We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wayside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Wayside Inn
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Awesome loved it!!!!! The staff is amazing and friendly couldn't of asked for a better place to stay. thank you so much for making my stay a very exciting and memorable experience!

Will stay again!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theodore B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    176
    24
    5
    1
See reviews for
244
262
34
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mt Vernon, WA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at the Wayside visiting beautiful Cannon Beach. The pluses : very friendly staff, clean room, and ability to borrow wagons, towels, & sand toys (which they let us do even after we'd checked out but remained at the beach for the day). You need the wagons to haul your stuff the 5-10 minutes it will take to get to the beach. The beach here is wonderful, stretching 4 miles along the gorgeous coast. The downsides of the Inn were the very "partial" ocean view & full on road-parking lot view. For the expense of the room I anticipated better. No way you could hear the ocean from the room, plus the street noise was too much to allow windows to be left open. Also the pool and hot tub were closed for repair during our stay. That, plus proximity to the beach, had been our main reason selecting the Wayside. The only compensation made, while appreciated, was a free movie rental (worth $4). We had a suite with full kitchen, but bath is tiny. Lots of room noise from above & next door. Overall, I was unimpressed for the price. This was the most expensive & least liked hotel in our week long stay along the Oregon coast. We had more space & full ocean view for over $50 less in Newport, similar view with full kitchen, laundry, & jacuzzi in Seaside for $100 less. Both places included breakfast, which the Wayside does not. The location is not particularly convenient. It takes almost 45 minutes to walk to town from here. There were many more reasonably priced places with no view just as close to the beach & closer to town, wish I'd known. Check out the B and Bs and smaller motels for a better stay in Cannon Beach. The beach is well worth a visit, but perhaps stay elsewhere.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lswDosma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemount, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night while visiting Oregon for a long weekend. Cannon Beach was by far our favorite stop and the Wayside Inn was amazing. We had a recommendation to stay on the 3rd floor as it had the best views. The amenities were endless from beach blankets, beach chairs, s'mores fixings, hot coffee and even a bottle of chilled champagne to help us celebrate my 30th birthday! Carol at the front desk was great - she had great recommendations for hikes in the area as well as places for coffee and for a snack/lunch. The room was great - updated and clean with a nice little patio and fireplace. Thanks for a memorable visit!

Room Tip: Choose a 3rd floor room if able.
See more room tips
Green Features: There were recycling bins outside of the rooms but a separated trash/recycling in the room would have been an easy way to encourage recycling.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placerville, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The room I had on the third floor was spacious, very clean, and comfortable. The kitchen had everything you needed if you wanted to prepare a meal. The balcony was wide enough to put your feet up and had to plastic chairs to sit in. Ceiling fan in the bedroom was a nice touch. The staff was very pleasant and welcoming. The climb to the room is steep and narrow. If you can't climb a ladder, ask for a room on the ground floor. I had the room closest to the busy corner and traffic noise woke me up several times. Try and get a room furthest from the entrance. Several places to eat within walking distance. Public parking lot between the hotel and the beach. Nice easy walk to the beach, a lot of families, people with cameras, and dogs. Everyone is spread out so it never feels crowded. I would stay here again, but make my room preference clear in advance.

Room Tip: Pick a room furthest from the entrance. If your young and health third floor has the best view. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calguyCalifonria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Excellent, lots of extras other hotels don't have. The dog gets his own basket full of sheets, treats, towels & a bowl. Close to the beach, located in the quiet part of town & a short drive to downtown. Staff is great. We booked another stay before checking out.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lickalottapuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gresham, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

The staff at the Wayside Inn are amazing. Best customer service and the love for the dogs is fantastic! I have never felt more welcome with my 4 legged family member anywhere else. Love the fact that you are a little out of the hustle and bustle of downtown Cannon beach. I will be back every year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sweetdovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canby, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We came here for a family vacation with our dog. The room was clean, tidy and ready early. The staff are great and take customer service to a new level. The pool needed repairs and they even brought gift baskets to the kids, simply beyond expectations. Will be back again!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael242003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
1.8 mi away
Land's End at Cannon Beach
Land's End at Cannon Beach
#11 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wayside Inn

Property: The Wayside Inn
Address: 3339 S Hemlock St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3075
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Wayside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful ocean-view hotel at the South end of Cannon Beach near Tolovana Park. Enjoy ocean view rooms and suites, gas fireplaces, small kitchens, flat screen TVs, free Wi-Fi and decks. After a day at the beach take a swim in the heated indoor pool, or a soak in the hot tub. Many dog friendly rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Wayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing