We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view, but not everything I was hoping for.”
Review of The Ocean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ocean Lodge
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The Ocean Lodge is a nice place to stay. The view from our ocean-front king room with balcony was as good as it gets on Cannon Beach. Wide sandy beach, Haystack Rock, ocean waves. Unfortunately, my husband and I didn't feel like we could hang out on the balcony much due to the inconsiderate behavior of our next door neighbors in the hotel. When we first arrived they were sitting on the railing between our balconies, sort of in our space. And from their perch they had a full view right into our room through the large sliding glass door. I felt like I was in a fish bowl. At other times, the neighbors sat on our shared balcony blasting very unfortunate hard 70's rock. Not only did we not want to sit outside, it was hard to read a book in our room with that racket outside. Even when we closed the door. Our rude hotel neighbors are not exactly the hotel's fault, but it did limit our enjoyment of our annual couple days away from the kids.

The breakfast offerings were okay. I'm not much of a breakfast eater and they didn't have anything that tempted me, but lots of other people were loading up on toast, english muffins, boiled eggs, oatmeal, etc. DO try the coffee though! The Ocean Lodge serves Sleepy Monk coffee roasted right there in Cannon Beach. After having a cup at the hotel in the morning, we decided to make a pilgrimage to the real place in town. Look up my review for more on that little slice of heaven.

The staff are very friendly. Rooms clean and nicely decorated. Jacuzzi tub and separate shower. Best shower I've had in a while, by the way. Those shower heads must have been grandfathered in after the water conservation laws took effect. Serious water pressure, lots of water. No problem hosing the sand off here. LOL Walls are on the thin side, surprisingly. Around dinner time, overheard first floor occupants having sex as we walked down the hall. Glad our kids weren't with us so we didn't have to explain that to the youngest one.

If you want real peace and quiet (without kids), stay at the Stephanie Inn instead. With kids, I'm not sure what to tell you. There is great access to the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Britt-Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,024 - 1,030 of 1,609 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Ocean Lodge for our anniversary this last August. We arrived earlier than expected and were pleasantly surprised that the room was ready early and we were able to check in two hours before the normal check-in time. The room was immaculate and comfortable with amazing views of Haystack rock! We were able to open our sliding glass door and hear the sounds of the ocean, which was so peaceful and serene! The location was right on the beach -- just a short walk over the little grassy hill and we were on the sand and on our way. We would definitely stay here again! Can't wait to bring our child and dog next time!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Leslie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Great service....wonderful view from our room looking out onto the beach....request for additional items in our room done quickly...Our bed was sooooooooo comfortable... nice breakfast buffet....the evening fresh baked cookies were a real treat! we will come back


  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

oceanfront suite was terrific. two labs had an excellent time. cannon beach is amazing. staff was warm and welcoming. breakfast was great. cookies were appreciated as were the dog treats. will return to storm watch in december and stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DDahlman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Our Oceanfront room on the first floor gave us access to the beach and the best views of Haystack Rock in the area. When I saw our room I could not have been happier with the amenities and setting. Friendly staff, great lending library, home-baked cookies, breakfast served that exceeds expectations and casual dining within walking distance. You can also get delicious pizza and lasagna delivered by a local restaurant and enjoy the sunset on your patio or sitting on a log in front of a wood burning fire on the pristine beach.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Great location with a million dollar view. Staff is friendly and courteous and the property is well maintained. Only negative was the family of elephants staying above us who seemed to stomp back and forth non- stop.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Walking into our room, my husband and I were happy to find such a fresh and comfortable looking room for us to stay in. We could see the ocean from our room and loved the location. We love that we could walk into town and avail ourselves of the many restaurants and galleries as well as the Summer Theatre. It was an excellent trip and we will be back next year!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Saul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannon Beach
0.1 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,892 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,662 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Land's End at Cannon Beach
Land's End at Cannon Beach
#12 of 15 in Cannon Beach
186 reviews
8.5 mi away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
1.0 mi away
Surfsand Resort
Surfsand Resort
#5 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Lodge

Address: 2864 S Pacific Ave, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3153
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Cannon Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range: £153 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Ocean Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Lodge is ocean front and top drawer without being pretentious while exuding beach culture at every turn. Views from the hotel are breathtaking. The guest rooms are warm and welcoming, and the lobby with it's massive river rock fireplace blazing is always inviting. The Lodge staff are consummate service professionals. Overlooking famed Haystack Rock and the scenic Oregon coast, the Ocean Lodge offers its guests fireplaces in all guest rooms, wireless internet access, a casual breakfast buffet, home-baked cookies, is in close proximity to boutique shopping, art galleries, and restaurants, in a convenient location. Pet friendly rooms are available. You will check-out feeling relaxed, refreshed and rejuvenated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your The Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ocean Hotel Cannon Beach
Ocean Hotel Cannon Beach
Ocean Lodge Cannon Beach Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing