We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great place to stay for the entire family!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wayside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Wayside Inn
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enumclaw, Washington
Level Contributor
99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for the entire family!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We had a wonderful time in cannon beach and we could not have been more pleased with our choice of lodging! The wayside is a wonderful inn and we will definitely be back! Our 2 bedroom suite was clean, stocked, comfy, and up-to-date and even had a beautiful view of the beach from our balcony. The entire staff is pleasant and accommodating. And the pool, oh the pool, was great and probably the warmest we have ever been in, which is quite refreshing compared to some of the arctic hotel pools we have visited in the past. Another one of the perks with this place was the stuff that they had that you could use, like the pack-n-play for our kid that was so kindly put up in our room before we got there, and the beach toys and wagon that you could take with you down to the sand and the doggy blankets and bowls and towels and cookies.

All in all, a great place to come to, especially for a family with dogs and kids.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EdPlateau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    172
    24
    4
    1
See reviews for
240
250
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed for one evening and it was very enjoyable. It's a nice location even though it's not actually beach front. There is a park parking lot between you and the beach. You still have a nice view of the ocean if you are on the 2nd or 3rd floor. We had a one bedroom studio on the 2nd floor. The room was spotless and very comfortable. It was very quiet and we had a wonderful evening. The staff is super friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again. I gave it a 4 overall only because there isn't a 4.5. I don't know about value because I have nothing to compare it too.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sdurf57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed for one night in August 2014 - 1 adult, 2 kids and a small dog. There is nothing to remind you that this is a pet-friendly room (like smells, stains, etc.) other than their sincere love of dogs! The room was clean and well-decorated. The staff is exceptionally welcoming and helpful. They delivered a box of tissues to our room and also helped us figure out the remote for the DVD player. The location is great - just across the street from Mo's and the beach, a short walk to Haystack rock, and a quick drive to downtown CB. The girls really enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub. There was a good selection of DVDs to rent in the reception area. This was our second time at The Wayside and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Second and third floors are probably a bit quieter than ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonnie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

My husband and I celebrated our 5th wedding anniversary here and the staff were so sweet and warm. I was also pregnant and they surprised us with a congratulatory card, candies, and sparkling cider. The room included a kitchenette stocked well with pots, utensils, etc. It was not particularly large or special, but it was clean and the pillows were so fabulous that we bought some online for our house. Being on the ground level meant we didn't have as nice of view as the even more pricey rooms above but we could see the ocean. It is on a busy street so a seat on the porch/balcony is accompanied by car noise more than ocean waves; however, it wasn't so loud as to disrupt sleep. There is a fun restaurant/bar nearby and Mo's seafood place is across the street, but it is a drive to downtown. The pool is indoor and leaves much to be desired but there is a hot tub as well. The hotel provides nice "extras" such as matches for a fire on the beach, plastic shovels and buckets for sand castles, and beach chairs. The best part of this hotel is the friendly staff and easy access to the beach - a short walk across the street and you are there!

Room Tip: It is already pricey but if you want to spend even a bit more, it'd be nice to upgrade to an upp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed at The Wayside Inn for 4 nights in July 2014. The rooms were clean, well maintained and spacious. The Manager, Jill, was outstanding! The Inn provides all your beach equipment needs; blankets, chairs, towels, toys and a cart to pull everything down to the beach in. The Inn is situated a short 15 min beach bike ride from downtown Cannon Beach. The location away from Cannon Beach provides a quieter vacation with plenty of beach space for flying kites, playing bocce ball and finding a perfect spot for your evening fire. The pool was a enjoyed by our children. You are a short walk away from the beach (across a parking lot), and you are saving $200 per night because of it.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view - the best views are from rooms on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 89Globaltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Facility was great. Staff was wonderfully accommodating and helpful. Most dog friendly property of this caliber we have stayed at. They love dogs! Also great dining just a few steps away. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms with ocean view across park access site.
See more room tips
Green Features: Didn't notice what their practices were but very clean with dog walk area stocked with plastic bags and appropriate disposal container.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

My family and I loved our stay at the Wayside Inn! We had an upper unit with 2 bedrooms, a kitchen, living room, fireplace and bathroom (ocean view). The covered pool was inside and outside at the same time which was great b/c the weather was fairly cold (Spring break)! The walk across the street and through the parking lot to the beach was short, and we went to Mo's Restaurant for 3 meals in the 5 days we stayed there (also, just across the street)! Clean big rooms and the separate living room/tv room was a huge bonus once we put the kids to bed. Fresh cookies and a fruit basket in the hotel lobby was a special tray too! Can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
1.8 mi away
Land's End at Cannon Beach
Land's End at Cannon Beach
#12 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wayside Inn

Property: The Wayside Inn
Address: 3339 S Hemlock St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3075
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Wayside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful ocean-view hotel at the South end of Cannon Beach near Tolovana Park. Enjoy ocean view rooms and suites, gas fireplaces, small kitchens, flat screen TVs, free Wi-Fi and decks. After a day at the beach take a swim in the heated indoor pool, or a soak in the hot tub. Many dog friendly rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Wayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing