We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Stay”
Review of Stephanie Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stephanie Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, OR
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Another Great Stay”
Reviewed 22 March 2010

This was our 4th stay in the last 5 years at the Sephanie. It was all that we remembered and more. The rooms are large and comfortable except the couch which is a foldout gets uncomfortable after awhile. Service is great and they go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. Dinner in the dining room was great always and their wine list isn't too over priced compared to someplaces. The breakfast provides plenty of varity and service again couldn't be better.
My only complaint would be with the afternoon wine tasting. At the prices they are charing for a night's stay they certainly could offer better quality wines than they do. While not a wine snob these are wines that most people staying here would not consider purchasing as their quaility is doubtful.
Also, their room charges are approaching the level where one might not consider a night here as a good value.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ortravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,537
    133
    44
    13
    10
See reviews for
170
1,368
47
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

Stayed with my spouse at The Stephanie during week of Feb. 25, 2010. It was our second stay, the first being 3 years ago. It was even more incredible this time. Fabulous chef prepared food and abundant drinks, homemade cookies everyday, refrig stocked with favorite sodas, breakfasts that are out of this world, friendly staff, and of course the amazing views. Expensive, but got our monies worth!!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huldah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2010

away from downtown but worth it! we stayed there the night we were married! the staff had a "congrats" card on the table in our room when we got back from the reception

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank risleyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2010

This place was great! My husband surprised me with this trip for my birthday. The inn was warm and cozy from the second we walked into the reception area. The service, as well, was impressive (friendly) right from the start. The room had a king-sized bed, a fireplace, and a walk right out onto the beach (right next to Haystack Rock). The bathroom was huge, with a jetted tub, a nice rocked shower, a vanity area, and a separate toilet room. Stephanie Inn offered wonderful "touches" such as free homemade cookies and fresh coffee (brewed) and a great selection of teas in the reception area. They also stocked free bottles of water (or soda, if you preferred) and popcorn in each room, offered movies (free DVD rental) for your personal room viewing, hung plush robes in our closet to wear while staying there, had a free bedtime turn-down service (including mints on the pillow), and a free Friday/Saturday night Happy Hour (wine, soda, cheese, crackers, dips, and vegies). My husband booked us a couple's spa massage right on the premises. We got to walk down the hall in our borrowed plush robes. The spa room ambiance was perfect, right down to it's wall water feature. After our massage, the therapists gave us a little gift and told us we could use the sauna and take our time leaving. There were water bottles, teas, truffles, and nut mixes left for us to enjoy at our leisure, as well. Lastly, the dinner...the inn has an on-site restaurant. The meal was quite good, right down to the dessert. As well, the service at Stephanie Inn Restaurant was top-notch. The 2 servers were knowledgeable and attentive. This was a wonderful birthday retreat. My only regret was that we only had one glorious night there.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scooter17OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2010

My wife and I have just returned from a 3 nights stay Jan 24th to Jan 27th 2010 at the Stephanie Inn. We were in room number 123 ground floor with a great view of the beach and Haystack Rock. We have heard great things about the Stephanie Inn but never stayed there because of the price. It is a bit on the high side about $430.00 a night plus about $35.00 in taxes for the basic room. I will say that the basic room is wonderful and large and we got 3 nights for the price of 2.

The Stephanie Inn is small and comfortable with the feel of being an old friend on a visit. The staff were all great and always greeted you with a smile and your name. We really enjoyed the fact that there were only about 9 other couples at the Inn at any one time (slow time of year). It was nice to be able to sit in the Library at 4pm to 5:30PM and have wine and snacks and talk with the other guests. The breakfast that is included changed each day and was also wonderful.

Our room was large and so comfortable with a huge bathroom. There is a Pureair tub, walk in shower and a sitting area with mirror. The bed was a King Tempur-Pedic and was one of the best nights sleep my wife and I have had. It was so nice to just sit in our room with the windows or sliding door open and hear the sounds of the beach and read a book. They do have two spa rooms where you can get any type of spa treatment. The rooms are private and are wonderful.

We had heard about the dinners at the Stephanie Inn and had to give it a try. First things first it is not a restaurant it is the dining room. You truely feel as if you are a guest and not just a customer. The menu is PrixFix each night and changes every night. It is a four course dinner and takes about 1 1/2 hours. The meal was so good and the staff were so friendly. My wife is on chemo and has not had much of an appetite but enjoyed every part of this meal and ate all of it. The portions are of a good size for the price you pay. It is $59.00 ea plus the cost of your wine or mixed drinks. All I can say is that you have to try the dinning room at least once it is so worth the price.

If you are looking for a splurge and love the Oregon Coast I would say you must stay at the Stephanie Inn. My wife and I have decided that we will be making a return visit at least once a year. It was so relaxing and we needed that for sure.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trafficman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2010

We loved Stephanie Inn! My husband and I drove down the coast of Oregon as a "one last trip" before our baby arrived, and we stayed at 3 hotels along the way. The Stephanie Inn was only for one night, but we wished it could have been longer. We stayed in the Carriage House, which was more expensive but we were so happy we did. We felt secluded and cozy, with spectacular panoramic views of the Haystack rock....which I was particular fond of being a big fan of the Goonies movie. The staff were very friendly and helpful, even offering to bring to our room whatever movie we selected, along with homemade cookies. Even though it was cold in October at a beach-front hotel, we had a fantastic time! Cannon Beach itself is a quaint little town which we thoroughly enjoyed strolling through. Definitely one we will come back to!

PS - we only ate at the Stephanie Inn restaurant for breakfast, but it was great! We wished we had done the dinner.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brooke103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2009

Without reservation, this is the best the Oregon Coast has to offer. I am sure nobody who has stayed here will disagree with me. Simply stunning, in every way.

1. Location: Oceanfront, beachfront with Haystack Rock just north and the sunsets and pounding waves at your footstep. One of the best beaches in Oregon (and Oregon has pretty awesome beaches). The town itself is quaint, upscale and charming - the Kennebunkport of the West Coast. The one risk you take with this location is cloudy and/or rainy weather. However, even then it is nice.

2. Rooms: Awesome. We stayed in a 3rd floor Oceanfront Dormer Suite and it was one of the best hotel rooms I have ever stayed in. Beautiful, full ocean view. Large balcony with table and chairs. Very comfortable bed. Top-quality furnishings throughout. Extreme attention to detail. Extremely clean. Large bathroom with 2 person jacuzzi tub (if you're into that).

3. Service: Impeccable. Could not be better. Unobtrusive, friendly, and always with a smile.

4. Grounds: Very nice. Lobby area has comfortable couches, a fireplace, and an elegant modern (though also classic) look. Elegant and luxurious throughout.

5. Dining: The only area where the Stephanie Inn can improve, albeit slightly. The dining room is a bit small and feels somewhat cramped. The service is top-notch. The food is very good, but could be much better. There is very little choice (usually just 2 or 3 entrees). It takes too long for them to get through all the courses. It's a bit too formalistic. It's also a bit overpriced. Still, I would rate the restaurant "Very Good," just not "Excellent."

Overall: I hate to be revealing this hidden "secret" gem with such a raving review, but to write a lesser review would not do this place justice. If you can afford it, do not even think of staying anywhere else in Cannon Beach for your romantic retreat.

Also - DO NOT bring kids here. They will not fit in, and almost all guests are couples (100% were during our stay). If you're with kids, go to the hallmark or surfsand. Don't upset the tranquility of the Stephanie.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank golfegolfer39tw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannon Beach
0.1 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,541 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,590 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,207 reviews
6.8 mi away
Lanai at the Cove
Lanai at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Seaside
915 reviews
0.9 mi away
Surfsand Resort
Surfsand Resort
#4 of 14 in Cannon Beach
2,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stephanie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stephanie Inn

Property: Stephanie Inn
Address: 2740 Pacific Ave, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3164
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stephanie Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stephanie Inn is Oregon's premier Four Diamond, oceanfront destination for anyone seeking a respite from the hurried pace of everyday life. With panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and Haystack Rock, the inn is truly a feast for the senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Stephanie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stephanie Hotel Cannon Beach
The Stephanie Hotel
The Stephanie Inn Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing