We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Surfsand Resort
Nearby Hotels
Tolovana Inn(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ocean Lodge(Cannon Beach)
US$262
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Waves(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
US$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ecola Creek Lodge(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Cannon Beach(Cannon Beach)
US$208
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$221
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$284
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stephanie Inn(Cannon Beach)
US$406
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Schooner's Cove Inn(Cannon Beach)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Breeze Court(Cannon Beach)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,005)
Filter reviews
3,005 results
Traveller rating
2,279
537
134
39
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2,279
537
134
39
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscabana servicewayfarer restaurantkids eat freehaystack rocksurf sandsoaking tubbeach frontmemory foambeachfront roomcookiesindoor pooloregon coastturn down servicegreat amenitiesspring breakpartial viewlove this place
Filter
Updating list...
2,504 - 2,509 of 3,005 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We have been to Surfsand Resort in Cannon Beach, Oregon several times and each time has been a joy. We normally eat at the Wayfarer Restaurant next door which has great food and very fresh seafood as you can imagine. The rooms are nicely appointed with everything you would expect from a 5 star resort. This hotel offers specials during the off season which we have taken advantage of as well.

One of the primary reasons we chose this hotel is because they are pet friendly as well as a 5 star resort. This is hard to find and makes it nice when you want to bring your 4 legged family members. They even go as far as proving you with a welcome package for your pet which includes treats, food bowls,bed pad and a catch mat for under the food.

This resort is not only beach front, it has access right down to Haystack Rock and offers miles of beach to take long walks and enjoy the scenery. This beach location offers a little something for everyone depending on what your in the mood for. If you want to jump in your car and take a drive you are minutes from the downtown tourist area filled full of shops and stores worth seeing. We enjoy the carmel corn and olive oil stores on the main drag.

The staff at Surfsand Resort go out of their way to make you feel like you are a returning family member with fresh salt water taffy, hot cookies made daily as well as milk, coffee and tea. These are complimentary and shared with the resort guests. The staff goes out of their way to make sure you have anything and everything you desire.

We truly recommend this resort and we'll be going back in the near future!

Thanks,
Robert and Linda

Room Tip: We have stayed here a coupe of times and prefer room #206. Corner room with views of the ocean from both the west and north. We did not try the spa area even though it looks very nice!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

We’re so happy to hear that you have had many great experiences with us! We love it when our guests bring their furry little friends along with them. It sounds like you were able to enjoy several of the amenities that we offer as well as the great location. We’ll leave the light on for you!

Cheers,
Jerry W Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Once we made the decision to stay in Cannon Beach for 3 nights, my wife and I debated for over a month on where to stay. We wanted something directly on the beach and the decision ultimately came down to the Ocean Lodge and the Surfsand. Since my wife really wanted to be close to Haystack and the tide pools, as well as the estuary, we finally decided on the Surfsand. We booked an oceanfront suite and were able to take advantage of the 3 nights for the price of two promotion. We loved our room, which had a view of Haystack. The service from the Surfsand staff was impeccable from everyone - front desk, housekeeping and cabana. They really try to make your stay memorable. We also noted the everyone seemed to enjoy working there which is always a good sign. Sometimes it comes down to the little amenities and the Surfsand has them covered - everything was done right. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: The Surfsand is definitely family oriented and there are lots of kids as well as dogs. If that is a problem, you might want to check out other options. Having said that we had neither kids nor dogs with us and our stay was great. The other small concern we had is that the beds are Tempurpedic which we had never slept on. Turns out that we actually really liked them.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BtownIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

We’re so happy that you enjoyed your vacation with us! The location is beautiful and we love being so close to Haystack rock so that our guests can enjoy the view and the tide pools when the weather is nice. We hope to have you again soon.

Thank you,
Jerry W Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed 5 nights and booked two hotel rooms since my mother was traveling with myself and three kids. My mom's room in the retreat building was a king bed room and was great for the rate. The other room was a one bedroom king oceanfront suite for myself and the kids. The suite was oceanfront and had a great view but was so tiny and the space was broken up. We had to shut the door to to even go to one side because there was a wall directly in front of the door. The bedroom did have king bed but was very tight around the bed, the room was very dark and between the balcony/living area and the bedroom was a tight hallway and bathroom. Everything was new and nice and clean at checkin. They have many ammentities like a hot shower to rinse dogs/humans after being on the beach, kids bath robes to wear to the pool, a shuttle and laundry service. They have a phone and flat screen in the bathroom but are missing basics like more than one towel rack (in a suite) and the trash cans were so tiny they filled up almost immediately. The maid service was absolutely horrible even though we tipped them each day (hoping they would clean this time) all the maids do is change the sheets and towels. Our sink, shower, toilet and floor were never cleaned during the five nights we stayed but they did provide a broom and dustpan for guest to clean themselves. I phoned two times during our stay to compalin and nothing improved. Upon checkout we met our neighbors (very close to us) and found they had a king oceanfront suite too. It was much differnet than ours and great deal larger and more open, the bathroom was to the side and they had a dining table and open floor plan. I had accepted our cramped suite thinking this was an older hotel and just had dark closed in rooms but after viewing this other room realized that they just gave us a bad room. I spoke to the front desk about this and they said it was a differnet suite type and could only be booked by phone, I booked the room on the phone and they told me I was getting a large one bedroom king suite that was the largest room they had with the exception of their two bedroom suite that were already booked. The hotel made an adjustment to the bill but I would have radther paid full price (or more) and had a nice room that wasn't so cramped and been able to enjoy our room. Our suite was so bad I would have radther stayed in the basic king room than the suite we were given as ours was so dark and cramped. The pool area was great and my kids enjoyed it each day. If you want to stay at this hotel be sure to book by phone, be sure of what you are getting when you book and check the room when you check in. I also think it would serve the management well to actually stay in one of the rooms as they have many fancy items (flat screen tvs, phones everywhere, nice bathrooms) but things are off like not enought towel racks for even a couple, terrible maid service, the maids carts are really loud and wake people up, and water pressure is barely acceptable. It would be nice if they had the basics before the extras. I do appreciate the apology and adjustment management made but like I said would have preferred a decent room.

Room Tip: Check your room upon check in, book by phone and know that some suites are very cramped and dark. Our oceanfront one bedroom suite was miserablly cramped and dark. It also had a bedroom by the door and we heard maid carts all morning starting about 8:30AM.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MomfromWAState
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay and would like to first and foremost apologize for the unsatisfactory service you received. So sorry that our housekeeping staff did not do an adequate job of cleaning your room during stay over service. We set our standards much higher than the quality that you have described and would like to let you know that we will follow up with our staff about following through with the details of a visit that can make or break your level of customer satisfaction.

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and we hope that we can earn your business again one day.

My sincerest apologies,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Great family spot. Our family of four plus doggo stayed at a room 4105, facing the parking lot. Good price, but not ideal location in the resort - we knew what we were in for, though. Other rooms are right on the beach, and even ours was a quick walk to the beach, and there, lo and behold, is magnificent haystack rock. I'm pretty sure this is *the* closest hotel to Haystack.

Rooms are nicely maintained, clean and well-equipped. The upholstery for couch and chair were smartly pet-proofed with some kind of plasticized cotton (they have separate dog-friendly and no-dog rooms.) Not tacky and I appreciated not having to worry about it with sandy dog. Good sized room with comfy queen bed and separate fold-out couch area. Fold out couch was not the worst, not the best. A handy, compact mini-bar area with small fridge and cups, bowls and utensils for 4 which worked well for a quick breakfast. My only nit is it was difficult to regulate the temperature/circulation in this deep room. It got stuffy and opening the windows was great until 8am when kids, family bounded around on the deck right outside our windows. Not much sound or visual privacy for our room.

This location is a bit out of the town - about a 10 minute walk - so the pro is it's charming; the cons are very few places close by for meals. If you're planning to eat in at all, be sure to stop by the Safeway in Seaside on your way into town; there are no supermarkets in Cannon Beach.

Room Tip: Rooms 4xxx face the parking lot; ground floor rooms can be noisy with foot-traffic and parking lot activity.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pleeseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

It’s good to hear that you loved your pet-friendly room and the wonderful location! Haystack Rock is a great place to explore tide pools and we’re glad you enjoyed the view while you were here. We do provide a complimentary driving service if you want to go anywhere in town while you’re staying with us.

Thank you,
Jerry W Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We were just cruising through Canon Beach, not really certain if we wanted to just carry on to Astoria, when we pulled into the Surfsand parking lot to turn around. Gerry (the manager or owner?) happened to be walking by and, long story short, we ended up in a beautiful one-bedroom suite overlooking the ocean! 2 fireplaces, soaker tub and shower, stunning view of Haystack Rock. Fabulous seafood meal at Wayfarer Restaurant. All in all, it was a perfect 24 hours on the Oregon Coast. We Will Be Back! Thanks Gerry!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PentictonMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

We’re so glad you loved your room! Next time you’re here you should be sure to check out our seasonal cabana service down on the beach. We look forward to having you back!

Thank you,
Jerry W Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews