We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Yorkers in Cannon Beach - Simply Amazing”
Review of Surfsand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Surfsand Resort
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We did not know what to expect when we booked this as part of our family trip through Oregon and were just amazed!! We had a great room with a ocean view - beautiful bathroom, amazing beds, super clean, gas fire place, great balcony looking at haystack rock, free wifi, and more. Indoor pool is great, fitness room is fine, free bikes were great and private bonfires at the beach are amazing. The hotel is walking distance to downtown but they do offer shuttle service.

The one downside is the wayfair restaurant. Service was terrible and they have a take out charge - I've never heard of a take out charge from any restaurant ever. It's not a gratuity charge, a take out charge,

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank avidtraveler1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

It’s good to hear that you were able to enjoy your vacation and the room that you stayed in. We’re glad that you were able to explore so many of the hotel’s amenities. Hopefully next time you stay with us you’ll get to experience a nice massage at our spa or one of the activities that we offer such as the movie theater style popcorn on Fridays or the ice cream socials on Saturdays.

Thank you,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,846)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,301 - 2,307 of 2,846 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

I have to say that I had dim hopes for this resort. Driving in from Washington state navigates you through a host of seedy seaside towns that certainly aren't conducive to wistful oceanfront images. Happily, all my fears of checking into a flea palace dissolved upon arrival. Our room was billed as a partial waterfront view which just meant that the view to the south was somewhat blocked by the adjoining building. That didn't prevent us from enjoying a few happy hours on the balcony with the beach and sea to behold. The resort is fantastic for families with young kids. Every night they left a little bag with a toy and some chocolates on our door. They also offer a 'kids eat free' program at two of their restaurants. To add to the kid appeal, they dole out fresh baked cookies at 3:30 which meant that we were pressured to return to the resort on time so the kids could venture to the lobby for their cookie fix. Be sure to arrange for a private sunset bonfire. For $25.00 one of their intrepid beach attendants will start your bonfire and bring you a generous bucket of S'mores supplies. As for the room itself, the place seems to have undergone a recent face-lift as everything seemed pretty fresh and well maintained. The Temperpedic bed was divine! The sheets were soft and didn't leave welts from industrial strength detergents. The bath amenities were L'Occitane and smelled like heaven. Suffice to say they delivered a top notch resort experience to a pretty persnickety hotel patron. Can't wait to return next year!

Room Tip: We are a family of four and were booking at the last minute (3 weeks ahead of time for an August arr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Antamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

We’re glad you were able to have such a great stay at the Surfsand! It sounds like you were able to enjoy many of the amenities and activities that we offer at the resort. We’ll see you next year.

Thank you,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Cannon Beach is a quaint, rather twee little resort on the Pacific Coast. The beach is extensive and the air bracing. Surfsand is a wooden built collection of buildings that house units that are very stylishly fitted out. The beds are comfortable and facilities of good quality. We ate at the hotel's sister restaurant next door with good food that was freshly cooked, if not gourmet, and served by friendly staff. The outdoor eating area has a good view of Haystack Rock, but beware predatory gulls who will dive down and take food from unattended tables.
Cannon beach deserves a walk along the main street. There are gift shops, a post office and a small famers market, with music and a tasty kebab wagon by the City (!) Hall. We liked the "Bistro" cafe but were repelled by over stressed at the wine bar further down the road.
A great place to unwind, dip ones feet in the Pacific, watch the Pelicans (and Puffins) and taste some of the good local wines!

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have sea views - you pay for what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

We’re so glad you had a wonderful stay with us! It sounds like you were able to explore the town and enjoy yourselves while you were here. It’s also great to hear that you were able to try the Wayfarer as well—next time you stay with us you should be sure to try out the room service they do for our guests!

Thank you,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at this resort while attending the wedding of a friends daughter. Due to procrastination on our part the only rooms available were the high dollar first floor beachside units, so the review will be more focused on that. Cannon Beach is like every other beach town that survives on tourism, although nowhere near as commercialized as say Myrtle (or Seaside just up the coast). The room was very nice, as one should expect at this price point. It was a big room with a sliding glass door that leads to a semi-private patio area less than 20ft away from the beach. Haystack Rock (most notable in the movie “The Goonies”) is only ~1000yds away and is an interesting site to see, especially at low tide when the tidal pools show off all sorts of aquatic flora and fauna. The room had all the amenities one would expect and a few extra niceties (bath robes, fireplace, and large tile shower). The mattress was memory foam, which can be a little warm for some folks. The staff is very attentive and if you need something they will try to make it happen. The beach is expansive and not overcrowded and the weather was fairly mild (a little warmer than usual for August). If we ever came back on our own we would likely opt for something a little cheaper but it was a beautiful room with a great view and great location. I’m sure there are nicer rooms available but this one was hard to beat.

Room Tip: First floor beachfront rooms are amazing...and expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Curtis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

Thank you for spending your vacation with us! We’re glad you enjoyed the location and the good weather you had while you were here. Hopefully the wedding was beautiful. We hope to see you again soon!

Cheers,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Great experience. Location and views were amazing! Loved the beach bonfires and smores each night. Room was clean and modern. One of the best beach side hotels we have ever stayed in. If we could do it over, we would of stayed longer.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccgolfballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

It’s great that you enjoyed your vacation with us! Hopefully on your next stay you will be able to stay longer and enjoy more of the amenities and activities we have here at the resort.

Cheers,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This hotel and accommodations were so comfortable and the employees were so kind and helpful. The best part was the balcony overlooking Cannon Beach- we could open our glass door and listen to the surf and feel the breeze all day. We had a balcony looking right on the beach with chairs for reading. The beds were fabulous- Tempurpedic, I think and the silkiest sheets as well. There's just not a lot to do in Cannon Beach besides walk the beach and check out art galleries.

Room Tip: You can get rooms facing the beach which are comfortable and charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FreeSpirit33527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us! We’re glad you were able to enjoy so many of the amenities that we offer. If the weather is nice during your next stay, you should be sure to take advantage of our seasonal cabana service down on the beach and enjoy a bonfire with s’mores.

Cheers,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

What a wonderful surprise! it was our first time in Cannon Beach and both the location and the hotel were stunning.

We reserved a beachfront suite and I must say this place exceeded all expectations. The location by the beach is probably the most picturesque in town. Our balcony had a prime view of the beautiful rock formations and the incredibly wide beach covered with bonfires. We had our own bonfire one of the evenings. The hotel builds it for you and sells very reasonably priced "smore kits." The ambience is rustic yet it so comfortable and friendly it feels almost luxurious. The service was attentive and kid friendly. Pets were also very welcome, and there are pet-free rooms as well.

If I have any suggestion for improvement, it is that the restaurant (The Wayfarer, across of the parking lot) not quite up the level of the hotel. They do deliver to the rooms and the beach although the food may be bit cold by the time it arrives.

Overall, this is the perfect place for building childhood memories of roasting smores, building sandcastles and walking on the beach admiring the sea and wildlife.

I hope to be back with the family soon

Room Tip: Splurge for a seafromt room if you can. It is definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alberto625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

It’s good to hear that your first trip to Cannon Beach turned out to be a good one! It sounds like you were able to enjoy the view and the location. Glad you were able to get a bonfire down on the beach. We can’t wait to have you and the family back soon!

Cheers,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
1 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,669 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,709 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,017 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at Haystack Rock
Inn at Haystack Rock
#11 of 15 in Cannon Beach
204 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 15 in Cannon Beach
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfsand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfsand Resort

Address: 148 W Gower St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3028
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cannon Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range: £101 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surfsand Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oceanfront Surfsand Resort is steps from Haystack Rock and features stylish, contemporary guest rooms with a serene and tranquil vibe. IPod docs, deep soaking tubs, fitness center, indoor swimming pool, kids crafts and seasonal cabana service are just a few of the fun extras that you'll find at the resort. Located just 70 miles due west of Portland, this full-service resort welcomes guests with warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Surfsand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfsand Resort Cannon Beach
Surfsand Hotel Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing