We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place”
Review of The Wayside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Wayside Inn
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This was a great place to stay. The location was perfect, just across the street from the beach. The room was really nice with a firplace included. It was nice having a pool and hot tub if we wanted to use it. The staff was friendly and informative and helpful in every way. We enjoyed having a balcony to sit out on. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    181
    25
    5
    2
See reviews for
258
269
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Wayside Inn offers a really nice room (feels like a condo) at a reasonable price for Cannon Beach. The room was clean and modern. Help from the hotel staff was excellent. Location is 5 to 6 miles south of downtown Cannon Beach, but I really like this area of town. Access to the beach and Haystack Rock is right across the street. Mo's restaurant is also across the street, and the Raven tavern is next door. This is a good choice for a short stay in Cannon Beach.

Room Tip: If you want more space, ask for a room at the end of the building (209 or 309).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I really ended up liking this place. It's pretty far south of in-town Cannon Beach so make sure you're aware of the distance between this hotel and the main shopping and dining area of Cannon Beach. But it's maybe a 5-6 min drive back to town and parking is plentiful - even on nice weekends. The staff here is exceptional, and although basic in nature, it's the little things they do for you that really made the difference for us. We brought our pup, so they provided us w/a little doggie "care basket". (Yes they charge you $10 a day for your dog, but that's typical for any hotel). The king size bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean and well-taken care of. They even provide blankets, towels, chairs, sand buckets, little red wagons to haul your kids around. . etc. I thought the staff was very impressive and they will cater to whatever need you have (within reason, of course). A couple complaints: 1) They are across from a state park parking lot so you get some reciprocal veihcle and pedestrian noise - certainly during the day, but still in the evenings, as well. Liveable - but not my favorite part of my stay. Nothing the hotel can do about this . . .but it's just an observation. And to have a check-in at 4 p.m., but a checkout at 11:00 is a bit much, in my opinion. Big gap there and somewhat greedy in my opinion. I would stay here again though; for the price it's more then comfortable and worth a few days stay.

Room Tip: Try to reserve a top floor room so you don't hear so much "stomping" noise from the un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This place was great. The beds were awesome, and the room was a really nice size. Sure, it's not exactly on the beach, but it's just a short walk across a parking lot to get there. We could see and hear the ocean from our room. I feel we had the best place in Cannon Beach. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noodles1681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

We were a little surprised pulling in here... It doesn't look like much. We were pleasantly surprised. Great service, lovely rooms with comfortable beds and fireplace! Bring a bathing suit for the hot tub. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovereb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Great place to stay with your dog. The staff treated them with respect and offered great amenities for them. Nice touch with the welcome dog basket.Would definitely come stay here again. Great location to the beach and park. Easy access to the highway and higher grounds for tsunami evacuation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hunter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Located across the parking lot from the beach. Great views of the ocean and very clean. All rooms have a fireplace, balcony and the hotel is dog friendly. The only downside is that if you stay on the 3rd floor, there is no elevators.

Room Tip: Choose a lower level room if you have a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T8662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,927 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,728 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 14 in Cannon Beach
229 reviews
1.8 mi away
Land's End at Cannon Beach
Land's End at Cannon Beach
#11 of 14 in Cannon Beach
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wayside Inn

Property: The Wayside Inn
Address: 3339 S Hemlock St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3075
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Wayside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful ocean-view hotel at the South end of Cannon Beach near Tolovana Park. Enjoy ocean view rooms and suites, gas fireplaces, small kitchens, flat screen TVs, free Wi-Fi and decks. After a day at the beach take a swim in the heated indoor pool, or a soak in the hot tub. Many dog friendly rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Wayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing