We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“August 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
R.R. Thompson House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 5 Carlton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed in the Lilac Room for 2 nights. Very comfortable. Mike and Rosalyn were more than helpful in giving us ideas and discount cards for wineries. As well as suggesting the Evergreen Aviation Museum and Curvee for dinner......we enjoyed so much. Thanks for a delightful time in Carlton.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Galceran2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed at the R.R. Thompson House B&B while in Carlton for a progressive wine dinner at Cana's Feast Winery. The host greeted us promptly, entertaining us with some history behind the house. It was quite interesting and appreciated considering we knew little of the area. We stayed in the Rose Room, the original "master suite" of the house. The word "large" doesn't even begin to describe this room...King bed with very nice linens, sitting chair and chaise lounge, a dining table and chairs...all the furnishings you'd imagine in a luxury suite, but presented in the classic way of the early 1900's. The main room had a wash basin with running water for a quick freshening up before going for a stroll to a local winery or relaxing for the evening. The bathroom had been added since originally, the entire house was only equipped with one bathroom. The master bath was beautifully done with a jetted tub, ceramic tile flooring, a large shower with complete glass enclosure and beautiful marble around the sink area. They made good use of the space they had to work with and it is quite gorgeous.
Morning found us at one of the dining tables on the main floor. We were greeted again by the host's, inquiring about our night at Cana's Feast. I was impressed that they remembered what we were in town to do since we were not their only guests...the house was full for the evening. Breakfast started with a wonderful fruit plate. The star of the fruit plate was a halved apricot, filled with a touch of whipped cream and a chocolate drizzled raspberry; beautiful and delicious. We had fresh squeezed juice and coffee and were offered water as well. Along with the fresh fruit came a plate of cheese, dried cranberries and toasted almonds that were arranged nicely on a small serving platter. A unique touch to a breakfast serving but what one may expect from a finer dining establishment in wine country. The main course was a brie cheese omelette with diced vegetables and was amazing.
I must admit, at first I thought the price of the Rose Room was a bit steep. However, after seeing the sheer size of the room, the decor and linen selections, the proximity to all the local attractions and the gourmet breakfast we were served, it was well worth the money spent.
I'd also like to mention that before we left for the evening at the winery, we were asked what time we would like our breakfast ready, they confirmed with us that neither of us had any food allergies and they specifically asked if there was anything either of us did NOT want included on our fruit tray or breakfast service. That really impressed me. Also, acknowledging we may be out late into the evening, we were given a house key to let ourselves in whenever we arrived.
In summary, I'd stay here again. We were treated so well and look forward to a visit again.

Room Tip: We've only stayed in the Rose Room so I can't vouch for the other rooms but our evening was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank oregondigitalhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The 4 of us stayed 2 nights at the Thompson House B&B and we were treated like royalty! They checked out some wineries we requested before our stay; and served 5 star breakfasts! They learned it was our birthday and made a double decker homemade birthday cake!! Very nice touch. The rooms were more spacious than most B&Bs...especially the suites.
We'll stay there again if we get back to Willamette Valley again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Perkyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed in the 3rd floor Magnolia room, which was a bit cozy, but there was plenty of room to store belongings and the bathroom was roomy. I have fussy eating preferences, which Mike and Roselyn were glad to accommodate. They made sure we started our day with a good breakfast and a plan. We had great adventures in wine country, thanks in part to the suggestions of our hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

When I walked through the front door I knew this was going to be a beautiful place to stay.
Then when I saw how large the bedrooms were, how beautifully decorated the whole house was and how welcoming the hosts were, I knew I had made the right decision. Carlton is such a quaint and quiet town. I enjoyed my visit so much and I cant recommend this bed and breakfast highly enough.

Mary P.
Hopewell, OR

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Lou P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Roselyn and Mike are very gracious and generous people. Our stay was so comfortable. The Lavender room was very clean and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was very good. So much more than we expected. My husband and I were even entertained by a little black kitty outside. Very homey atmosphere. We were surprised by a cake for our anniversary. The house has a wonderful history, which we learned about upon our arrival. Check out the handmade candle display in the living room. So much to take in. You'll love the easy walk to the wineries.

Room Tip: Check out their website for photos of all the rooms. The Lavender room is more like a suite, with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAT A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We were bike touring through Oregon and ended up in Carlton on a whim. Within minutes of arriving at the B&B, Roselyn arranged massages for us and found a restaurant that would be open after our massages let out. The room was super comfy and the omelets Roselyn made for us were delicious. They even gave us some snacks for our ride the next day! Definitely staying there next time we're in Carlton.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlton
6.1 mi away
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
#2 of 6 in McMinnville
332 reviews
7.9 mi away
La Bastide Bed & Breakfast
7.1 mi away
The Vintages Trailer Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
3rd Street Flats
3rd Street Flats
#1 of 3 in McMinnville
134 reviews
15.1 mi away
The DreamGiver's Inn
The DreamGiver's Inn
#3 of 7 in Newberg
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to R.R. Thompson House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about R.R. Thompson House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 517 North Kutch Street, Carlton, OR 97111
Region: United States > Oregon > Carlton
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Carlton
Price Range: £125 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — R.R. Thompson House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your R.R. Thompson House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing