We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service!”
Review of Surfsand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Surfsand Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Excellent customer service!”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My daughter recently stayed the weekend at the Surfsand Resort and accidently left her house keys and a small case containing numerous gift cards in the nightstand drawer. When she got home and realized she didn't have her keys or her gift cards she called the resort. They mailed them to her the next day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Just_Jane2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment.
Excellent to be able to serve your daughter,
Surfsand Resort Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,802
    452
    119
    32
    13
See reviews for
983
1,050
64
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

The staff is friendly. They have milk and cookies and taffy in the lobby as well as newspapers, coffee and tea. Have stayed here at the surfsand several times and each time we have had an issue with people smoking next to us or above so we were unable to leave our sliding door open so we have hear the ocean as we always stay in one if the dog friendly rooms near the grass area. Each time I call the desk to complain but the on going smoking issue never gets resolved. Rooms are nice but you do hear noise from your neighbor above you or next door. No breakfast is offered. Complimentary toiletries in bath are nice as is the bed, sheets and towels. Pillows are feather and too soft and squishy for our taste. No air conditioning in rooms but a fan is available in the room. Coffee and tea provided in each room along with mugs, bowls and utencils. The mugs are awkward and are not a good for coffee drinking. Exercise room is really nice. Didn't use the pool. Pet friendly resort but very little grass area available to take your dog to. They do leave some dog towels and treats for your pet in the room on arrival. I have found the pet bowl they provide for your pet is way too small so we bring our own.its fine if you had a cat or a small yorkie. We may be back if they enforce the smoking policy.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanalange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
So sorry that other guest did not respect our non-smoking policy, we try to inform neighboring guest of our policy in a hospitable way. So glad that you enjoy numerous amenities that we provide.
Thank you,
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
411 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We have returned to The Surfsand year after year because of the incredibly friendly front desk staff, the location right on the beach, the little extras like cookies in the lobby and movies to borrow for free, the gorgeous view overlooking Haystack Rock and the fact that dogs are welcomed guests. We just love this place and would not stay anywhere else in Cannon
Beach. We especially love Rachel at the front desk who goes out of her way to be helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreenLakeReener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent visit to the Surfsand Resort, we are humbely gracious that you stay exclusivly with us. We appriciate all of your praise for Rachel and the rest of the staff.

See you soon,
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Have stayed here several times - with parents, as a couple and with children, and each time with dog(s). The service is always good, price is sometimes too good depending on time of year, and rooms are always spacious and spotless. They always do everything right regardless if we are driving through or staying for a few nights to relax and enjoy the beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PearsonX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
We are a super family and puppy friendly Resort and are thankful for your praising review.

Until next time,
Cheers,
Surfsand Resort Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This was the third time we have visited Surfsand for our company work party. The rooms are always amazing. We love the huge tubs, comfortable bed, and the unique option of opening the wall and seeing the ocean while in the tub or showering.
The staff is always accommodating and so helpful. They have a movie selection, popcorn, fresh cooks, salt water taffy, ice cream, etc. in the lobby and that is a nice touch. The robes are also one of our favorites.
The food they provided in catering was also delicious.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Glad to hear that your company has made us a regular retreat destination for the company party. Thank you for doing a detailed account of some of our many amenities.

Hope to see you next year,
Jerry W.Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I stayed here for one night in Dec on my way to San Francisco.

I can't really say enough about this hotel. I'm a tough customer and hard to please. I usually have a few complaints about something but not at the Surfsand. The service at the hotel was perfect. The suite was very clean and to make me even happier thus had L'occitane toiletries! I'm a happy customer!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Impressive perfect service for a happy guest, can't get any better then that. We appriciate you taking the time to review us.

Happy travels,
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belize
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

My wife recently surprised me with a 4 day stay at SurfSand Resort for my birthday. What an awesome experience. Our fireplace room overlooked the ocean, the resort restaurant was excellent, and we actually ate Thanksgiving dinner there. I had an awesome spa experience as part of my birthday present, with a massage with Jessica Rainey, a Massage Therapist there. Highly recommend Jessica,

Room Tip: Always go for oceanfront with fireplace. Also, a very very pet friendly resort, bring Skippy !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winedude1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Nice to hear from you on your recent surprise birthday visit to the Resort. The Wayfarer does an amazing job with food and service so glad that you enjoyed it. Thank you for your compliments on Jessica one of our massage therapist.

Lookig forward to hosting you again,
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannon Beach
1.0 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,540 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,927 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,728 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 14 in Cannon Beach
229 reviews
7.5 mi away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfsand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfsand Resort

Property: Surfsand Resort
Address: 148 W Gower St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3028
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cannon Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surfsand Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oceanfront Surfsand Resort is steps from Haystack Rock and features stylish, contemporary guest rooms with a serene and tranquil vibe. IPod docs, deep soaking tubs, fitness center, indoor swimming pool, kids crafts and seasonal cabana service are just a few of the fun extras that you'll find at the resort. Located just 70 miles due west of Portland, this full-service resort welcomes guests with warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Surfsand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfsand Resort Cannon Beach
Surfsand Hotel Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing