We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The White Heron Lodge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Waves

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Waves
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The White Heron Lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed at the White Heron Lodge #605. The 1 bedroom suite was very spacious and had a great ocean view from the living area. Very convenient to step out the back door onto the beach and have your own campfire. The bed was comfortable and the furnishings were nice. I would have prefered a Blue Ray DVD player since that's what we brought to watch at night, but the DVD player only played standard DVD's. This property is close to downtown without any of the noise. The kitchen is well stocked with everything you could think of. Also, the CD player, puzzles and games were a nice touch. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbtravelor, Owner at The Waves, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
We are happy that you enjoyed one of our White Heron suites. As you did, we find that the location of these suites, on the waterfront and esturay, but still just a block from the village provide for a quiet and relaxing location for your Cannon Beach visit. Blue Ray DVD's are on our list as upgrades as we are continually making changes. We look forward to having you visit again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    817
    293
    41
    21
    14
See reviews for
352
618
64
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We took advantage of a Groupon deal and spent my birthday in Canon Beach at the Waves. We had an incredible view from our balcony!! The fireplace in the room made it extra romantic.(-: It was within walking distance of the town which was super adorable with many wonderful shops and Ecola State Park was only a 5 minute drive to get to.(-: The only thing I would recommend the Waves do is update to nicer comforters and newer pillows. They were very dated. We truly enjoyed our stay and will definitely come back!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chhays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbtravelor, Owner at The Waves, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for the nice comments. You were one of many that had the opportunity to use one of our off season promotions. I am happy that you enjoyed your visit and we hope that now you have found us that you will return again soon. Hope the little extra's were enjoyable as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

This was the first time my husband and I have stayed here and the room was wonderful. It was so relaxing and cozy. The view was amazing. We were able to walk to town come back turn on the look at the ocean and watch the sunsent. I would recommend this to anyone looking to stay in Cannon Beach.

Room Tip: Ask for an Ocean view on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We recently spent two nights at The Waves in Cannon Beach. Our room was in the La Colina building. Out room was very comfortable and we really enjoyed the River Rock fireplace. We enjoyed our free bottle of wine on the deck, had fun watching the kite fliers. Beautiful sunset the first night, but the rain showed up the second day. It was very hard to leave as the third day dawned sunny and warm. I also wanted to mention how quiet it was. We were right down town and worried it might get noisy. We used a Groupon and hadn't been to Cannon Beach in years. Thanks to Groupon we rediscovered it.

Room Tip: We had room 305, one floor above street level. We prefer upper rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1daisy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbtravelor, Owner at The Waves, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
We appreciate your visit and look forward to having you as our guest in the near future. Our special early spring promotion, which included the wine, was a great value and a great way to share our property with many new guests. Thanks for visiting Cannon Beach and thank you for sharing your enjoyment about The Waves Cannon Beach with everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

My friend and I road-tripped out to Cannon Beach from Washington and found the Waves hotel pretty late at night. They had a room for us that was big, clean, and really comfortable, and they gave us a little discount since it was already past 10 PM. The location is awesome, right in the middle of tons of shops and restaurants, so it's easy to walk everywhere from the hotel. We couldn't have asked for a better spot! I look forward to going to Cannon Beach with my family after this trip, and absolutely would stay at the Waves.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Of course you must realize that you are staying at a very popular ocean destination...Cannon Beach. Having said that, you have to get over the shock of what hotels can charge to stay there. Because it is Cannon Beach, you will want to pay for the "experience" of being there, not the cheapest place you can find. The experience will be what you pay for it.
The Waves is a great value for that experience. The front deck looks across the street and to the ocean. The access for the beach is about 30 feet from where we stayed (room 302). There were all of the accomodations for cooking or bringing something back to dine on. But, of course, we chose to have snacks at the table looking out at the ocean and the other meals were at restaurants around town.
There is a gas fireplace in the room for a wonderful atmosphere in the evening. We even found a hot tub about 2 minutes from us on the property that was wonderful in the cool evenings.
The service was seamless and the people in the office were friendly and bent over backwards to accomodate.
My wife grew up close to Cannon Beach and so I was a little nervous that in choosing the hotel for us, I was hoping that returning there would be a great experience for her. She said she had never stayed as close to the beach as a child. The Waves Hotel made her time there enchanting and full of memories renewed.

Room Tip: When calling or making the reservation, ask for rooms further down away from the office. They all fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbtravelor, Owner at The Waves, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Your wives memories are renewed and you are the hero. We are happy that both of you found the right location to live those dreams and enjoy the "experience" that Cannon Beach has. Because Cannon Beach provides a "village atmosphere" verses the "highway strip" many people share your feelings making this area a very desirable destination. We thank you for choosing Cannon Beach and The Waves Cannon Beach for those special days. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longview, Washington
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We just got back from staying 3 nights in the La Colina building at The Waves. All the rooms are ocean view in this building. We were very pleased with the size and amenities of the unit. We enjoyed sunset views all three nights. We just walked across a driveway and down some steps to the beach and Hemlock (downtown) was just a block away. Across 2nd street was our favorite coffee shop, Insomnia. The office staff were very pleasant and accomodating. We asked to extend one night (we were only reserved for two nights) and they managed to let us stay in the same unit one more night....YAY..no moving. We will be staying here again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelJ58569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbtravelor, Owner at The Waves, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
We appreciate the kind words about our property and location. We have the best of both worlds - great views from our rooms and just steps to the beach and shops. As a frequent traveler you know the things that make your vacationing more enjoyable and we are happy that we could provide you with comfortable room with a great location at an affordable rate. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
1.7 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.0 mi away
Land's End at Cannon Beach
Land's End at Cannon Beach
#11 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waves

Property: The Waves
Address: 188 W 2nd Street, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-2005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Waves 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waves is a unique Ocean Front property in the village center of Cannon Beach. Eight different buildings and five classic cottages offer lodging options from romantic studios to large family suites. Most rooms have kitchens, fireplaces, private decks and are either Ocean Front or Ocean View with a few non-view options. Locally owned and family operated for 30 years, The Waves, has accommodations to meet every budget with an unbeatable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Waves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waves Hotel Cannon Beach
Waves Hotel Cannon Beach
Waves Motel Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing