We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Surfsand Resort
Nearby Hotels
The Wayside Inn(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tolovana Inn(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Haystack Rock(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Cannon Beach(Cannon Beach)
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Waves(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ecola Creek Lodge(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
US$122
US$117
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Breeze Court(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Schooner's Cove Inn(Cannon Beach)
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Land's End at Cannon Beach(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
US$154
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,962)
Filter reviews
2,962 results
Traveller rating
2,244
534
130
38
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2,244
534
130
38
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscabana servicewayfarer restaurantkids eat freehaystack rocksurf sandsoaking tubbeach frontmemory foambeachfront roomcookiesindoor pooloregon coastturn down servicegreat amenitiesspring breakpartial viewlove this place
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,500 - 2,505 of 2,962 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My husband and I stayed for 1 night mid-October just to get away together and it was lovely. The prices are less expensive (and therefore more affordable for us) off season so that is when we try and go. They will also, sometimes, book single weekend nights off season. During high season you have to book multiple nights which makes it difficult for us to schedule with kid's sports and the like, and the higher prices tend be too much for us to justify.

The Surfsand is truly a resort (hence the prices). The description is actually very appropriate and it is why I haven't stay anywhere else at Cannon Beach in the past 15 years. You are literally staying at a property with lots of beach access right in front of the property and right off their deck, parking, beautiful, modern rooms, heated indoor pool & hot tub, nice restaurant and more. It is the more that really makes it special to me.

They really capitalize on the simple things that make us feel special and pampered. Hot cookies in the lobby, ice cream socials, activities for you to enjoy with your little ones, a FREE bottle of water in your room and special little treats, note, etc.

When we book a pet friendly room for our dog to come along, his name has been on a "Welcome" chalk board in the lobby. There are cruiser bikes you can reserve and then "borrow" to ride on the beach or around town. DVD's you can borrow and microwave popcorn to boot. A community bonfire on a weekend night you can join (probably weather permitting)... or you can even pay a rather nominal fee to have your own private fire on the beach with Smores and blankets and chairs brought out for you. No pre-trip planning required.... just amazing service.

Our most recent stay was in an ocean front room on the lower level. The window is basically deck level which doesn't afford a lot of privacy if you want to leave your blinds open, but it was perfect for us. Great views of the ocean.

We have also stayed in upper floor ocean front rooms & non-ocean front rooms in the building adjacent to the lobby, and those were lovely as well with nice views. I typically just choose the least expensive option available on the day I can finally get out of town. I have never been disappointed with any of our rooms - ocean front or not. I always get the same wonderful feeling of care and luxury regardless.

The indoor pool and hot tub is lovely - especially if you travel off season. I can relax and not worry if it will be raining or not. If it rains we can at least enjoy the pool.

The Surfsand is a lovely resort with lots of great features that they include in the cost of the room. I LOVE that once you are booked, they treat you like royalty rather than trying to further nickle and dime you to death with items like water set out in your room you have to pay for once you touch them. I always feel like they are glad I'm there and they want me to come back and that is why I keep coming back.

Room Tip: I haven't had a disappointing room at the Surfsand. Even the non-ocean front rooms are lovely.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Thank you for all your wonderful comments about us! I’m glad you enjoyed all the fun things we have to offer you; ice cream, cookies and movies! We look forward to seeing you again!
Gratefully,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This was the last stop of our Honeymoon and the one stop we were going to spend a little extra for the night. We were so in love with the hotel within the first hour we went back to the lobby to book a second night right away. Our room wasn't available for the second night, but they were able to put us into a different room (upgraded) for the same rate, and we were never without a room! They offered to move us all over as well. Upon arrive at the hotel, the customer service was incredible. We mentioned it was our honeymoon and they quickly brought up a Gift for us after we were settled in our room! They were so nice! The view was incredible of Hay Stack and the beach. The room was very spacious, the balcony overlooked the beach, and there was a large jetted tub in the bathroom. The bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept on. There was a very nice pool, hottub, and fitness room, as well as many additional amenities available for guests (movie library and games). There was one man in particular as well that was GREAT! He did the turn downs of the beds at night, and helped with bags to our room and was working extra hours so we always saw him with his large smile on his face! Great customer service all around. Anything we needed or wanted they provided happily. We also had a fire on the beach set up by the hotel at a small fee, this was very nice too. WILL LOVE TO COME BACK IN THE FUTURE!

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the beach for sure! Don't forget about the fresh baked cookies after 330.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

We’re so happy you had such a great honeymoon stay with us! Thank you for the wonderful comments about the room you stayed in & I’m glad you enjoyed a beach bonfire during your stay! We look forward to seeing you for your next stay with us!
Thank you,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed here a few days before Christmas. Lucked out on the weather but even had we not, the place is great. Staff was helpful and the room was impeccable. Saw several guests with dogs so I'm guessing they are very accommodating with pets.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comments, and were so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very pet friendly, so next time bring your four legged friends!

Cheers,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Just returned from a trip to Oregon and we spent the first 3 nights at the Surfsand Resort. I almost wish we had spent the entire time here! First, the location is amazing. Right on the beach at Haystack Rock with amazing views and a huge stretch of beach to walk on. We booked the basement room and at first we thought maybe we should have upgraded, but we got an amazing deal so we kept that room and I am happy we did. We had tons of space, a view, beautiful bathroom and even without a patio, we had quick access to the beach. Even in October we slept with the window open to hear the ocean and it was so nice at nighttime. The pool was great and being off season and no kids around, we had it to ourselves every night. Afternoon cookies were the best chocolate chip cookies ever and access to tea/milk made a great snack everyday. I really really want to come back here someday soon!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smmcisaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Sounds like you had a lovely three days staying with us! The cookies really are a wonderful thing! Next time enjoy a massage by our wonderful massage therapist on site! We look forward to your next visit with us!
Thank you
Jerry W Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We came upon this hotel from a trusted source, Karen Brown guides, further admired by fellow trip advisor visitors. The Surfsand will be our memory maker for this trip , even though we rarely take advantage of all a place has to offer. As I write this dawn is breaking on the beach in front of our room, many active folks with dogs are already out in the morning, and we are sipping delicious coffee provided in our room in front of a gas fireplace. From fires on the beach, complete with blankets and beach chairs to tempurpedic mattresses, fun and comfort are the hallmarks, as well as friendly staff and lots of amenities we didn't use. We will be back to Cannon Beach AND the Surfsand.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view, though some are across a small parking lot. Beachfront rooms are wonserful
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 145JulieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

I’m glad we could be your get away spot! The fireplaces in the room are just lovely specially to watch a movie too! Next time enjoy a bonfire on the beach and watch the sunset! We look forward to seeing you in the future for a get away!
Cheers,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews