We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Surfsand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surfsand Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
seattle, wa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2010

Short and simple - this is a great place to stay. We have been traveling to Cannon Beach every summer for 25 years. The Surfsand Hotel stands behind their hotel and service. If there is a problem - they will fix it. The staff is very professional and helpful. If you plan to stay in a hotel - this is the best in town

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marilynkay77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, 1 February 2016
Thank you for vacationing at the Surfsand. We hope you will return.

Cheers,
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,625
    407
    108
    28
    11
See reviews for
861
972
62
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2010

We stayed at the Surfsand Resort at the end of June for a family vacation with our 2 young kids. We stayed in room 2106 and overall had a great experience! The rooms were very clean, pretty spacious with a generous size bathroom, huge soaking tub and large kind bed and fold out couch. The resort was extremely quiet at night time, which is something rare for me to find. Usually I am always kept up late with other people's noise within the hotel, not this time though! Our room was an Oceanfront room with a patio and chairs and grass right off our patio. The beach was a short stroll across the lawn and down a flight of stairs.
This resort really caters to families. They had a free DVD library, an indoor pool that was kid friendly, fresh cookies in the lobby and our son even got a little gift from the resort-a glow in the dark bracelet to use on the beach at night. He thought it was the coolest! The resort also had a kids club which allowed for kids to eat free at the Wayfarer and Lumberyard Restaurants. Our last night we had brought supplies to make smores and for a small charge the hotel set up our campfire and chairs for us. They also had beach toys available for kids, my son got to fly a kite and loved it. All in all a great vacation! My husband and I are thinking about going back just as a couple as the hotel had many couples amenities as well. We will definitely be bringing the whole family back too! It was sad to leave! I can't say enough good things about our trip.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desijw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, 1 February 2016
We're glad you enjoyed your time at the Surfsand. We hope to have you back.

Thank you,
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

We just returned from one night at Surfsand and are already planning our next return! I booked this resort after the Tripadvisor reviews and they were right - this is a great resort!! Location is superb, breathtaking, amazing - what more can I say? I didn't want to go to the room - the beach area was great! Fantastic sunrise, sunset, fires on the beach, Haystack rock. We were blown away. We traveled with two small children - they were greeted with pails and cookies, we had free ice cream in the afternoon, received treats in the evening, and they can eat free at a few local restaurants with paying adults - we took advantage of this. They loved the tv in the bathroom! The price was more than I originally planned to pay - but quality is top notch here. Cannon Beach is a great town, and after our trip to Seaside for the afternoon, we will only stay in Cannon Beach for our future trips.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tmaw09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, 2 February 2016
Thank you for spending your vacation at the Surfsand. We hope you return.

Cheers,
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2010

We stayed here for a week with 3 kids (3,5 & 16). We first had a beahfront king suite - lovely with stunning views. We then moved to a 2 bedroom suite with even better views of haystack rock. There was plenty of room for us all and the kids loved the deep soaker tub & the kids craft hour. I have stayed at many hotels and the rooms compare to the wynn las Vegas - super new & nice. Great location for exploring the coast.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luvroosters2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, 2 February 2016
Thank you for spending your vacation at the Surfsand. We hope you will be back.

Cheers,
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
362 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

Traveling with small children is hard. Especially when you actually want some quality that adults can appreciate. Surfsand should write the book on how to do this. Quality all the way around. And awesome planning and amenities for the kids. Location CANNOT be beat. Furnishings were perfect, pool and gym were superb and what made it even better was the service. Everyone on property was outstanding. I also loved the association with neighboring restaurants (Lumberyard and Wayfarer) - TOTAL quality all the way around and free meals for the kids - I thought I was in heaven - and the view of Haystack Rock from the rooms makes you feel that way. Thank you to every member of the team that made this difficult family vacation one I would take over and over. A total credit to Cannon Beach and to Oregon.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sfdann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, 2 February 2016
We're glad you enjoyed your time here. We hope to see you soon.

Thank you,
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2010

We stayed in a lower level room & it was fantastic, totally blew away our expectations. Check in was so easy, the staff was great, the bonfires in the evenings on the beach were great. The front desk staff was willing to make reservations for us at any of the local restaurants. Our room was always clean, the turn down service was great with yummy chocolate mint sticks in the evenings. The bed was so comfortable and the two heads in the shower were fabulous. The whole experience was relaxing and very serene. We went to Surfsand to celebrate our wedding anniversary and had a wonderful time. The staff commented on our anniversary a few times even. The location was very convienent, lots of restaurants close by, HayStack Rock is beautiful, great picture opportunities. We ate at the restaurant on the resort grounds (The Wayfarer) it was good food, but overpriced for what you get. The atmosphere is great and so are the desserts! Would highly recommend staying at Surfsand Resort!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tytiffk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, 8 February 2016
We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again.

Thank you,
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

I loved my stay here. Great front desk service, with a clean, well appointed room. The Haystack is literally right outside my room - I wake up to it every morning. Love the tufted puffins! The resort is wonderful and the massage services are worth every penny. Only suggestion I would have is to dramatically improve the food at the associated restaurant (Wayfarer) - I had the worst shrimp cocktail ever made; I'll try another dining establishment next time.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank terraperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, 16 May 2016
Thank you for staying with us.

Cheers,
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Land's End at Cannon Beach
Land's End at Cannon Beach
#11 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfsand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfsand Resort

Property: Surfsand Resort
Address: 148 W Gower St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3028
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cannon Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surfsand Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oceanfront Surfsand Resort is steps from Haystack Rock and features stylish, contemporary guest rooms with a serene and tranquil vibe. IPod docs, deep soaking tubs, fitness center, indoor swimming pool, kids crafts and seasonal cabana service are just a few of the fun extras that you'll find at the resort. Located just 70 miles due west of Portland, this full-service resort welcomes guests with warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Surfsand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfsand Resort Cannon Beach
Surfsand Hotel Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing