We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but very nice”
Review of Stephanie Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stephanie Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pricey but very nice”
Reviewed 24 August 2011

When rooms are $400+ in a mostly chilly beach town, people are pretty friendly. Fake or otherwise. Rooms are very well kept, comfortable and furnished very nicely. Stayed on the 3rd floor, which have great balconies. The odd thing was despite the Inn being full, few spent anytime out on them. Their loss. The 5PM wine gathering features PacNW issues that are not too shabby. Breakfast is pretty terrific. The limit on kiddies under 12 made the place pretty quiet. Rare for high season. The Stephanie Inn pretty much left me not wanting anything except maybe a discount ;-)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ob2s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SIManager, General Manager at Stephanie Inn, responded to this review, 10 September 2011
We appreciate your comments and are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While we know there are many lodging choices to choose from in the Cannon Beach area, we hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,491
    129
    42
    13
    10
See reviews for
162
1,327
46
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
269 reviews
230 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 463 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

It has all been said and the Stephanie Inn really does deliver. I swithered about giving a it a 4 because there are some (very minor) hiccups but in the final analysis could not. It is so charming it would be like kicking a kitten. I have to reiterate the great about this place. Friendly staff, unbelievable location, comfortable room and the exceptional service. We were in a top floor dormer room which had amazing outside space – albeit not as private as one might like. I had a fun morning wandering out, toothbrush in mouth, to find my neighbour similarly occupied! But it just goes over and above anything else a small hotel has ever done in my experience. The shuttle service to a recommended restaurant (Newmans – fantastic) in a pristine Toyota (?) vehicle was a fantastic add on. I wouldn’t dream of staying anywhere else if I were to return to Cannon Beach. However the food is good but not great, the aircon is very noisy and I really don’t like getting my own coffee and orange juice at breakfast.

Room Tip: Get a sea view - you'll kick yourself if you don't
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fleetcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SIManager, General Manager at Stephanie Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2011
We appreciate your wonderful comments and hope your next visit to Cannon Beach includes another stay at the Stephanie Inn. Your third floor ocean front room will be waiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

I can only comment on the oceanfront king dormer room here, and that was heavenly. It had a bedroom and living area, the latter with a gas fireplace, and opened to a gorgeous wood deck with a lounge and two chairs, beyond which was the ocean. We left the doors open all night and fell asleep to the sound of the surf. The hotel is charming with amazingly helpful staff. They will even provide firewood and the makings of s'mores for nighttime beach campfires in front of the hotel.
The restaurant was pretty but I wasn't as impressed by the food as I expected to be. Breakfast was included - a hot and cold buffet - a different hot dish each morning, which was nice, as well as cereals, yogurts, and breakfast cakes and breads. The pastries were outstanding, as was the coffee. Dinner was just okay - everything I had was overly salty, especially the scallops, which had very little taste other than the salt. My husband enjoyed a tasty filet mignon.
We walked from the hotel down the beach to the town of Cannon Beach where we had a delicious crepe from a storefront creperie and windowshopped some cute stores. When we walked back the tide was out and the tidepools were filled with sea anemones and orange and purple starfish! The water is extremely cold even in August.
All in all, while I loved our visit, at almost $500 a night I don't think we'd go back.

Room Tip: Splurge and get an oceanfront king dormer suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SIManager, General Manager at Stephanie Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2011
We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your third floor ocean front room so much. They are the most popular because of those large decks. We are also happy to know that you liked our buffet breakfast but sad to hear your dinner wasn't quite what you had expected. We hope you accept our sincere apology for not meeting your expectations. As we know our prices are higher than most, please keep in mind that if your future vacation plans include a visit to Cannon Beach again, please give us a call and check our web site for promotions and specials. We would love to have you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

From calling to make the reservation until we checked out, this was hands-down my best mainland America hotel experience. I got the romantic tub package, and I was able to choose champagne or wine (red or white). I've had a romantic tub package at an upscale hotel in Woodinville, WA, and their package was not as well-performed as Staphanie's! Unfortunately, we set the smoke alarm off (only in our room--whew!) because we had the bathroom door open for the air but the steam from the bath set it off. We didn't get to do the bonfire & s'mores on the beach as we were unfortunately there only one night.

Two of the pleasant touches were the binoculars and lantern in the room! There have been plenty of Caribbean and Hawaiian hotels I have stayed in that those would've been a God-send!

We didn't have dinner there as we weren't hungry enough for their awesome-sounding dinner, but the continental breakfast was delicious. There was a good variety of food & juices. The room was a bit small for the number of guests (no assigned seating and only a few tables by the windows. We got stuck sitting by the back entrance & juice table....)

It's right on the beach & the beds are very comfortable. The room could've been a bit better decorated (more luxurious) but the bathroom was very nice. The room was comfortable, though, and had a small bar area with mini-fridge. The internet was slow.

They even had a wine & cheese time and a nightcap hour (which we missed because of the romantic tub package).
It was a bit pricey but for what you get, it was worth it. am so excited with thoughts of returning!Sadly, my boyfriend's wallet isn't.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleFeet1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

The views, the friendly reception, the food (breakfast and dinner), and the location all combined to make this one of the best places my wife and I have stayed. Our 3rd floor room faced the ocean, with stellar views of the beach and rocky outcroppings. The balcony was large, with 2 chairs, a table and a large lounge chair. The room was spacious, the bathroom was large and we had a cute teddy bear waiting for us every night. The free cookies, lemonade and other snacks were appreciated and delicious. I can't think of one thing I would have changed.

Room Tip: It's worth the price difference to be on the ocean-facing side of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConnecticutDad2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SIManager, General Manager at Stephanie Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience with others about your recent stay at the Stephanie Inn. We appreciate that you chose the Stephanie Inn as your vacation destination and hope that if your vacation plans include aniother trip to the Cannon Beach area, that you'll chose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Have stayed here twice now, both times in the 2nd floor corner suites. Both times, the rooms have been immaculent, the service exceptional and the experience one of the best of our lives. I wish all other hotels provided quality like this. It isn't cheap, but in this case you really do get what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spectator4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SIManager, General Manager at Stephanie Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. The corner suites are our best rooms in the house and we are very happy to know that you enjoyed them so much. We look forward to your 3rd visit, and hopefully, that room will be avaulable for you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longview, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

thank you very nice and relaxing want to go again but have to take a loan out !! hahah kinda joking expensive but nice and a nice breakfast,,,,,,,,,,,,

Room Tip: on the beach side spend the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10Barbran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SIManager, General Manager at Stephanie Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
Thank you so much for your comments. We hope, that if your next vacation plans include another visit to Cannon Beach, that you will choose the Stephanie Inn again as you vacation destination again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannon Beach
0.1 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,504 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,560 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,190 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 14 in Cannon Beach
224 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
#8 of 14 in Cannon Beach
2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stephanie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stephanie Inn

Property: Stephanie Inn
Address: 2740 Pacific Ave, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3164
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stephanie Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stephanie Inn is Oregon's premier Four Diamond, oceanfront destination for anyone seeking a respite from the hurried pace of everyday life. With panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and Haystack Rock, the inn is truly a feast for the senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Stephanie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stephanie Hotel Cannon Beach
The Stephanie Hotel
The Stephanie Inn Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing