We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty non-pretentious coffee!”

Insomnia Coffee Co.
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
157 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Tasty non-pretentious coffee!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The whole idea of coffee shops is daunting to me. Those orders get so complicated and I just want a freaking coffee. None of the funny stuff! Fortunately this adorable little shop was across the street from our hotel so I didn't have to go far for my morning fix. It has a cute atmosphere and the staff was really friendly. I ordered my signature drip and some sort of complicated multi-worded concoction for boyfriend. The nice chick behind the counter helped me through sufficiently better than the hipster baristas at star-something's. My total was $7 and I paid with all ones which made her giddy. I so happened to have a whole was of ones (don't ask) so I became their hero. It was a funny little exchange that brought me back the following morning. Nothing pretentious, just coffee and a few other rather tasty concoctions you can order in mere seconds. Looked like a comfy place to hang out if you're into that, too.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knepbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    71
    15
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Yummy Mocha and Super Baked Goods.”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We dropped in here after checking out haystack Rock. A popular place with a line of smiling faces. A very good, bitter Mocha, not just sugar. In house baked goods that were just melt in your mouth amazing. I suggest the cheese bagels too!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank lemonmerangue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good coffee!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Coming from a coffee snob place like Portland, I'm always a little wary of mom-n-pop coffee shops. But Insomnia is a small, independent shop that is really good. I had a mug of the Ethiopian drip coffee and my bf had an Americano, and we were both pleasantly surprised by the quality. Fill up your thermos and go for a walk on the nearby beach. Don't forget to tip the friendly staff!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stateline
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“local coffee house”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Amazingly good baked goods. I had a pear brie biscuit fresh out of the oven and it was so good. I wish I could've taken some home. Great coffee drinks too!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cfores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cute! Great Spot!”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

What a great spot! Lots of atmosphere, great location and yummy coffee. Could hang out here all day. Highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RICoups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Insomnia Coffee Co. also viewed

Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Insomnia Coffee Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing