We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ocean Lodge: a must!”
Review of The Ocean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ocean Lodge
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Beautiful, lovely, and very relaxing. Loved that there was firewood available at the front desk to build a fire on the beach during the sunset. Stop considering the other places in Cannon Beach and just book a room in the Ocean Lodge. You won't regret it!


  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,102 - 1,108 of 1,649 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

The Ocean Lodge has a lovely downstairs and area to sit by the fire. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the rooms are spacious with beautiful views. The only part I would improve is having a more extensive breakfast menu.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is by far, the best property that I've stayed at in many, many years! My husband, son and I stayed at the lodge in late June 2014. The staff were very attentive! The cleaning of the rooms is fantastic and turn-down service is the best ever. Needed sofa bed for our son -- the turn down service made the sofa bed, every night with clean sheets and the maid would take the sheets off and put the sofa bed away during the day. It was so nice to have someone make the sofa bed while on vacation. I almost always get handed a stack of sheets from a maid or find the sheets in a closet and have to do it myself. (It may sound silly, but it was nice to be pampered like that.)
The rooms are a great size. There were comfy chairs and a sofa to sit by the gas fireplace. We had a walk out balcony and loved sitting out and looking at the waves and haystack rock. The fridge, sink, etc., were great for quick drinks and snacks. The beds and pillows are extremely comfortable and it's the first time that I've slept on hotel sheets that didn't have stains or make-up marks on them in many, many years. The sheets were pristine.
A continental breakfast is provided every morning in a quaint breakfast room. They also have a constant supply of fresh baked cookies, coffee, and hot water (tea) in the lobby. There are board games, DVD's, and books for everyone's tastes to borrow while you're there. They even had beach chairs for us to borrow.
They sell a small amount of items, but there is a small grocery store with everything that you need about two blocks away. The Ocean Lodge is in 'Cannon Beach,' but it's great because it's not in the heart of downtown. The downtown area was congested, packed with people and drivers fighting for parking spots. We experienced none of that at The Lodge. It was quiet and save to walk around. Going out to Haystack Rock during low tide is an experience. We saw star fish, barnacles, and much more 'sea life.'
I recommend buying firewood or finding your own for fire's on the beach at night. It was great to sit in front of the fire on the beach, roast marshmallows, check out the stars and listen to the ocean. I didn't want to leave this place! I could have stayed much longer. In fact, if they weren't sold out when we were leaving, we would have changed our travel plans and stayed there longer.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShelbyJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My husband and I stayed there for two nights with our young dog, Sam. We had the best time!! Here are some of the reasons why:
* Beautiful large rooms done in soft understated elegance that are warm, inviting and comfortable. Great beds, comfortable chairs. Rooms have sm. frig., microwave, coffee maker and utensils, all nice quality.
* Right on a breathtakingly beautiful, large clean beach. You can walk for miles. If you are on the first floor of the hotel, you can step off your private patio onto a smallish area of communal, manicured green lawn, and a few feet away are steps and paths that decend about 12 feet to the beach below. This hotel is about a hundred yards south of Haystack rock, a five minute beach walk. Large windows and sliding glass doors (with screens) make the views from the room wonderful.
* The hotel though elegant has a old time rustic lodge feel to it. The smallish lobby is crowned by pretty, real wood burning fireplace surrounded by comfortable couches and chairs. Interesting coffee table books and reading material are scattered around. You don't check in at a big counter, instead you have a seat at a small desk with your hotel greeter.
* Very pet friendly. It seemed many of the guest have dogs or like dogs. Doggie bed covers, bowls and treats are provided. The lawn area that the rooms face, has a clean well kept feet washing/dog rinsing area at one end. Guest/hotel staff keep this pretty lawn very clean and poop free. Our dog was in heaven, loved the beach, loved the other dogs, and loved everyone telling him how cute and adorable he was.
* The hotel is very,very clean and fresh smelling. No doggie odor, which even though I'm a dog owner, I am very sensitive to and strongly dislike.
* Kid friendly and adult friendly. There are lots of nucks and small to large guest seating areas the are stocked with hundreds of books and many games. These seating areas are all cozy, comfortable and inviting.
* Although it is kid//dog friendly, Ocean Lodge still has a very romantic appeal, the rooms are quiet and relaxing. Rambuncious (sp?) behavior is pretty much reserved for the beach; the hotel itself is very quiet. The rooms are just far enough away and above the beach, and the beach area is so huge, that people noise is not noticed.
* Excellent complimentary Continental breakfast served in a comfortable light filled room. Great selection of fresh pastry, breads (including GF), fresh fruits, toasted bagels, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, fresh steel cut oatmeal, great fresh brewed gourmet coffee, and the regular fare. Pretty, sturdy wood trays are available so you can take your meal and eat in your room or another seating area.
* Great beach for kite flying and biking. My husband flew his large kite, there were five or six others that we saw, but the beach is so large, there is no crowding. Also we saw some folks riding three wheel recumbent bikes on the beach and having a blast. They rented them in Cannon Beach.
* Ocean Lodge is just outside of Cannon Beach, about a 4 minute drive; just far enough to be quiet and less crowded. Cannon Beach is one of Oregon's most beautiful little beach towns, mostly Cape Cod styled buildings, no strip malls, and is a true artist colony with very high end original pieces in many of its galleries. It also has many wonderful shops/galleries that have nice/cute/unusual quality fare, that is affordable, not junkie, and always fun to browse. Good, some great restaurants of every price range, ice creme parlors, candy shop, pet store, book and toy stores. Just walking in Cannon Beach is fun, right on the beach, literally next door to beautiful Ecola Park, and small enough to negotiate easily on foot. Go!!! You'll have a wonderful time.

Room Tip: This hotel is not very large, so it has a personal feel. Request a view room. I usually don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AnnieOakLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Found this place to stay on the internet and was listed as number one on trip advisor. It passed my expectations and gets 5 stars in all categories. We will stay again in the future. Loved having the view of the ocean and Hay stack rock.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mitch7286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

great inn located on one of the prettiest places on the planet! We will definitely return. The breakfast was very good and we took advantage of the 1,000 + free DVD library. Staff was very attentive and service oriented!









  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Ocean Lodge recently, while traveling with our Golden Retriever, Hank. Our experience there couldn't have been better. We had a large, comfortable room looking directly out at the Pacific, and were literally just steps from the beach. Our dog was able to run and play on the beach without being leashed, and he had a blast. The town has several nice shops and restaurants, and was only a short drive from the lodge. The service was excellent. In fact, we returned to our room one day to find a nice surprise waiting for us -- while cleaning our room, the maid found $180 in cash that my wife had dropped under the bed, and it was returned to us with a nice note. The lodge itself has a great feel to it -- large and sturdy and comfortable and attractive without being formal or pretentious. We can't wait for our next excuse to visit.

Room Tip: Ground level room is best for those traveling with pets. A view of the ocean is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank SeattleWolverine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,696 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,991 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Land's End at Cannon Beach
Land's End at Cannon Beach
#12 of 15 in Cannon Beach
188 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn at Haystack Rock
Inn at Haystack Rock
#11 of 15 in Cannon Beach
203 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Lodge

Address: 2864 S Pacific Ave, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3153
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Cannon Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range: £142 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Ocean Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Lodge is ocean front and top drawer without being pretentious while exuding beach culture at every turn. Views from the hotel are breathtaking. The guest rooms are warm and welcoming, and the lobby with it's massive river rock fireplace blazing is always inviting. The Lodge staff are consummate service professionals. Overlooking famed Haystack Rock and the scenic Oregon coast, the Ocean Lodge offers its guests fireplaces in all guest rooms, wireless internet access, a casual breakfast buffet, home-baked cookies, is in close proximity to boutique shopping, art galleries, and restaurants, in a convenient location. Pet friendly rooms are available. You will check-out feeling relaxed, refreshed and rejuvenated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ocean Hotel Cannon Beach
Ocean Hotel Cannon Beach
Ocean Lodge Cannon Beach Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing