We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best value we've seen at the beach”
Review of The Sandtrap Inn

The Sandtrap Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cannon Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Sandtrap Inn
Ranked #15 of 18 Cannon Beach B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best value we've seen at the beach”
Reviewed 19 February 2011

We have been visiting Cannon Beach for 10years.We have checked out other places,but always stay at Sandtrap Inn.
Close walk to downtown,one block from the beach.Rooms have all the amenities we could need.Like our second home.
The folks in the office were very friendly.Can't wait to get back to the beach!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pgaddis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    9
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna BC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

We came down to spend Canadian Thanksgiving on the North Oregon Coast and found Unit 2 Townhouse at the Sandtrap to be just fine for our three night stay. The Fall special deals are very good, the location fine and the unit clean and comfortable. We would have appreciated a kettle in the kitchen but a minor niggle.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidMJKelownaBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2009

Unit #10, "large 1-bedroom" should be called "humungous 1-bedroom"! The bedroom itself is small, but the rest of the space is immense, including living room, dining area and kitchen. The unit was spotless, comfortable, and worth the $125/night off-season rate. Our only complaint is that there seems to be NO insulation between units. The family downstairs slammed every door possible, and we could hear their children screaming, laughing, crying, and even sneezing. But, if hearing your neighbors doesn't bother you, the unit is great!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeslieSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2009

I have stayed in Cannon Beach many times and got a email promotion from the Sand Trap Inn. I had seen it before and decided to give it a try. When I made the call to reserve a room the staff was great and I ended up with a 2 story one bedroom townhouse. It was very clean and well stocked. Plenty of towels and kitchen supplies. We didn't have a view of the beach but were less than a 5 minute walk to the beach and about the same distance from down town Cannon Beach. . Our bed was very comfortable (Unit 2) and unlike some town houses i have rented we did have a TV in the bedroom. The deck faces the street so it isn't very private, but we went to the beach and didn't sit on the deck. They have muffins, cookies, and fruit in the office every morning, you can get all the coffee and popcorn that you need. In addition they have playing cards available, and a free DVD library. The staff is great and very helpful

  • Liked — Location - close to beach and town.
  • Disliked — no privacy on the deck
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lptsoccer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2007

My husband and I booked a quaint little room with a fireplace, but when we arrived, the room hadn't been cleaned. Honestly, the place was pretty trashed. The woman at the front said the cleaning staff had gone home for the night. She'd have to move us. The first room she suggested was even smaller than the first, and I'd really had my heart set on the fireplace.

So she put us in what was basically a spacious one-bedroom apartment that was beautiful. We couldn't believe our luck. We had a great time. If we do it again, I think we'll just spend more for that room. It would be worth it. It had nice, big windows, a fully stocked kitchen, and a very comfortable bedroom.

It was unfortunate the original room hadn't been cleaned, and I know they weren't happy about it. However, it worked out for us!

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
Thank arg81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spokane, wa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2007

We stayed for 4 nights in September of '07, in one of the separate bedroom units (#2).

The images of the rooms online represent the room quite fairly, perhaps looking a bit newer and nicer in the pictures than in real life. The downstairs portion of the unit was extremely small - tight even for a couple - so tight you can't really enjoy the fireplace. If you open the patio door to get some air, you're blocking the TV or fireplace; and that's the only way to cool it down.

Upstairs, the bed and bath were quite nice. Water pressure not so good though for showers.

The patio area has virtually zero privacy, and is frankly more show than function, as you are literally arms length from your neighbor, with no dividing walls.

The provided wireless internet is nice, however even with modern IBM thinkpad the reception went from poor to none (too far from the access point I suspect).

The 'well stocked' kitchen has lots of usable kitchen items, but was missing some simple but key items (scissors for one).

The location is great, just outside downtown; although being so close to the road, there is road noise in the unit. Thankfully the street quiets down alot at night though.

Overall; good, but quite small living space, even for a couple, very tight for a family. Good cost for what is provided, but not the best 'hang out in the hotel' type of a place; just not that comfortable.

  • Liked — Close to downtown
  • Disliked — Too small
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank yeastman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2007

Cannon Beach is a great place for a weekend away, or more! The Sand Trap Inn is located right near the main section of town (within walking distance), and very close to the beach and Haystack Rock. Walk right out your door to hit the beach in about 2 mins - nice!
The rooms are nicely decorated and clean - better than average. I found the Sand Trap Inn on the Haystack Lodgings website.
Have fun!

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — Prices are higher in the summer months
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kdun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
#8 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Waves
The Waves
#5 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandtrap Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandtrap Inn

Property: The Sandtrap Inn
Address: 539 S Hemlock St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3047
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandtrap Inn offers a lovely selection of quaint cottages and comfortable townhouses with fireplaces and full kitchens. Beds feature pillow-top covers and 300 thread-count sheets. Every room has carefully chosen, modern furnishings. Just a short walk to both the beach and town, including shops, galleries, and restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Sandtrap Hotel Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing