We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Price Performer!”
Review of The Wayside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wayside Inn
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bonney Lake, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A Real Price Performer!”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We recently spent three nights at the Wayside. What a great choice! It is very well priced for the quality, room size and location. We had a room with a bedroom, full kitchen, fireplace and a balcony with a view of the ocean. Most places in Cannon Beach that have similar accommodations are about double the price. It isn't directly on the beach but that isn't a big deal because it is right across the street. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The only minor complaint is that the walls are a bit thin so noise can be an issue but given all the pluses we felt like this was a minor issue. Oh, and the king size bed was extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 19Boxes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    181
    25
    5
    2
See reviews for
258
269
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

WOW! This hotel is an absolute GEM! A diamond in the rough! I'm afraid to tell too many people my "secret" treasure!! I wanted an ocean view with hot tub (a must for me and my achy bones and muscles) without the astronomical oceanview price that many of the other places charge. It's across the street from Tolovana Beach Park for extremely easy beach access. In fact, it's right off Hwy 101 - turn for Tolovana Beach Park - and skip the congested roads through Cannon Beach. Hotel is at end of off ramp. Mo's Seafood Restaurant is across the street, too.
I stayed in the King Suite, since most reviewers highly recommended paying a few bucks more to get the view. As a bonus, the suite was a corner room. Rooms are of different configurations but the King Suite was a separate bedroom with a queen sofa sleeper in living area. Keep in mind, ground floor = no view. No elevator, but that didn't bother me in the least. Weather was absolutely glorious for mid-January.
The small kitchenette is "dated" but hey, it worked and was very efficient. I loved being able to cook breakfast in the morning, sit at the table and watch the waves. Plenty of pots, pans, dishes. It even has a dishwasher! Refrigerator with top freezer - not like the typical dorm room unit that other hotels have. There was a microwave too! A small mini mart is a 5 min walk from hotel.
The room was very clean. There is also an in-room dvd player. I brought my own movies, but the hotel has quite a few for rent - $4 for a day. The room has a great gas fireplace (cozy!) and more than ample space. Like a small apt!
The pool is small, but just right temperature. Great for lap swimming. There are some pool noodles for kids to play with. Hot tub is fabulous. Mind you, the hours are 9AM -9PM.
The staff.... gosh. The gal at check in was wonderful. Very friendly. Efficient. Really want to make your stay comfortable. I don't have a dog, but it is a pet-friendly hotel. Doggie towels and treats and water bowl to clean up after beach walks! Speaking of beach walks, Haystack Rock is about a 15 min walk up the beach. (well I walk kind of slow.... it's really not that far.)
There is a weekend shuttle bus stop across the street that can take you into town so you don't have to drive around "forever" just to find that elusive parking spot.
As for noise, I found it to be non-existent. I will definitely be staying here again -- hoping for same room! Great value.

Room Tip: must have 3rd floor for best view. King Suites are corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CasualTraveler51488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My wife and I enjoyed how pet-friendly the place was. It's just across the street from the beach. There's a nice indoor hot tub. We paid a little extra for a room with a kitchenette, which saved us a bunch of money compared to eating out at the mediocre, overpriced restaurants in this town.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My husband and I took a vacation to Cannon Beach to visit a very good friend. We always look for pet friendly places to stay as we always bring our dog. When we checked in we were given a "doggie basket" complete with bowls, doggie towels and a biscuit for the dog. When we got to our room it was very comfortable and clean. It had a nice fireplace (gas as I recall) that heated the living room nicely. The staff were friendly and wanted to ensure that you had a comfortable stay. We would DEFINITELY go back there. From this hotel it is a short walk to the beach. We had nice weather when we were there. There are nearby restaurants and shopping is just a short car ride.

Room Tip: Some rooms may be laid out differently. If you would like a larger room be sure to ask if one is av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We like to escape to the beach with the kids in winter a few times a year. On our must have list: indoor pool,kitchenette, and a separate "bedroom" so we can stay up once they are in bed. The Wayside ticked all the boxes and was a great value!
The pool was smallish but the water temp was spot on. There were noodles for the kids to play with. It's nothing fancy, but the kids had a great time and we enjoyed the hot tub.
The room was clean, and the kitchenette well stocked with dishes and pots/pans. There was a gas fireplace and a little couch that was also a hide-a-bed.
The bathroom was very small, with the sink in the room, but it was functional. The bedroom had two comfy queen beds with warm down comforters and soft squishy pillows.
Our room was on the ground floor and the slider opened to a little patio with two chairs. Of note: this hotel is not in the beach- you have to cross Hemlock (a relatively busy street) to get to the beach. There is access directly across from the hotel. Bonus- the hotel is right across the street from a park! Yay! Kids loved that.
The office staff was nice- they have coffee, tea, and saltwater taffy available for guests. We rented a movie and they sent us out with popcorn. They also have wagons, sand toys, and beach blankets for guests to use! And while we didn't bring our dogs, the hotel is dog friendly and had towels available for cleaning off your wet pet.
We've stayed in many hotels in Cannon beach and Seaside and I think we've found our new go-to getaway hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erinpdx77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We recently stayed 2 nights at the wayside. and have 0 complaints. I was hesitant in booking a hotel that is pet friendly, but they assured me of the cleanliness of their rooms. We weren't dissappointed at all. In fact someone had cancelled and they gave us a free upgrade to a 2 bedroom suite. It was great. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We have stayed in some nasty places, but this place is a dream come true. We will stay there again next time we visit the coast.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathren1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We spent 3 days at Christmas at the Wayside Inn. This was our second visit. Lovely staff, comfortable beds, clean rooms, warm pool to swim in. Only down side is the bathroom was small. We had our dog with us and she enjoyed herself too. Had a great Christmas dinner at the Wayfarer Restaurant. Did not notice any freeway traffic noise, but instead enjoyed the sound of the waves. Nice place and we will return. Kudos to the very friendly helpful staff.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor due to the stairs, but views are better upstairs and you can leave your...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel participates in the practice of having guests re-use towels etc.
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurel r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,931 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,541 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,733 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 14 in Cannon Beach
229 reviews
1.8 mi away
Land's End at Cannon Beach
Land's End at Cannon Beach
#11 of 14 in Cannon Beach
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wayside Inn

Property: The Wayside Inn
Address: 3339 S Hemlock St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3075
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Wayside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful ocean-view hotel at the South end of Cannon Beach near Tolovana Park. Enjoy ocean view rooms and suites, gas fireplaces, small kitchens, flat screen TVs, free Wi-Fi and decks. After a day at the beach take a swim in the heated indoor pool, or a soak in the hot tub. Many dog friendly rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Wayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing