We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean facilities but way too pricey & rude”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cannon Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sea Ranch RV Park & Stables
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I've been coming to Sea Ranch since 1980, but I'm going to stop going. It has gotten very expensive, inflexible, and crowded.

Pros: We like the middle hook-up sites (just water and power), like 56, 57, & 58. They are fairly roomy and have some trees. (The full hook-up sites near the bathrooms are awful. No privacy and too close the usually-overflowing garbage bins) We really like the dish-washing station outside the bathroom building, which is lit and has two double sinks. We have a pop-up trailer with no hot water, so that dish-washing area makes life a lot easier. It's nice that they've added washers and dryers in the last few years. They're expensive but when you have lots of wet towels and wet swim suits, it's nice to have the option. And of course, we love the location, which is walking distance to both the beach and downtown. The location is what keeps them going. Without that, I think they would have failed by now.

Cons:
The two main cons are the expense and the staff. Our site was $38 per night. That covers one trailer and two people. Our son was another $3 per night. Our friends had 3 kids, so their site was $47. When we checked in, they asked us how many people we had, if we had dogs. They have extra charges for everything. We paid.

The first night, my friends pitched a tiny tent for their oldest kid. She slept there the second night too. The second morning, the staff came by and noticed the tent and told my friends they owed extra for that. "Oh, okay. How much?" Are you ready for this? $33 per night! Same price as actually reserving a separate tent site. That's ridiculous. They were already charging them $9 per night for the kids. I could see charging maybe another $10 for the tent. But $33? That brought it to $80 per night. And the staff person was dismissive and rude about it. In fact, I've had a number of not very nice interactions with the staff. Nothing terrible, but they are certainly not terrifically helpful and the goal seems to make the most money possible, rather than having good customer service and encouraging repeat business. The $66 they wouldn't back off on is resulting in neither of us being willing to come back.

Another couple cons: The shower heads are really low, so if you're over 5'5", you have to crouch. The bathrooms are cleaned at times when a lot of people need to use the bathroom; usually around 7 am and 9 pm.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RottHound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

The only redeeming quality about this place is the location to the downtown area. The property is little more than a field with some utilities. The RV Resort located just across the highway offers much more at the same price (we had friends staying at that resort and wished we had been able to secure a spot but they were fully booked - for good reason). If the owners tell you that the horses are not in the pasture - I would not necessary take their word for it - thats what we were told so you can imagine when you see almost a dozen horses walking directly behind your site that you feel a little duped. Restrooms were disgusting and the place should have a complete overhaul. No cable, wi-fi only works by the office and for the $38 (and the $3 they charged for our little dog) felt it was a complete rip-off.

Room Tip: Would recommend staying at a state park or other private campground
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KelownaRussells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Isn't it almost every little girls dream to ride horses on the beach with your boyfriend an or husband? Well my dream is finally a reality after 37 years. Jessica and her loving horses took us on a stroll we'll never forget!!! Thanks Jessica for a great experience!!! We loved walking along the beach and having a romantic getaway.... hope to visit with the stables again!!! Keep fulfilling those dreams!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Phillip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I am Canadian and definitely get spoiled with amazing campsites and free fire wood. The location of this campground is good if you want to stay right in Cannon Beach, but look further out of town for better sites. We were in a tent and there don't seem to be many tent friendly places off the highway. If we had planned better we would of stayed in the state parks. But I haven't been down this way for 15+ years. Everything in this place is an extra, the charges can add up fast. We got 7 pieces of firewood for $6, which would be ok if it was good wood, but you may as well go into the cutblocks off the highway and pick up the slash, it would probably burn better.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BB_IPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This dump definitely isn't a resort! All of the horrible reviews still ring true, and we had to suffer through an entire week here! Horrible check in that took too long, only 3 showers and 2 toilets in men and women's bathrooms for 70-YES, SEVENTY- campsites! Only 3 total washing machines and 6 dryers (weird on the matchup) for entire place! Nothing for kids to do in park and we felt literally placed on top of our neighbors- paid over $100 per night for RV and tent, they charge extra for vehicle but don't have anywhere extra to park. WHAT A NIGHTMARE!!! Arrrrggggg

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Farrah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This place is a nightmare. You might as well camp in your neighbor's driveway at home, it would be a lot more peaceful. The management is as rude as they get as well. If your idea of camping is listening to loud music, people yelling, kids screaming and getting a lot of attitude when checking in, then this place is for you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlioopR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed in a cabin one night ( $85 plus extra cause we had 4 people.) This was nice but we sure felt for the tent sites right next to us. Then we camped one night also and experienced the extremely tight quarters, extra fees for a second two person tent- people and a hike to water and 3 toilets. All in all- the campers themselves seem to make things work well. Upcharges abound- extra campers, tents etc. nickel and dime ya a bit which is a turn off. For some odd reason, they clean the bathrooms at 8 am - in peak season! With extremely limited showers and toilets as it is... to stumble to the toilet and find a closed sign- just killed me! We tried to shower upon leaving but only 1/2 of our group could get in due to closure. Who does that? Cannon beach just blocks away and the however is worth it given my frugal budget.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camper45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 15 in Cannon Beach
245 reviews
2.0 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,662 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,609 reviews
0.4 mi away
Land's End at Cannon Beach
Land's End at Cannon Beach
#12 of 15 in Cannon Beach
186 reviews
1.8 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Ranch RV Park & Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Ranch RV Park & Stables

Address: 415 N Fir St, PO Box 214, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3018
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Cannon Beach
Price Range: £21 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 80
Also Known As:
Sea Ranch Rv Park And Stables
Sea Ranch Rv Park & Stables Hotel Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing