to avoid walking noise above. Definitely stay in the Flagship building as it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janhube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Very happy about it all - view, suite, location. Only complaint:The laundry room serving the two buildings could be much cleaner. Took clothes 8 miles down the road to Seaside Laundry next to Radio Shack store. Half those machines were out of order as well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerard1448804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbtravelor, Owner at The Waves, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Thank you for your return visit to our White Heron Lodge. Sorry that the laundry facility was not attended to like it should have been. This has been addressed with our staff and will be up to our cleaning standards from now on. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to seeing you on future stays when you return to Cannon Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed at The Waves for one night while traveling through the Oregon coast! What a loving hotel! The view from our room was magnificent and easy access to the beach and we were located right downtown! The weather was misty (but, hey we were in Oregon) and I didn't have an umbrella. The office staff were kind enough to loan me a great umbrella for my stay! It made shopping in town very delightful! Definitely would stay again and the accommodations would make a longer stay very delightful!

Room Tip: We stayed ocean view but, the garden rooms looked lovely too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcarpenter8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbtravelor, Owner at The Waves, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Thanks for sharing part of your vacation with us at The Waves Cannon Beach. Whenever you travel this way again please plan to stay a little longer and perhaps we can improve on the weather. Thankfully your are not here this weekend, a little like the hurricane season you have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We spent the 5 days in early September in the Beach House. We gave the vacation to our nieces and nephews as a Christmas present. Everything was great. We had 9 adults and 3 kids. The weather was perfect, not a crowd downtown and the beach was great. There was plenty of room in the house, the kitchen was set up perfectly, especially having two refrigerators. This was our third visit to The Waves and the best stay. Housekeeping kept up with all our needs, never ran short of paper goods or towels. We brought our own card table for games and puzzles, it also, worked to get everyone seated around the table for family meals.

Room Tip: When bringing the family request the Beach House
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buckshemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Nice room with granite counter tops, nice comfortable beds. We were only a block away from the beach, close to the main drag. The room was nice and comfortable. We would stay there again in a heart beat. It says it's a motel, but it's not.

Room Tip: The Queen bed room away from the beach is just fine. The beach is only 1-2 blocks away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,235 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,644 reviews
1.7 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 15 in Cannon Beach
248 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,954 reviews
0.0 mi away
Land's End at Cannon Beach
Land's End at Cannon Beach
#12 of 15 in Cannon Beach
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waves

Address: 188 W 2nd Street, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-2005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range: £73 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Waves 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waves is a unique Ocean Front property in the village center of Cannon Beach. Eight different buildings and five classic cottages offer lodging options from romantic studios to large family suites. Most rooms have kitchens, fireplaces, private decks and are either Ocean Front or Ocean View with a few non-view options. Locally owned and family operated for 30 years, The Waves, has accommodations to meet every budget with an unbeatable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Waves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waves Hotel Cannon Beach
Waves Hotel Cannon Beach
Waves Motel Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing