We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AWESOME!!!!!! GREAT VIEWS&VERY RELAXING!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stephanie Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Stephanie Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Weston, Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“AWESOME!!!!!! GREAT VIEWS&VERY RELAXING!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

We have been there 8 years in a row. The views are AWESOME& REALAXING.
The staff is extremely attentive. There is coffee available in the morning and during the day, as well as a Cookie Jar filled with DELICIOUS cookies. The restaurant is very attentive with food and there is a buffet breakfast every morning.There is wine tasting every day at 4:00 and cordials served around 9:00 every night. Also, the Inn will supply you with wood to build a fire on the beach and watch the Sunset with goodies,etc. Rooms have deck or terraces facing the ocean.Very Romantic place! What more can you ask for!!!!!????

Room Tip: Rm.223-Great views of Haystock Rock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank photos8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,317
    122
    40
    13
    9
See reviews for
135
1,184
41
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

This is our second time staying at the Stephanie Inn and we've thoroughly enjoyed it both times and will be back. The location, just yards away from Haystack Rock, cannot be beat. They think of all the details - fresh cookies and tea and coffee in the lobby 24 hrs a day, plush robes in each room, free new-release DVD and CD rental, complimentary afternoon wine and cheese reception and nightcap. I do agree the decor and furnishings are a little dark and heavy for a seaside inn, but they are comfortable and not at all tacky (although I could do without the teddy bear on the bed - thought that was kind of weird). Rooms are very clean.

The bed was super comfortable. The bathroom with the jetted tub was so nice and I love the Aveda products. The complimentary breakfast was wonderful - Eggs Benedict, some of the best pepper bacon I've ever had, potatoes, yogurt, homemade granola, pastries, oatmeal, and lots of fresh fruit. All of the staff is so friendly and seem to genuinely enjoy working there.

We had dinner at the onsite restaurant and it was one of the best meals I've had in a long time. My salmon was perfectly cooked and seasoned. Atmosphere was great and I disagree that the restaurant should be on the ocean-side of the resort - it was dark out so we wouldn't have seen the beach anyway. Better to have more rooms on that side.

My only complaint is that we stayed on the first floor and the people above us were super loud. They woke us up multiple times. We like being on the ground floor so you can walk directly to the beach (plus it's cheaper!) but next time we will consider staying on the top floor.

Upon check-out they gave us two bottles of water and chocolate for the road. They really do think of everything!

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor if possible to avoid noise from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank la12_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
7Sharon, General Manager at Stephanie Inn, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thank you for sharing the experience you had at the Stephanie Inn with others. We are very pleased that your stay was an enjoyable and memorable one. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us again - we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Passing through on a Pacific Northwest road trip, we chose the Stephanie Inn for it's sea front location and reputation. It's location, facilities and service deserve the highest praise. Just the little things take the edge off.

The heavy furnishings of the rooms may suit a Boston gentlemen's club, but are hardly contemporary coastal decor. The flimsy screen door on the ground floor units irritated each time in had to be dragged open. The lack of privacy screening between the outdoor seating areas detracted from the peaceful evening contemplation of the ocean. The supply of powdered creamer instead of fresh cream for the in room coffee facilities grated as being down market, as did the low range coffer percolator. And, at this price range, if you are going to leave chocolates on the pillows, make them quality confectionery, not the cheapest from the local supermarket!

The evening service and cuisine in the dining room were of a very high standard - the former being attentive to the point of intrusion, but nonetheless very friendly and efficient. The chef is obviously very skilled and an asset to the inn. The breakfast was a little limited in range, but fresh and well prepared.

But who on earth thought it was a good idea in a sea front resort hotel to have the second floor dining room afford such a panoramic view of... the car park! Just 180 degrees away was a superb coastal landscape begging to be the backdrop to the dining experience... They should sack the architect and replace the interior designer. And while the evening wine in the "library" was welcome, what sort of library has no books for other times of the day?

Room Tip: The second floor ocean front rooms are better than the ground floor. If there are any non-ocean fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
7Sharon, General Manager at Stephanie Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you for your comments. We really appreciate your feedback and for choosing to stay with us. We hope you enjoyed your Pacific Northwest road trip and that you'll choose to stay with us again if your travel plans bring you back to the Cannon Beach area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

This was the most fabulous hotel. I just loved everything about it. The location on the beach is the best, beautiful views, a terrific dinner, warm cookies available for a late day snack, all made for a wonderful stay. The Stephanie is a must!

Room Tip: Ocean view is a necessity. Also, be sure to take a walk on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EaglesSteelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed here one night on our week long trip to Portland. It was a nice weekend get away.
We got the first floor ocean view room. The INN is a three story building with about 42 rooms.
We paid approximately $500/night including tax.

Pros
1. Bed had a tempurpedic mattress. Extremely comfortable. Sheets were of high thread count. Soft. Loved it!!
2. Bathroom had a large spa tub big enough for two.
3. Complimentary breakfast
4. View of the Haystack rock
5. Complimentary wine and cheese at 4 and 9pm
6. Unlimited amount of complimentary coffee, cookies, muffins and tea all day long
7. Free DVD and popcorn
8. Friendly and helpful staff. We got a little tour of the INN after check in.
9. Free parking and internet

Cons
1. The decor of the room and the building does not have a "beachy" vive. It's more a "lodge like" setting.
2. There is no outdoor partition between adjacent rooms. I felt uncomfortable sitting outside with the neighbors 6 feet away from me.
3. Restaurant upstairs had mediocre food at a upscale price. Appetizer and main course were okay but the dessert was horrible. The shortcake was two pieces of hard biscuit with defrosted berries in between. I couldn't even cut it with my knife. Very disappointed.

Room Tip: Get a view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boni74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Stephanie Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
Thank you for your comments and for choosing to stay with us. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again if your travel plans bring you back to the Cannon Beach area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
119 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

The Stephanie Inn was our home for one night as we headed home to Seattle area.....it was a lovely last stop. Our ocean front room was very comfortable - nice sitting arrangement for reading in the late evening, comfortable bed ( I wanted to try a tempur-pedic mattress and liked it but not the pillow as I am fussy about pillows....neck problems for years ), nice roomy shower - can't remember the last time in a tub!! The evening wine tasting was good altho most Oregon red wines are not "big" enough for my liking but they do a good job with the Pinot Gris. Our dinner was very good en tho I can't remember my entree choice - after 3 weeks on the road I was ready to go home and eat my own cooking!!! Breakfast in the a.m. was very nice with many choices on the buffet so we were completely satisfied. The view of ocean and rocks are Cannon Beach at its best!! and in a beautiful building too. :-)

Room Tip: Opt for an ocean view if your budget allows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lover-of-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Stephanie Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for your comments, we really appreciate it. We are pleased to know that your stay was an enjoyable and memorable one. If your travel plans include another visit to the Cannon Beach area, we hope you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munster, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed July 5th for one night. A beautiful view but not worth the money. We were just in the wine country at The Allison Inn which was $200/night less expensive and much nicer. The staff at the Stephanie Inn were very nice. The service was good and almost overdone. For over $500/night, I kind of expect rooms to be well done, "beachy" in this environment and up to date. It was almost "old ladyish" beachy. The carpet was old, the artwork were reproduction posters and for this price, it should be redone. The beds were comfortable. The breakfast, again, for this price, was completely mediocre. Cheesy dishes, buffet and nothing special. If this was $200-250/night, ok, but nowhere worth the price they charge. The cookies at the front desk were a nice touch. If we came back, would definitely find somewhere else to stay. Either redo the place and make it current or lower the prices.

Room Tip: No fitness center on site. They have an arrangement with a club nearby but not a good option at this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BRY12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Stephanie Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
We appreciate your feedback and comments and are very sorry you feel the way you do knowing that you won't return. We understand and hope this would not stop you from visiting the Cannon Beach area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannon Beach
0.0 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
#7 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stephanie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stephanie Inn

Property: Stephanie Inn
Address: 2740 Pacific Ave, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3164
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stephanie Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stephanie Inn is Oregon's premier Four Diamond, oceanfront destination for anyone seeking a respite from the hurried pace of everyday life. With panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and Haystack Rock, the inn is truly a feast for the senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Stephanie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stephanie Hotel Cannon Beach
The Stephanie Hotel
The Stephanie Inn Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing