We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place”
Review of Ecola Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2012

This is a very well kept, quaint and reasonably priced motel in an otherwise fairly expensive town. The room we stayed in was extremely small, mostly just room for the bed, but I believe that we had one of the smallest rooms due to the price that we paid. The bathroom was very nicely sized, kind of a strange counterpart to the size of the living quarters.
The room was exceptionally clean, and the grounds and all other appearances of the motel very nicely kept and pleasant.
I had interactions with three different people at the front desk and each was very friendly and helpful in giving me advice about the town or directions to our destinations around the area. Coffee, cider, and treats are always available in the office, another nice touch.
We highly recommend this affordable motel in a town where lodging prices are generally high.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank On-the-road79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2012

We have visited this hotel for more than 30 years--and it has never looked better! Built in the 1940s, the suites at the Ecola Creek Lodge exude charm. We stayed in the one-bedroom Turret Suite with a large living room and cozy kitchen. The koi pond and occasional visiting bunny only add to the ambience. If you're looking for ultra-modern, then this isn't the spot for you. But if you want a warm, inviting place with vintage appeal and modern amenities (like wifi), this is the spot. The pet-friendly rooms are fine, but the real value is in the one- and two-bedroom suites with fireplaces that face the front. We could not have been more comfortable, and it's only a five-minute walk to the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for the one- or two-bedroom suites that face the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelgateway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We decided to head to Cannon Beach as a last minute trip over the labour day weekend. To those who have not visited Cannon Beach, the town in high season is extremely busy and very expensive (normally we tend to visit in the off season). The only hotel listed with space was the Ecola Creek Lodge and the price of $109 made this hotel less expensive than what we usually end up paying at other hotels in Cannon Beach during low season, so we hoped for the best. The room (regular queen) was very clean, a good size and in good shape. We had a balcony which had a bit of an ocean view. The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. There is a guest laundry facility, the office has coffee and other hot drinks available. The hotel itself is on the Ecola Park side, so just north of the Cannon Beach downtown area. We were pleasantly surprised with the Lodge and would reccomend to those with families (there were many families staying at the lodge during our visit) and we would also reccomend the lodge to those who don't want to be on the downtown strip. We found that for us it was a bit far from the main beach as we have a young family and many sand toys.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VancouverIris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

The lodge is located 5 minutes away from the beach. You have no direct view on the see.
The room is spacy and we had a gas fire place and a seperate room with a fridge and cupboard.
The manager is very helpfull and friendly. Great! They even printed our ticket I gave them via an usb stick. I never expected such a nice lodge for this price.
I recommend this lodge if you do not need a pool or spa. If I ever come back to cannon beach I will stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TomWagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I really enjoyed staying at this lodge while in Cannon Beach. The management is extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms are very spacious and clean. It feels like you're at home here with many great adventures awaiting at your doorstep. Internet available and within walking distance to the beach and the main strip! Also hiking trails just behind it and it is very close to Ecola State Park which I highly recommend checking out! Worth every reasonable penny.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vantourista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We just returned from a three night stay at the Ecola Creek Lodge. This was our third stay and enjoyed it just as much as the last time. Each room is unique. It is a great place to stay while visiting Cannon Beach. It is easy walking to the beach and the town, but far enough away to miss the noise and traffic. The staff is very accomodating and provide morning hot drinks and afternoon warm cookies in the lobby. Most rooms do not have an ocean view. The room we had was 17 and looks at the center lawn and koi pond area from a small private deck.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drptravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This is a home away from home. We stayed for our wedding 7/20-7/22 2012 in room 8 the turret room. It was really cute and charming. We had all of our wedding party stay here and each room was decorated differant and they all had charm from what I saw. The staff was friendly and accomedated us with an early check in which was very kind (since I needed to steam my wedding dress). It was adorable and we enjoyed our stay. The bunnies running around the grounds added a lot of charm. I dont want anyone to get confused by my review because I like to provide honest feedback. If you are looking for something on the beach or a resort this isnt where you want to stay no spa services etc. If you want a home away from home a steps away from the beach and friendly staff then come and stay here the fireplaces in the rooms give it a very warm touch. It is very cozy and comfertable. Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
2.2 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,324 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inn at Haystack Rock
Inn at Haystack Rock
#10 of 15 in Cannon Beach
204 reviews
2 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,680 reviews
1.8 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,047 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecola Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecola Creek Lodge

Address: 208 E 5th Ave, Box 416, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-2010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range: £48 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ecola Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Cannon Beach's most inviting places to stay, "Where Oregon Coast beauty meets New England charm". Ecola Creek Lodge consists of four buildings with their distinct Cape Cod architecture, which are surrounded by spacious lawns, gardens and a beautiful Koi Pond water feature. The 'classically' decorated Guestrooms range from Studios to our "Family Friendly" 1 and 2 bedroom Suites with kitchens. We're located on the quiet North end of town just two blocks from the beach and a five minute stroll into downtown Cannon Beach's shops and galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ecola Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ecola Creek Hotel Cannon Beach
Ecola Creek Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing