We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, quiet B&B with warm and welcoming owners” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of R.R. Thompson House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
R.R. Thompson House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 6 Carlton B&B and Inns
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful, quiet B&B with warm and welcoming owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

The R.R. Thompson House is a very quiet, clean, and relaxing B&B. The Magnolia Room was on the upper floor and had a plush bed, great bathroom, a skylight, air conditioning, wi-fi, and even included a freshly picked magnolia blossom from the tree just outside the window (delivered by our host). Breakfast was delicious.

Carlton is a tiny town with just a few restaurants (closed on Mondays), but it is a nice location for exploring wine country. McMinnville, the largest town in the area, is only 15 minutes away.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cincinnatus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    15
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
39
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2010

Mike and Roselyn are a lovely couple who made our stay extra enjoyable. Since our trip was for a birthday celebration, Mike presented us with a beautiful cake/torte covered with artfully sliced fruit that he had made for the occasion! It was tidy and comfortable and close to tasting rooms and good restaurants despite being in a very tiny town.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L0rettaMae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2010

This place is a wonderful choice. The location is great: walking distance to everything and still in a quite street for sweet dreams after your wine tasting (in a king extra comfortable bed!). The house has a cozy style and the owner are simply lovely! We stayed at the lavender room and it is impressive by its beauty and space. The jacuzzi in our bedroom was absolutely relaxing. I am Brazilian and it was birthday of my German boyfriend. The owner recorded some news on TV about Brazil, with a woman that had my name, and showed us when we came back from dinner and at the breakfast the owner cooked a delicious birthday cake to my boyfriend (and even packed it to our trip). I was speechless!!! Definitely recommend it to everybody. There you can feel at home with friends, not in a impersonal place. Loved it!!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cariocapelomundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2009

Roselyn & Mike Mostafa welcome you and make your stay very comfortable in their newly created suites and rooms in this historic home. They have combined elegance and function. It was so nice to be able to walk to the restaurants and wine tasting rooms in Carlton. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cknOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland OR
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2009

We stayed for 2 nights for a quick weekend getaway, wish we could have stayed longer. Our room was spotless, freshly remodeled, luxurious bathroom. Owners were gracious and helpful but didn't hover like some B&B hosts do. Carlton is very small and 2 days is enough to see what there is, but this makes a good base of operations to see the rest of the wine country.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeMinimis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ann arbor, mi
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2009

I wanted to bring my girlfriend to wine country for a nice birthday celebration for her. We did not know very much about the region, and came upon the RR Thompson House basically by chance. What a nice find it was! The house is lovely, we stayed in the Garden Room, which is very nicely decorated, with a large and comfortable bed. The owners could not have been more friendly and accommodating, and served a very nice breakfast. It was a wonderful weekend. There are a number of vineyards both within walking and driving distance. For a base to go 'tasting', the Thompson house is ideally located. I would certainly recommend a stay at this B&B to anyone looking for a similar experience!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elmiguel1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hood River
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2009

Our night in the R.R. Thompson House Bed&Breakfast was very delightful. The blue lavender room we stayed in was the largest room we have ever stayed in and it was beautifully furnished and very charming. The attached bathroom was very luxurious with cushy towles, marbled shower and a jetted tub.
Breakfast the next morning was very creative with little nibbles, fruit and a very tasty omelet. And the place settings were so wonderful and charming with blue ruffles around the plates.
We loved our stay and wish we could have stayed longer to see the cute town of Carlton and perhaps tast some of the local wines at the many tasting rooms in town, which were only two blocks from the Inn.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vineyardview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlton
6.1 mi away
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
#2 of 6 in McMinnville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
6.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites McMinnville
10.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Newberg Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
GuestHouse Vineyard Inn McMinnville
15.1 mi away
The DreamGiver's Inn
The DreamGiver's Inn
#3 of 6 in Newberg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
9.2 mi away
Youngberg Hill Vineyards & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to R.R. Thompson House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about R.R. Thompson House Bed & Breakfast

Property: R.R. Thompson House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 517 North Kutch Street, Carlton, OR 97111
Region: United States > Oregon > Carlton
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Carlton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — R.R. Thompson House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your R.R. Thompson House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing