We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this private little Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Courtyard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Courtyard
Ranked #3 of 18 Cannon Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bellingham, Washington
2 reviews
“Loved this private little Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed in room #10. It was absolutely perfect! From the cozy bed to the fully equipped kitchenette, we had no complaints. Everything was updated, and the bathroom was wonderful with a HUGE jetted tub! The room even had with a private little patio! They thought of all the touches too, fresh taffy in your room to DVD's and umbrellas for rainy days! And did I mention it's half a block to the beach. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The bottom rooms have patios!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bham-Melissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHotelGuestSvcs, General Manager at The Courtyard, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear bham-Melissa,
What an amazing review! To be called "Perfect" is the best recommendation we could imagine and your thoughtful remarks are much appreciated. We're so glad you enjoyed the spa tub and patio, and our short distance to the sand. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, and we will work hard to keep your glowing impression of us when you next return to Cannon Beach. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Warmest Regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner & General Manager
The Courtyard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    69
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
21
141
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

What can I say - what better place to hold out on a very windy, rainy stormy weekend in Sept.!
My husband and I took advantage of a travel 2 night special in Cannon Beach. We were not sure what we were heading into but it sounded promising. We were not disappointed. The Courtyard is a great location just a ways out of the core village area and a block off the beach. Our room on the 2nd floor corner suite even had a peekaboo view. If it was nice you could sit out on a warm day. The room was nicely appointed with a small kitchen area and a bath with a large soaker tub for 2. After a day braving the winds and the tense drive to Oregon from BC, it was nice to relax in the bubbly tub.
This property is well used but it still felt comfortable and clean. You can wander up to the main lodging hotel, where you must check in upon arrival and there are warm cookies and delicious lattes offered.
The beaches are lovely and I am appreciate the restaurant menus that are available so that you can plan your meals accordingly although breakfast and lunch were nice to enjoy in the suite.
I love buying the pots of fresh crab and shrimp, cheese and crackers to go with wine picked up for the room mid afternoon happy hour!
We definitely would use this property again especially with the special offer. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHotelGuestSvcs, General Manager at The Courtyard, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Sandy S,
Thank you for your warm and descriptive review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate the time taken to share your experience with the travel community. It sounds like you made the most of your trip, it is so rewarding to hear about guests enjoying the different features of our rooms. Our spa tubs and fireplaces are certainly valuable during a stormy weekend! We will have several special offers in the coming seasons, please do keep in touch! Thanks again and we'll hope to see you again soon.
Warmest Regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner & General Manager
The Courtyard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Got lucky with both weather (sunshine and no wind in mid-October) and a great room rate ($100 per night). We have been coming here for over 10 years. We stayed in #22, which is second floor, and is one of two king bedrooms that they offer. No kitchenette in these rooms as in the others, but we prefer the king bed rooms. (Other rooms have sofa beds, which may be great for small families, but we are in it for the romance!) This room style has a small balcony that overlooks the brick and fountain courtyard, which is cute. Much privacy as it is off the main road, separated by the hotel’s parking area and the enclosed brick courtyard (which is locked at night-very secure and private). The exterior is Nantucket-ish. Nice, cozy room with gas fireplace, huge double tub and small fridge. Tiny water closet and shower area, but it is fine for 1 person at a time. On site, they also have a small library room with sofa and chairs, coffee service, a fireplace and a free computer - it opens via french doors onto the central first floor brick courtyard. We love the location to both the beach (1/2 block) and for walking to downtown CB. Did I mention the housekeeping was the best ever? Super clean. Knowing what to expect combined with a great weekend rate made this a wonderful visit. Food tips: try Newman’s next door for great food and service and also the Irish Table down the street. One downside: no dresser to unpack clothing. We used the nightstand drawer and tiny closet but I do miss some type of drawers. (Yeah, I am an over-packer!)

Room Tip: Two rooms (with king beds and double tubs!) are upstairs. Other rooms have queen beds but offer kit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfwife1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at The Courtyard, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear GolfWife1,
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. Wow! We appreciate your business and cannot thank you enough for your fab review. Sorry we don't have dressers in our king rooms.......but, glad all else met your satisfaction. Look for our fall specials via email eBlast, there are some great specials coming up this fall. We all look forward to your return!
Warm Regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is my second time staying at the Courtyard. It is a great room except for one thing and that is the mattress on the bed. Replace the mattress and it would be a super great room. Location to the beach, restaurants, and shops is excellent. We had friends staying at a local RV park which made visiting convenient. I would stay at the Courtyard again the next time I am in Cannon Beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Walt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at The Courtyard, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Walt B,
Thank you for letting us know about your visit and sincerely apologize that you did not find the bed to your liking. Just so you know we are in the process of replacing all the mattresses. I personally designed a bed and had it custom made for our company by a manufacturer in Portland. At this point half of our beds have been replaced by the Cannon Beach Hotel SeaCloud Bed. Please consider staying with us again and ask for a room with the new bed! Thanks again for your kind words about the Courtyard.
Warm Regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We recently stayed at the Courtyard. Everything was wonderful from the friendly helpful staff to the cute comfortable room. The in room fireplace made the room cozy on the stormy nights we had. The hotel is so close to the beach and a short walk to the shops. Right beside the hotel is a wonderful restaurant called Newmans. We would highly recommend this restaurant the food and friendly staff were wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 65GaleC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at The Courtyard, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear 65GaleC,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us, we sincerely appreciate hearing from you. We are very happy to hear your were pleased with your room and that you were happy with the location. Newman's is a great choice and just steps from your door, John Newman never disappoints.......I understand he worked at the White House, we are lucky to have him as our neighbor. I do hope you will consider the Courtyard when you plan your next visit to Cannon Beach.
Warm Regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

This hotel was everything a weary traveler could ask for. Great room, many dining options close by. Great beaches for walks. Great central location to explore other points of interest on the North Oregon Coast.

Room Tip: Only drawback, no ocean view from our room. But I was sleeping not scenery gazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoMama53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at The Courtyard, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear JoMama53,
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us recently and happy to know your found the room to your liking. Cannon Beach is a lovely destination and after driving as far as you did I'm sure you were glad to find a quiet place to relax. We do have one room at the Courtyard with a partial ocean view, perhaps next time you will consider that room. Thank you for your feedback, see you next time!
Warm Regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed at the courtyard and the room, service, people at the front desk and everything was great. The room had a fireplace which was great when turned on. The hotel is moments away from the beach. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Imad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at The Courtyard, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Imad J,
Thanks for the nice feedback and kind words, we will look forward to your return visit. Watch for our fall specials, perhaps you will consider staying with us this sooner than you think!
All our best,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
#7 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,940 reviews
0.1 mi away
Surfsand Resort
Surfsand Resort
#4 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Courtyard

Property: The Courtyard
Address: 964 S Hemlock St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3051
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Courtyard 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard - Secluded accommodations set back from the beaten path in Midtown Cannon Beach allows children 12 and up and includes a beautiful continental breakfast buffet served at the Cannon Beach Hotel Cafe from 8-10am. With a modern and sheltered grace, this property was built for relaxation. More than a dozen contemporary guest units face a private brick courtyard with a gently burbling fountain, petite flower gardens, guest library, and comfortable Adirondack seating. Offering a variety of amenities and upgrades, rooms at The Courtyard are stylishly appointed with custom furnishings, gas fireplaces, and original art. Most rooms have petite kitchenettes, Keurig Coffee makers, lounge areas with sofas, coffee tables, dining tables and patios or balconies. Our best rooms offer robes, two-person spa tubs and queen or king size four-poster beds. A haven just three doors to the sand. Pets and smoking are not allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Courtyard Hotel Cannon Beach
Courtyard Cannon Beach
Cannon Beach Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing