We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for romance and your dog is welcome too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ocean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ocean Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
119 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great place for romance and your dog is welcome too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We have stayed at the Ocean Lodge many times over the past five years. Each stay offers a good time, wonderful breakfast, clean and quiet room, and fabulous views of the ocean. Centrally located it allows you to walk the beach or to one of the restaurants you might like to visit.

The staff goes above and beyond expectations. Our room has always been spotless, our animals greeted and accommodated, and all of our requests and questions addressed. One evening our dog appeared to have run off during the fireworks on the 4th of July. Vic scoured
the beach looking for him and offered comfort until he was located.

We return several times each year to enjoy the hotel, staff, and view. The beach is just outside your door. Great to stay rain or shine.

If you bring a pet an upstairs room or one of the bungalows are better choices than the first floor.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaddyCakeOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,185
    192
    48
    8
    7
See reviews for
344
891
47
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

The Ocean Lodge is right on the beach with a little grass in front of your room, then sand and miles of beach. The hotel is located south of the famous haystack rock, hence you will not get a view of the rocks from your room. Perhaps from an upper floor you would get a view from your balcony as your look north. It appears that most rooms will have a full ocean view. Ours was on the bottom floor, which I love as you can walk right out of your sliding door to the beach. I believe that's also where the pet friendly rooms are located. THANK YOU OCEAN LODGE FOR ACCEPTING PETS!
Check in is a breeze and the hotel staff will give you a full run-down about all the great restaurants in town. FYI: This hotel is about two miles from the downtown area.
They serve an adequate "continental" (not full) breakfast (i.e., scones, cereals, apple pie, pastries, hard-boiled eggs, fruit, etc.) all very delicious.
The rooms are quite large; ours was a king with a large sofa (which I am sure makes in to a bed) and desk with two chairs. In addition, you will have a gas fireplace and a large whirlpool tub in the bath. A great flat-screen TV with zillions of channels. The furnishings are well-appointed (kind of mountain cabin-ish), not elegant - but very comfortable.
We would definitely return!

Room Tip: Room 107 is the best room on the bottom floor, especially if you have a pet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Star333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

The location is great, the service is excellent and the ccokies are fantastic .....

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickjones48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

this might be the most comfortable hotel i've ever enjoyed. everything is geared for guest comfort and the staff was hospitable and eager to help with anything. we stayed for 4 nights & enjoyed a large room that opened onto a wide (shared) veranda overlooking the ocean. the breathtaking beach is just across the lawn. on the one cold, rainy day of our stay we enjoyed reading by the in-room fireplace and upstairs in the library where fresh fruit and hot drinks are available 24/7.

Room Tip: rooms 111 & 112 on the 1st floor are away from lobby traffic and share a huge porch with several...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trippish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We visited CB in October and stayed at the Ocean Lodge for two nights. The hotel staff is really accomodating and very friendly. The rooms are very nice with a great view. The continental breakfast is what it is. Only down side is it is not within walking distance to most of the restaurants and shopping. When we return to CB we will definitely try to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zack001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

We stayed at the Ocean Lodge for two nights (Sept 27-29) in an Ocean Front Queen Suite. I got the AAA discount but it was still over $600.00 for two nights. The hotel is located off the main road through Cannon Beach and with our GPS we had no problems finding it. Check in was prompt and courteous. The lodge is very welcoming and you get a comfy feeling as soon as you arrive. The cookie jar at the entrance was a nice touch as well. Parking at the entrance for check in is limited as is the parking for the main part of the lodge.

Our room was on the top floor on the end with a nice view of the beach and haystack rock. The room is cozy with a gas fireplace, small kitchenette and decent sized balcony with a couple chairs to sit and enjoy the view. My only complaint is having a Queen bed in the suite was not great for us but the trade-off of being able to let my husband sleep in when I got up early was worth it.

We had everything we needed for our two night stay with plenty of towels, soaps, etc. No complaints there.

Before arrival I had arranged for two of their baskets, one for each day. The first basket was a nice bottle of wine, a couple glasses, candle, and some other assorted items for a romantic evening. The bath tub was too small really for us to share so I saved the bath salts for another time . The second basket was supposed to be delivered for a fun day at the beach. It had a Frisbee, wood and the makings for smores, a kite and some sand dollars and paints for painting. Unfortunately by the time we got the basket it was too late to enjoy the kite or the Frisbee so that was a bust. I actually had to go down and remind them that I was supposed to get it. We did manage to get down to the beach after dinner and a sunset picture session to build our fire and make our smores. That was fun and it was worth it just for that. Unfortunately we were leaving the next day so there was no time to enjoy the other items. I have a friend that lives in Seaside so I dropped the kite off at her house so they could enjoy it since it was TOO big to fit in my suitcase. This bag also came with a $10.00 gift certificate for the local candy store which my DH easily spent!

Breakfast was provided as part of the cost of the room. They had a wonderful breakfast room set up with plenty of pastries, cereals, coffee, juice, etc. They even had my favorite creamer in the single serve cups. Good stuff. They had trays so you could fix up your plate and take it back to your room to enjoy.

For dinner we went to the Stephanie Inn next door one night. The food and service were amazing. We like to eat early so we practically had the place to ourselves. It’s an upscale restaurant but they aren’t stuck on dress code which was nice because we didn’t bring nice dinner clothes for the cool Oregon weather.

Everyone working at the lodge was very friendly and we really enjoyed our time there. I highly recommend the location and the hotel.

Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions about staying here.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsCombs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

I give The Ocean Lodge 2 thumbs up.

Location - location - location
Breath taking/ priceless views of Cannon Beach & Haystack
Wonderful customer service, everyone was extremely friendly and helpful (always a plus in my book.)
Spacious, comfortable, clean rooms
Fireplace, deck, jacuzzi bath & separate shower.
Dog friendly
**highly recommend an ocean view room, any floor is fine.
Breakfast included, coffee & cookies all day.

No restaurant on site but plenty within walking distance.

This hotel made my get away trip. I will be back :-)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenJSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannon Beach
0.1 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
#7 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Lodge

Property: The Ocean Lodge
Address: 2864 S Pacific Ave, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3153
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cannon Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Ocean Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Lodge is ocean front and top drawer without being pretentious while exuding beach culture at every turn. Views from the hotel are breathtaking. The guest rooms are warm and welcoming, and the lobby with it's massive river rock fireplace blazing is always inviting. The Lodge staff are consummate service professionals. Overlooking famed Haystack Rock and the scenic Oregon coast, the Ocean Lodge offers its guests fireplaces in all guest rooms, wireless internet access, a casual breakfast buffet, home-baked cookies, is in close proximity to boutique shopping, art galleries, and restaurants, in a convenient location. Pet friendly rooms are available. You will check-out feeling relaxed, refreshed and rejuvenated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ocean Hotel Cannon Beach
Ocean Hotel Cannon Beach
Ocean Lodge Cannon Beach Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing