We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great As Usual”
Review of The Ocean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ocean Lodge
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2011

This was our fourth time at The Ocean Lodge. We stayed for a week. The room was on the top floor with a king bed. The room was gorgeous, perfectly clean and quiet. Of course there were stunning views. The staff was genuinely friendly and helpful. It just doesn't get any nicer at Cannon Beach. We will be back again.
Michael

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,492 - 1,498 of 1,669 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2011

Wow. This was by far the best place I have ever stayed. The room was huge! Cozy fireplace, big jacuzzi tub, and the most comfortable bed ever. So close to the ocean that you open your sliding glass door and a few steps and your on the beach. My husband and I have never slept so good. Not even in our own beds! I hope that my path takes me to OR again so i can stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andraia63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

The one thing the Ocean Lodge does right is location. This is a beautifully located hotel. The front desk staff is friendly. That's as much as I can say for the place.

I made my reservations ~ 2 months in advance and that just wasn't early enough to get a pet friendly room with a view. Ok I can accept that. I was told that other than the view, the non-view rooms were just as nice. This is a lie. The view rooms are airconditioned. Probably not usually a necessity here, but it was a sunny weekend and the third floor room I ended up in was very hot for me and for m dog (a Newfoundland). Also, the room I ended up in was on the small side (not a big deal, really, for me). The bed was so worn out it was sagging and very uncomfortable. Also there was no writing desk or little table to work at with my computer (I like photography and wanted to play with pics taken during the day). Also, the only place you could see the tv from was the super uncomfortable worn out bed.

While I was able to make the room work for me and the dog, I won't sign up again to pay > $300/night (including taxes) for a hot room with an uncomfortable bed and no chair/table to work at.

My advice? Always get a view room... Or better yet, try a different hotel. You'll pay a similar price and likely end up with better facilities.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeeTheWorld000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed five nights on an escape from the Midwest heat. What a find! It has a nice lodge-y
feel. We were in a third floor room with "partial" beach view but it was great and we were very happy with our room. The bathroom is great as is the oversized jacuzzi tub. Fresh cookies are offered 24 hours a day and you could smell them baking. The staff was very friendly. The room had everything we needed. The Ocean Lodge is right next door to the much pricier Stephanie Inn. We enjoyed eating at the Stephanie Inn dining room but were happy to return to our laid back and comfortable room at The Ocean Lodge. We loved it and hope to return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJA_MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We loved our stay here. Dog friendly with a washing station and provided doggie clean up bags. Just steps away from the beach and a great view of Haystack Rock. Our room was very nice with fireplace, balcony, 1 bedroom. Really good quality of toiletries and bath robes provided. Also a very good variety for the included breakfast. All day long fresh cookies in the lobby and small doggie treats. A great place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cleopatra16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

my husband and i spent four days here relaxing. good breakfast, warm cozy rooms right on the ocean. perfect forva romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovemyplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Ocean Lodge for our anniversary for 4 days. We had a room on the third (top) floor. Gorgeous views, tidy room, comfortable bed. The service at the hotel was gracious and much appreciated. While the room was comfortable and the lobby/common areas well appointed and charming. I couldn't help but feel that the room felt a little cheap. Plastic mismatched furniture on the small balcony. peeling wallpaper in the bath. Tiny dated shower. cheap tile and laminate counters in the bath, etc. There are coffee and snacks and such available 24hrs/day and a free breakfast but it would have been nice to have a restaurant or cafe on site. We also missed the fact that there is no pool or hot tub or gym available. They will give you passes to a gym 'downtown' if you'd like but that didn't really suit our needs. I think you are definitely paying for the view and the service. Not a truly 'luxury' room. We had a nice time and there was nothing really 'wrong' but we agree we probably wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: The top floor has vaulted ceilings and small balconies, the second floor has bigger balconies if tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeamHoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,017 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,709 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 15 in Cannon Beach
252 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn at Haystack Rock
Inn at Haystack Rock
#11 of 15 in Cannon Beach
204 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Lodge

Address: 2864 S Pacific Ave, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3153
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cannon Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range: £146 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Ocean Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Lodge is ocean front and top drawer without being pretentious while exuding beach culture at every turn. Views from the hotel are breathtaking. The guest rooms are warm and welcoming, and the lobby with it's massive river rock fireplace blazing is always inviting. The Lodge staff are consummate service professionals. Overlooking famed Haystack Rock and the scenic Oregon coast, the Ocean Lodge offers its guests fireplaces in all guest rooms, wireless internet access, a casual breakfast buffet, home-baked cookies, is in close proximity to boutique shopping, art galleries, and restaurants, in a convenient location. Pet friendly rooms are available. You will check-out feeling relaxed, refreshed and rejuvenated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ocean Hotel Cannon Beach
Ocean Hotel Cannon Beach
Ocean Lodge Cannon Beach Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing