We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, lovely view!”

Wayfarer Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Wayfarer Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 50 Restaurants in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Gower
Description: The cuisine at the Wayfarer Restaurant & Lounge is simple, unembellished northwest fare, highlighting the best the region has to offer. We feature the freshest seafood available in the Pacific Northwest, allowing us to provide an intriguing collection in flavor, texture and variety. Our menu features great ingredients, grown, raised and caught by people who share our passion and commitment to serving great food. Their bounty is featured on this evenings menu.
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our meal was very very good, the service was excellent, and the windows look out over the beach and Haystack Rock. They bring in the freshest seafood, so take the opportunity to savor the fine local fare!

Thank AlMarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy T, Manager at Wayfarer Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Our Chefs take great pride in sourcing the freshest local ingredients and appreciate hearing that our guests are enjoying the fresh seafood and gorgeous view as well! Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit to the Wayfarer and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,429)
There are newer reviews for Wayfarer Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

899 - 903 of 1,429 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

We drove out to Cannon Beach for our anniversary from Portland, and chose the Wayfarer for dinner as it had decent reviews. We called ahead for a reservation (recommended) and when we arrived we were led to a beach-front view table. The view really was fantastic. I think we may have asked to eat outside had it not been so chilly out.
As we're both vegetarian, there weren't very many meal options other than a mushroom pasta dish, so we split it and ordered some appetizers. For apps we had the battered avocado - which didn't taste like much, and the cheese platter - which was pretty self-explanatory and not entirely thrilling. Dinner was a bit underwhelming, as it was sold as a 'local mushroom dish', and it was barely noticeable that there were any mushrooms in the ravioli as it was doused in plain white sauce. I had hoped more for larger mushroom pieces in the pasta itself, as well as in the sauce. Just a large white dish with lots of white carb blobs.
To be fair, the meat-options looked far more interesting than the one veg option.

All in all, the ambiance was great - vegetarian dinner was....meh.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AshleyGries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy T, Manager at Wayfarer Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit to the Wayfarer. Although you enjoyed our wonderful view of the beach and Haystack Rock, we were sorry to hear you were not happy with our vegetarian menu options. Our Chefs source our menu items local and fresh and enjoy creating vegetarian dishes to order. Please do not hesitate to call for a reservation next time you are in the Cannon Beach area as we would enjoy another opportunity to showcase our Chef's creations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

The hollandaise sauce was beyond perfect. And the sausage gravy (ordered on the side to put on the hashbrowns) was the best sausage gravy ever! You will not regret trying this restaurant! Only eat at this restaurant if you like gourmet fabulous coffee, great value and wonderful service

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bekkah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy T, Manager at Wayfarer Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us at the Wayfarer, and thank you very much for the kind words! We were happy to hear you enjoyed our homemade hollandaise and sausage gravy, which are definitely worth another trip to Cannon Beach. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This place is good place for all meals. For dinner call for reservations as they book up fast. We had to wait 20 min for a table and that was at 530 pm. The next night we had no problem getting in as we called. The food was a lot for the price. We had Robert for our waiter and he was attentive and on top of things.

Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy T, Manager at Wayfarer Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for stopping in the Wayfarer on your most recent visit to Cannon Beach. We were happy to hear Robert took good care of you! And, yes, although reservations are not required with us, we do recommend them. We do hope to see you again soon. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stopped in here after walking the beach along Haystack Rock on the first night of our trip down the Oregon/California coast and got a seat on the outdoor deck. First off, we ended up with a terrific waiter named Mike. The guy was on point the ENTIRE meal (and that goes for the entire staff during our meal!) From recommending wine and beer selections, as well as bringing out samples of the IPA's for me to try, to suggesting dinner specials, this was one of those meals that started out right and finished great. The Chinook salmon was out of this world - topped with a dungeness crab and bernaise sauce that kicked butt - cooked to perfection. My wife had the halibut topped with cranberry and french-fried shoestring potatoes that melted in the mouth. Cheesecake for dessert and we walked away happy. Kudos again to the wonderful folks at the Wayfarer - they made the evening perfect for us.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TooCoolToBeMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy T, Manager at Wayfarer Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you very much for the kind words, and we were so happy to hear you enjoyed our fresh, local Salmon Oscar, Potato Laced Halibut and that Mike took such good care of you. We look forward to your next visit, and please do not hesitate to give us a call for your reservation. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wayfarer Restaurant also viewed

Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Wayfarer Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing