We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid hotel, but nothing to write home about”
Review of The Lighthouse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lighthouse Inn
Ranked #1 of 17 Cannon Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I would give this 3.5 stars. We stayed in a queen kitchenette suite for two nights and thought it was OK; good for what it is, but not amazing or something I'd be gushing about to family and friends.

Pros: pet-friendly (we had cats), good location, mini fridge, great DVD selection, cookies in the lobby, staff was friendly and helpful

Cons: shared hot water heater (we ended up with cold showers because our neighbors below us got to the showers before us), blinds could be more private, balcony overlooks the parking lot

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LMH2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2013

We stayed 2 nights recently using a Living Social coupon.
Its like a small apt/condo. One bedroom queen, pull out couch in living room, kitchen with mini fridge, stove top, micro and sink. Hand wash dishes, all supplies there. Mugs, wine glasses, pots, pans, kettle.
Large walk in shower, no tub. Ours was an upper unit. Nice natural light, small deck.
Access to DVD's, beach chairs, cookies, and complimentary breakfast, but these are a mile away at their sister property.
Either an easy drive, or a lovely beach walk.
Staff is really wonderful. Really.
I like the location, easy access to get beach or town. It feels a bit independent, no staff on site, but they are a phone call away.
Coffee shop across the street, baked goods + an art gallery to browse in.
If I had a choice of staying at the Lighthouse Inn or the Inn at Cannon Beach (sister property), I may opt for the Inn at CB, just to see the wild bunnies.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank artygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

These condos are all refurbished and beautiful. Big comfy beds with lots of pillows and a fireplace in the livingroom. Close to eateries and the downtown area. The bathroom area was a little small but the shower was big. The big bed took up a lot of space in the bedroom but we didn't mind. We will take the big bed over more walking space. The living room made up for the lack of space in the bedroom. The sister property located a few minutes away offered a "continental" breakfast but with all the food options available we ate elsewhere. We enjoyed our stay immensely.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the suite. It's just a little more but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rb44chinook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

A groupon got us to this Inn. We're frequent Cannon Beach visitors coming at least 2-3 times a year. We normally stay at their sister inn, The Inn at Cannon Beach so this review is in comparison to our stay there.

I understand that the cost may be lower staying at the Lighthouse Inn than at the Inn at Cannon Beach but I feel that at the Inn at Cannon Beach all the rooms are the same quality so you don't feel like your dollar is stretched less getting one room over another. I know for a fact that not all the rooms have the same full amenities at The Lighthouse Inn. This is our second stay here. The first time we stayed, we had a downstairs room and it was nice. The kitchenette had over the counter cabinets, a sink and a stove top. However this second stay, also a downstairs room, we might have gotten the most unfinished room of the bunch. The kitchenette had a microwave but no sink. There was also no stove top but oddly enough there were pots and pans. Also the microwave was on the counter which made for even less counter space. What happened to the overhead cabinets like the other room? We had to rinse our plates in the bathroom sink.The refrigerator was very helpful.It kept our items frozen in the freezer and cold in the bottom section.

The bathrooms could use more counter space too. The bathroom door could use some hooks behind it. With two guests we had to hang our towels over the shower rod. Also, the hair dryer was really loud. I was afraid I was waking up other guests using it. However the water pressure was really good and they had fragrant soaps and lotions. There was also a good amount of towels.

We had a queen bedroom suite. I swear the bed isn't a queen though. It felt more like a double bed. We ended up sleeping on the pull out couch in the living room instead. At least there was the arms of the couch to keep us from falling off. But the living room is also where the TV is so we just ended up watching movies until we fell asleep. The bedroom itself is pretty small so you won't have very much room for your luggage. We ended up storing our luggage in the living room. If we had never stayed here before, we probably wouldn't have known the difference between the rooms at the Light House Inn. You can definitely hear the people upstairs. The second morning, we were actually woken up by the loud conversation going on above us. We could even tell what they were talking about. Yikes.

However, If you have a positive attitude, which we did, we realize we can't always get what we want. But we found, we got what we needed. Warm room, place to shower. Pet friendly room.
It's a block and half from the beach and puts you almost in front of Haystack Rock. There is also a grocery store down the block that is open until 10pm.

Good location. Could just use equal amenities room to room. Staff is great and always polite. Can never get enough of how polite they are even if you are complaining about something..minor or major they always have the best attitude towards their patrons.

So between this place and the Inn at Cannon Beach, I still prefer the Inn at Cannon Beach. Everything we needed was in 4 walls including the breakfast spot. If you stay at the Lighthouse Inn, you have to drive about a mile south for the hotel breakfast they offer at the Inn at Cannon Beach.

The Lighthouse Inn says it can sleep up to 4 people in their suites but I think it's really meant for 2 comfortably. If you have 4 people stay, hopefully you are all outdoorsy types and only use the hotel for showers and sleeping and not for a relaxation hours during the day or night...

Hope to see some minor improvements when we return. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sweetmap18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Lighthouse Inn. We had a 1 bedroom suite room. Smallish queen bedroom, but large living room that included a kitchen with microwave, cooktop, and refrigerator. Nice sitting area, too. This property is only a block off the beach (they are small blocks) and about 100-200 yards down from Haystack rock. You can see the top of it from the balcony. If you like the sound of the surf, you'll love this Inn. We had the door closed (it was January) but could still hear the waves. Our room was neat and tidy. The bathroom didn't have a tub, but had a nice, large shower. In wall electric forced air heating kept the rooms nice and warm. Our room had a DVD player and free DVD "rentals" were included. Free breakfast was included also, but the dining room was at least a mile away, if not more, so we skipped it. The Inn is in easy walking distance from the main downtown area. We went in the off season, and got a pretty good deal on Living Social.

Room Tip: These are two story units. The top floors have a view of Haystack Rock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We just recently returned from a weekend at the Lighthouse Inn. There are several points to sell this resort such as: it has recently been remodeled, it is very clean, it is a short walk to the main part of Cannon Beach, and the staff was very courteous. However, we do not think we will return as we found the bedroom and bathroom very small. My husband and I had to place our luggage in the living room as there was not enough room to maneuver around our suitcases, especially at night. The door to the bedroom has to be closed at night or you will walk right into it in the dark from the way it is positioned. Especially bothersome was the fact that there was no place to put your toiletry bags in the bathroom. The only storage was given to the tissues and toilet paper. We also didn't like the fact that we had to get in the car to reach the breakfast site (at a sister property). We knew this when making the reservation but didn't realize the two properties were so far apart. The breakfast room was very clean but lacked food appeal. The waffles are frozen waffles. It would seem the Inn could purchase a waffle maker like several other hotels have acquired.

I cannot imagine any more than two individuals staying in these rooms. We had an upstairs suite and found it to be very quiet.

There is much to sell this hotel; however, we prefer more room and breakfast at least within walking distance.

Room Tip: I would recommend an suite upstairs; they seemed very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tuttie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escape L, General Manager at The Lighthouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2012

We are most appreciative of the time and effort this guest has taken in order to provide us valuable feedback on our Lighthouse Inn. As with any review, we are looking into each and every point of her communication and will take immediate remedial action to resolve any issue within our abilities. Some issues are more easily fixed than others, like a shelf for toiletry bags, and we look forward to rectifying this oversight with expediency. We have enormous pride in our property and when we learn, as we have here, that we have let one of our patrons down, it causes us to redouble our efforts. We dedicate ourselves to the comfort and satisfaction of each and every guest, each and every day. It is our utmost concern.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

A newly renovated place that is convenient to downtown Cannon Beach. Lovely furnishings, decent continental breakfast, although you have to drive to the Mother property to obtain. No beach view, but a very short walk.

Room Tip: There are only eight units, so the biggest choice is whether you want to walk up stairs to the upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lambo058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,609 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,662 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,894 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at Haystack Rock
Inn at Haystack Rock
#11 of 15 in Cannon Beach
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Surfsand Resort
Surfsand Resort
#5 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lighthouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lighthouse Inn

Address: 939 & 963 South Hemlock, P.O. Box 1388, Cannon Beach, OR 97110 (Formerly Van Buren Lighthouse Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Cannon Beach
Price Range: £114 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lighthouse Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Lighthouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Buren Lighthouse Hotel Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing