We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual Dining”

Cannon Beach Hardware & Public House
Ranked #20 of 50 Restaurants in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$22
Cuisines: American, Pub
Restaurant details
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Casual Dining”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We ate at the Hardware twice while in Cannon Beach. The sandwiches were very good. The atmosphere is a bit unusual; that is seating next to items for purchase for home improvements. But the place is usually packed, serves great beers and even has a decent wine list for a pub. The spicy chicken sandwich and fish and chips are very tasty and the ahi tuna salad is big enough for two. Since it is a popular place, I would definitely try it out when you are in Cannon Beach. Outdoor seating is available but beware, if it rains there isn't any cover. That happened to us and we got rained on. The waitress helped us locate a place out front until the rain passed and we could return to our table. Overall an enjoyable experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    114
    29
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great spot”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

One of our favorite places in Cannon Beach. We have a home one block away, so we get here often and they've never disappointed. Fun service, great selection of beers and other drinks, and food that, for us, has always been very good. We love heading down there, and if we need something for a home project, well, it is a hardware store!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cridland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Up-Cycled Decor, Great Food, & Delish Decor”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

One of the most unique places I have ever dined. It is a hardware store and a Public House (aka Pub). The high top in the bar is one of the most original, yet simple pieces I have seen that only this place can pull off. It is a piece of wood on top of two rows of wooden boxes that are then screwed into two old metal stools.

We sat on the outside side patio and enjoyed the cool ocean breeze. Halibut is really good, but not anything special. The items that they are famous for are salami, which is cured there, pulled pork, roastbeef. I also recommend the chicken corn chowder, which more similar oyster stew than chowder.

They have a nice selection of Oregon beer and servers are very knowledge.

Helpful?
Thank Lindsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unusual and Fun”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Been here several times and it's always so good and if you've got some hardware shopping you can do that too!
Very friendly staff and great menu choices.

Helpful?
Thank Roger E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memphis, tn
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great place to get a good beer and meet friendly locals”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hardware store was across the street from the Cannon Beach Hotel where we were staying. We walked in accidentally, thinking it was the Irish Table. We found not only a hardware store, but a little bar serving pub type food, covered with humorous decor and playing good tunes. Lots of locals were coming in and out, greeting each other by name. All were friendly to us. The manager Dave is a bit of a curmudgeon but becomes friendly after awhile. Kate the bartender was lovely. Get an AV Summer Solstice beer if you can.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank popartpooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cannon Beach Hardware & Public House also viewed

Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Cannon Beach Hardware & Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing