We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but clean and well appointed”
Review of The Ocean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ocean Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Houston TX
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Expensive but clean and well appointed”
Reviewed 18 October 2009

Travelling on the Oregon Coast for thefirst time. Hotels were booked in Astoris due to a film festival we had been unaware of. Called around and found a room at Ocean Lodge. Quite expensive , but a nice modern building with amenities. The hotel appears to cater to " beach vacations" : rooms are like small condo suites with kitchens, etc. Walls are not that soundproof. Staff is friendly and they allow dogs to stay, which are both pluses in my book.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdcarver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,248
    200
    48
    8
    8
See reviews for
369
934
48
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2009

We absolutely loved the Ocean Lodge. Everything was perfect. From the views, the location, the lodge itself, the rooms, the breakfast, the staff, etc. And with so many extra cozy touches. We are looking forward to returning there again!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viva-Luigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

This was out third visit this year at the Ocean Lodge. We found it last year on a last minute trip to the beach on a weekend. We just love the place. This time be brought our dog and had a great time. I had a conference to go to in Seaside and it was just a short drive up the road.

I breakfast in the morning is great. We love the atmosphere here. It's the kind of decor I strive for in my own home.

Only a couple of downfalls to the place. 1) It's expensive and 2) They wouldn't let my husband check out late on our last day so he had to sit in the car with the dog for 4 hrs until I got out of the conference. It was raining that day. Sort of miserable for him. We would have stayed an extra night if we had known.

All and all we love the place and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank passiongal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Stayed for 2 nights with our dog. Sometimes "pet friendly" really means "pets tolerated" in the hotel biz. Not here ... they are treated as guests, right down to the welcome basket containing treats, a fluffy towel and large sheet to put on top of the bedspread.

Our room was gorgeous (ocean view) and the setting is breathtaking. Staff are tops - professional and friendly and ready to make your stay the best it can be.

Complimentary excellent continental breakfast and they have over 700 dvd (free) movies to chose from.

Loved that it is just far enough away from the Cannon Beach 'downtown' to be quiet and more secluded. You could walk into town (a bit far) but we drove. Had planned to wander and shop for most of one day, but found ourselves back at the Lodge ... the weather was gorgeous and the place was just too wonderful not to spend every possible minute there.

We will definitely go again.

After spending the previous night at the Kalaloch Lodge (also on the coast, outside of Forks, WA) and being so disappointed, we were so happy experience the Ocean Lodge.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rosem55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
77 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 397 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

We stayed here recently over the end of the Labor Day weekend. It was our first time to Cannon Beach in about 30 years, so it was like we were starting from scratch. I read all the previous reviews and booked based on them. For the most part, they are entirely correct, but there are some things of which I wish I had been aware.

First of all - good things. It is a lovely hotel on a beautiful part of the beach. The views are exceptional and one can go out and walk on the beach for miles. They do accept pets (one of the three rooms we had was designated for pets and it was very nice.) Beds are comfortable and bathrooms are large and roomy. We had a nice, large jacuzzi tub. Great assortment of toiletries. Coffeemaker, microwave and small sink. Lovely gas fireplace. The day we left, they were getting new mattresses for all the rooms.

Things that bothered me - First of all, it is a distance (car ride) from downtown Cannon Beach - although Cannon Beach is spread out. There are no restaurants close by except for the Stephanie Inn, which is rather pricey. We would stayed at the Stephanie Inn, but they don't accept pets. The thing that bothered me the most were the decks. The majority of the rooms share a deck (I think like all but 3 or 4). These decks were arranged so that there was just a low barrier between the two rooms - no privacy at all. The person next to us could go out on their deck and look directly into our room. There was no physical barrier either. I love to leave my door open at night to hear the ocean, but there was no way we could do that as there was no way to lock or secure the screen so that some one could be prevented from entering our room. If we were sitting out on our deck and our neighbors came out and sat on their deck it was like we were all on the same deck with a small wood partition abour 24 inches high separating us. There was no privacy at all, which would be OK if you had adjoining rooms with friends or relatives, but with strangers - no. I understand they want to preserve the view, but even putting up a plexiglass partition or something to insure noise privacy and lessen the fact that someone could enter your room so easily. Maybe it is just our own hangup, but I do think others should be aware of this.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colleen_travelqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2009

We spent 10 days traveling around Oregon and this hotel was by far the highlight of our trip! What a stunning location, right on the beach, with beautiful views of the ocean. Our room was upgraded for free and we loved everything about our room!

The breakfast was fantastic. They provide trays for you to take your food back to your room, which I highly recommend. My husband and I enjoyed a delicious breakfast on our deck, watching the waves roll in.

My one minior complaint was during check-in, we felt slightly judged by the woman checking us in. We are younger than the typical clientele of this hotel and we had just finished a 3-day camping trip, so we weren't dressed that well. We sort of felt like she was looking down on us. When we asked for a good restaurant, she sent us to a yucky bar down the road (by the way, DO NOT eat at the Warren House Pub! It was awful...) where she said we would "fit right in". It was a pretty bad experience all around.

Other than that, we loved this hotel and will certainly come back here!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecki14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Linn, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2009

Nice location, beautifully designed and extremely helpful staff. We enjoyed two nights here with an ample continental breakfast each morning. Easy access to the beach--Cannnon Beach is among the nicest, cleanest and scenic beaches Oregon has to offer.

A staff person recommended a restaurant, even offered to make a reservation for us. She was right on target with the selection and we certainly felt the Ocean Lodge goes the extra mile for their guests.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannon Beach
0.1 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,691 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,563 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,193 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 14 in Cannon Beach
224 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
#8 of 14 in Cannon Beach
2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Lodge

Property: The Ocean Lodge
Address: 2864 S Pacific Ave, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3153
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Cannon Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Ocean Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Lodge is ocean front and top drawer without being pretentious while exuding beach culture at every turn. Views from the hotel are breathtaking. The guest rooms are warm and welcoming, and the lobby with it's massive river rock fireplace blazing is always inviting. The Lodge staff are consummate service professionals. Overlooking famed Haystack Rock and the scenic Oregon coast, the Ocean Lodge offers its guests fireplaces in all guest rooms, wireless internet access, a casual breakfast buffet, home-baked cookies, is in close proximity to boutique shopping, art galleries, and restaurants, in a convenient location. Pet friendly rooms are available. You will check-out feeling relaxed, refreshed and rejuvenated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ocean Hotel Cannon Beach
Ocean Hotel Cannon Beach
Ocean Lodge Cannon Beach Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing