We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice dinner, spectacular view”

Wayfarer Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Wayfarer Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 51 Restaurants in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Gower
Description: The cuisine at the Wayfarer Restaurant & Lounge is simple, unembellished northwest fare, highlighting the best the region has to offer. We feature the freshest seafood available in the Pacific Northwest, allowing us to provide an intriguing collection in flavor, texture and variety. Our menu features great ingredients, grown, raised and caught by people who share our passion and commitment to serving great food. Their bounty is featured on this evenings menu.
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had a wonderful dinner experience. Food was very good- I had the roar clams, wife had scampi, both meals enjoyed. Very fresh tasting. Clams lightly breaded, delicious; 3 was more than I could finish. Clam chowder was delicious. I had a "Wayfarer Wedge" for a salad; a wedge of lettuce, blue cheese dressing and crumbles, cherry tomato and bacon crumbled over the top- retro and very good. Nice wine list. Fantastic dessert options, but no room left by the time it came. Exceptional service- Dave the waiter very attentive, responsive, but didn't hover. A great dinner, and a great view of the rock, the beach. Would go back, absolutely.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jagar451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy T, Manager at Wayfarer Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for stopping in the Wayfarer and for the kind words. We were happy to hear you enjoyed our fresh local Razor Clams and Prawn Scampi. Please do not hesitate to call for a reservation next time you want to catch a breathtaking sunset while enjoying one of our homemade desserts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,008 - 1,012 of 1,526 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great location and my wife and I got a nice view from a window seat. The food was a little pricey but good.

Thank Shane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy T, Manager at Wayfarer Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your most recent visit to the Wayfarer. We were happy to hear you enjoyed our beautiful view. We look forward to your next visit. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We went for dinner, and found out that they definitely need some help. The waitstaff were very inattentive, and not just at our table, or just our waiter. When we arrived, there were 4 tables in the restaurant, and yet, we waited 5 minutes just to be greeted by our waiter, and another 5 for a glass of water. The view was FANTASTIC, that I will say. But we noticed that we weren't the only ones having issues with our meals and getting service. My spouse's halibut and chips was great, the first two pieces, the third he said was like they "took all the leftover pieces and formed them into a brick, and cooked them", and his fries were cold. We would have asked for more fries, but did not see our waiter until we were more than 3/4 of the way through our meal. The guy across from us had to send his NY strip back, and he had yet to get it back 20 minutes later, when we finally left. That is sad. The real sad part is when we mentioned this all to the hotel concierge, we were told that most locals will not go for dinner. They will go for breakfast or lunch or even eat in the bar, but that dinner was usually a disappointment.

I left a comment card, and also e-mailed the manager with my concerns. It has been two weeks, and I have yet to hear anything. We won't go back for dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Darsy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy T, Manager at Wayfarer Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

I would first like to apologize for the delay in responding to your review and thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at the Wayfarer. I was very sorry to hear your expectations were not met with regard to your service and your meals. That in no way represents the level of service we strive for. We would appreciate another opportunity to show you our true hospitality standards while you enjoy our gorgeous view of Haystack Rock. Please give management a call to discuss a resolution to your most recent visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Had the sole and salmon - it was excellent - great service , good location - very good for price. Kids loved the deserts

Thank tashadogcalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy T, Manager at Wayfarer Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for stopping in the Wayfarer while visiting Cannon Beach! We were happy to hear you enjoyed your Salmon and Rex Sole and that the kids loved our desserts. We hope to see you again this summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Visited the Wayfarer for lunch on a great, rare, sunny day in May. Picked out the restaurant because it is ideally located right on the beach and features a fantastic view of Haystack Rock on Cannon Beach. Oh, and it looked like a great menu for a long an lingering lunch. I enjoyed some oysters on the half shell and then beer battered shrimp, both of which were excellent. My lunch mates had a variety of selections and all were voted "great". Service was fine although there were a few mix ups in drink orders which resulted in a free round (no problem). After lunch walked right out on the beach and took pictures. We were there on a record day of 90 degrees so got a bit tinged. Definite visit if you go to Cannon Beach.

Phil Brougham

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy T, Manager at Wayfarer Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! We were happy to hear you enjoyed our fresh oysters on the half shell as well as the prawns, all with Haystack Rock and a beautiful sunny day as a backdrop. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wayfarer Restaurant also viewed

Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Wayfarer Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing